We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lyall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-16 Murphy St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutley Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

My Daughter and I stayed at the Lyall for a couple of nights at the end of a family holiday. The Lyall proved perfect for our needs, spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and close to some fantastic shopping.

The staff were friendly and helpful, actually that is probably an understatement, the staff made this hotel. The valet parking was fast and efficient absolutely no waiting. We had the breakfast package and the quality was fantastic, the fruit was fresh and eggs as ordered, a little on the slow side coming but on holidays not a problem.

Nothing tired about this Hotel, the beds were extremely comfortable, the shower bath not a favourite of mine and definitely a little narrow, but ok. The room was sized well and the little balcony a nice touch.

All in all the perfect stay. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else and probably won’t.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    39
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
87
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

By Diana & Rex from Rotorua, New Zealand.

We recently had the pleasure of spending five nights (9/14 Feb) at The Lyall Hotel & Spa, while we were mixing business with leisure in Melbourne.
The Lyall is a very well run hotel and we were very impressed with the property, the services and amenities provided and the service from staff. The location suited us very well - a quiet safe street just a little way out from the bustle of the CBD, with a good selection of restaurants nearby, and a very convenient train and tram network just around ther corner.
The rooms are very well appointed - spacious, comfortable and well serviced.
And we loved the artworks in many of the public spaces.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast selection and would rate it up amongst the best we have experienced.
The quality of service from the hotel team was, without exception, simply superb. On all occasions we found hotel personnel to be welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable, courteous and unfazed by any request.
We will return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed for several months at this hotel in 2006 and have recently returned for a shorrter stay of one month.Unfortunately the formerly comfortable and well appointed hotel now has deterioated, the carpets are worn , the appliances don't all work (dishwasher & washing macjine/dryer in particular).. The staff in general are less attentive. It is a shame asit is well located and whilst the rooms are small it was comfortable,

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

The Lyall is a very well designed hotel modern but very stylish and extremely friendly, the reception/bar/waiting/portering staff - they do everything are absolutely brilliant,they check you in make your breakfast or your martini, park your car nothing is too much trouble. The owner is much in evience and is also very friendly and helpful. Apartments are well designed although in some areas ready for a makeover, carpets in some places need replacing. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

we had a 2 roomed suite, with both bedrooms being a good size. The main bedroom had an en-suite and the 2nd bedroom had it's own bathroom, which was excellent for a group of friends. The rest of the room facilities were excellent quality. The information provided in the room regarding nearby restaurants and shopping was extremely helpful, and the concierge was excellent.
The champagne bar was a nice place for pre or post dinner drinks but not so relaxing when it came to eating breakfast.
The hotel itself is very well placed for local shopping and restaurants, and within easy walking distance of the botanical gardens. The centre of Melbourne is just a tram ride away so also easy to get to.
The only down point of the hotel is the amount of traffic noise at night - double glazing would help.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This is indeed one of the best small luxury hotels of the world. Yes the rooms are well appointed, modern and yes its a great location close to great restaurants, shops, the river and botanical gardens for walks. But it's the staff that makes this place one of the best. Sure they recommend restaurants but they also do everything from make tasty breakfasts to help you pick one of their free DVDs to getting one of the hotel bikes to borrow to ride along the river to valet parking our car every time we used it. My luggage was damaged by the airline and Lee found a place down the street to fix it AND took it there for an estimate. We stayed a week but everyone knew our names within a day. The weather was dreadful the entire week but we barely noticed because this crew was so fantastic. Internet and business computer and printer included.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We recently returned from Melbourne Australia and our stay at the Lyall Hotel. It was the most pleasant experience from start to finish. The rooms were spacious, bright and exceptionally clean. The hotel staff and management were the nicest that we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 14-16 Murphy St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the essence of its chic South Yarra address, The Lyall Hotel and Spa is Melbourne’s only privately owned and operated 5 Star hotel, a true home away from home offering grand hotel services and facilities on an intimate and personal scale. With 40 suites of contemporary oriental design, the hotel’s welcoming ambience attracts guests who appreciate personal recognition and attention to their individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.