We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not a 5 Star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lyall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Lyall Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Definately not a 5 Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

It's a great location and very good service however the hotel rooms and facilities are far from 5 star. Suites were old full of old furniture. old and broken irons and iron boards, unsealed shower doors therefore the small bathroom will be drenched with water. top shower head does not work, dirty carpet and the list continues. balcony sliding doors do not shut properly. we were very disappointed given we paid based on 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
I am in complete agreement with your sentiments
if this is what you experienced.
I would like to be able to follow up with the concerns
you had and as I can't trace your reservation, would you mind
contacting me by phone at the hotel to discuss
this further.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    43
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
24
92
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and it was the perfect way to end our month long tour of Australia.

This hotel positions itself carefully in a busy marketplace. And in terms of what they say they offer and the actual service delivery, they've got it completely spot on.

Understated, calm, serene and luxurious, this hotel delivers all the modern traveller could want and more. We are used to high quality 5 star establishments and we had hoped for one last bit of luxury before heading home and The Lyall certainly didn't disappoint.

Our large contemporary suite was extremely comfortable, it had a cute balcony and the large kitchenette had everything we needed. High quality fixtures and fittings and lovely bathroom amenities added to our enjoyment. The television in the bathroom was great for watching the pre-match tennis action before heading off to the nearby Australian Open too. Quite a treat, if a little self-indulgent!

The location is great - the urban chic, South Yarra position ensures that it is close to popular attractions and within easy walking distance to many bars, restaurants and shops and there is always a member of the team on hand to offer advice and guidance.

The onsite luxury spa lived up to its reputation as one of the country's best and the staff there were professional, attentive and highly skilled in their individual areas of expertise.

Room service was delicious, delivered promptly and always with a smile. The small bar area was great and sitting outside in the evening sunshine was a delight, watching the sun go down over a glass of Moët was a perfect way to end each day.

Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and experienced team and next time we're in this amazing city we'd be foolish to look elsewhere.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Daniel,
Thank you so much for your glowing review.
Melbourne is such an amazing city to be in during the Australian Open Tennis,
the weather is always warm and the mood is elevated.
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite and its amenities.
Our staff, I am pleased to say, are genuine in their service delivery while being
professional in I thank you for mentioning that.
The Lyall is a unique hotel offering in Melbourne and I thank you for recognising
our positioning.
I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Thank you and best wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This relatively small hotel (40 rooms?) was a real surprise. The staff were fantastic and could not have been more helpful. The room had a balcony and you could actually open the windows and let fresh air in. The room was a good size and very comfortable. Good breakfasts and a small but very accommodating bar catering to any whim. The hotel is in a great location in South Yarra Melbourne and you can walk to sporting and cultural events. Great restaurants nearby (France Soir was fantastic). I couldn't ask for any more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Gordon,
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Being a small hotel we are able to tailor your stay to suit your needs
a little easier than a large hotel.
It is nice to see that you enjoyed the size and comfort of your suite
especially with a balcony and opening doors for fresh air which is not
easy to find in city hotels.
We are surrounded by fabulous restaurants and it seems that you
were able to experience our favourite France Soir which is an institution
in Melbourne and very hard to get into (unless you're staying at The Lyall).
We'd love to welcome you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hoteier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel was recommended highly to us and is in a great location for us to walk the 45 minute stroll through the botanic gardens to the tennis arenas. It has everything you would need for a comfortable relaxing stay. We can cook in our room if we like however the hotel staff have not failed us with their restaurant recommendations, this area is very 'cafe society'.
The room service food is amazing, we have never experienced such good hotel room service.
The bed is comfortable, shower is brilliant, the Spa is wonderful.
The most outstanding aspect though is the thoroughly professional helpful staff, every piece of advice shaped to our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Howard,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at The Lyall.
It is very pleasing to know that you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding
South Yarra "Café Society". We, as owners, have been locals to this area
for a very long time and know most of the surrounding businesses, enabling
us to share our "insider information" with guests. Our staff love
sharing this knowledge also. Toorak Road and Chapel Street is a designated
tourist area and has so much to offer in the way of fashionable shops, restaurants,
cafes, bars, cinemas and art galleries. All within easy walking distance.
As you mentioned, in the other direction is the Botanical Gardens which are
amongst the world's best and a most scenic walking route to the tennis centre.
Thank you for commending The Lyall Spa and our 24 hour room service
and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Lyall
in the near future.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a nice property in an excellent location with proximity to main roads and public transportation. The 4th floor room we stayed in was comfortable, and we were able to put the apartment-style, kitchenette accommodations to good use with the help of the well-stocked food market just on the corner. However, I would not classify the Lyall as a luxury property.

The staff, while friendly, were not the seasoned professionals you would expect of a luxury-branded property. And there didn't seem to be enough of them to provide the number of guests in the hotel with adequate attention.

The property also appears to be suffering from some maintenance issues: A tap leak in the bathroom was never addressed during our 3-night stay, despite immediate reporting to the front desk after check-in and (the following day), to the housekeeping staff. Also, the lift was out of service during part of our stay. Important note to travelers with mobility issues: There is only one lift!

Again, this was a nice property, but proved to be a slightly disappointing last stop on an otherwise lovely Australian vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your comments from your stay during December.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been acted on
since receiving the review. In particular, the tap issue after
mentioning it to Housekeeping staff twice, an even more fullproof
reporting system has been introduced. In relation to the staff,
I am disappointed to hear that you did not experience our usual
level of efficiency and professionalism. We did have a week where
a few casual staff were called on to cover during two illnesses
in the Front of House. While our casuals are well trained, I understand
that our usual standard was not reflected and I apologise for that.
Being a small hotel (40 suites) we can only hope that this is a one-off
occurrence.
Please do let me know if you are planning to return to Melbourne as
we would love another opportunity to show you how we have earned our
good reputation.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place is great, extra props to Ed from the concierge for the excellent customer service!

What I loved

-South Yarra is a beautiful neighbourhood, great location with some really good dines nearby

-Rooms are spacious and very well kept

-24 hour room services and it's also conveniently next to a 24 hour convenience store

-Nice little gym and spa, I didn't get to use the spa but the gym is really suitable for a quick work out

Overall, my family and I had a wonderful time at this property and will most likely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Franco,

Your review appeared as our first for 2014 and what a glowing review, thank you.
Thank you for recognising our level of customer service which is something that
we pride ourselves on at The Lyall.
Your mention of our spacious suites, gym and spa were appreciated as well
as our convenient address.

Please do come and stay again, we would love to welcome you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Don't miss this little gem if you're coming to Melbourne. Its exterior belies its amazing customer service and spacious rooms. The staff are friendly, helpful, welcoming and very efficient without being at all obsequious. When we arrived early on Sunday morning, they stowed our luggage away, sat us down with drinks and made us feel thoroughly welcome and at home.

We stayed for business in a two bedroom 'Apartment' which was far more luxurious than we had imagined, with a huge comfy bed in each bedroom, two bathrooms and a kitchen/diner/sitting room. The kitchen was really well equipped with drinks, coffee machine, fridge/freezer, iron and ironing board, etc. In fact, I really didn't want to leave!!

The location is perfect, really close to South Yarra station (2 stops into town) with plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity. Chapel Street is a short walk away with a number of shops, restaurants and bars.

I will definitely return for pleasure next time - it will be something to look forward to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share you experience at The Lyall.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your two bedroom suite with all the fittings
that make it special.
Our staff are hired and trained to deliver professional yet unobtrusive service with genuine concern for your needs so it is pleasing to hear that you experienced this.
The Lyall's location is so central to everything as you say, a short train or tram ride to
the CBD and well poised to access all the attractions not to mention all of the fabulous
restaurants and stores in the neighbourhood.
We hope that we have pleasure to welcome you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 5 Star Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.