We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not Luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lyall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14-16 Murphy St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, but not Luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a nice property in an excellent location with proximity to main roads and public transportation. The 4th floor room we stayed in was comfortable, and we were able to put the apartment-style, kitchenette accommodations to good use with the help of the well-stocked food market just on the corner. However, I would not classify the Lyall as a luxury property.

The staff, while friendly, were not the seasoned professionals you would expect of a luxury-branded property. And there didn't seem to be enough of them to provide the number of guests in the hotel with adequate attention.

The property also appears to be suffering from some maintenance issues: A tap leak in the bathroom was never addressed during our 3-night stay, despite immediate reporting to the front desk after check-in and (the following day), to the housekeeping staff. Also, the lift was out of service during part of our stay. Important note to travelers with mobility issues: There is only one lift!

Again, this was a nice property, but proved to be a slightly disappointing last stop on an otherwise lovely Australian vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your comments from your stay during December.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been acted on
since receiving the review. In particular, the tap issue after
mentioning it to Housekeeping staff twice, an even more fullproof
reporting system has been introduced. In relation to the staff,
I am disappointed to hear that you did not experience our usual
level of efficiency and professionalism. We did have a week where
a few casual staff were called on to cover during two illnesses
in the Front of House. While our casuals are well trained, I understand
that our usual standard was not reflected and I apologise for that.
Being a small hotel (40 suites) we can only hope that this is a one-off
occurrence.
Please do let me know if you are planning to return to Melbourne as
we would love another opportunity to show you how we have earned our
good reputation.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    39
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
85
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place is great, extra props to Ed from the concierge for the excellent customer service!

What I loved

-South Yarra is a beautiful neighbourhood, great location with some really good dines nearby

-Rooms are spacious and very well kept

-24 hour room services and it's also conveniently next to a 24 hour convenience store

-Nice little gym and spa, I didn't get to use the spa but the gym is really suitable for a quick work out

Overall, my family and I had a wonderful time at this property and will most likely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Franco,

Your review appeared as our first for 2014 and what a glowing review, thank you.
Thank you for recognising our level of customer service which is something that
we pride ourselves on at The Lyall.
Your mention of our spacious suites, gym and spa were appreciated as well
as our convenient address.

Please do come and stay again, we would love to welcome you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Don't miss this little gem if you're coming to Melbourne. Its exterior belies its amazing customer service and spacious rooms. The staff are friendly, helpful, welcoming and very efficient without being at all obsequious. When we arrived early on Sunday morning, they stowed our luggage away, sat us down with drinks and made us feel thoroughly welcome and at home.

We stayed for business in a two bedroom 'Apartment' which was far more luxurious than we had imagined, with a huge comfy bed in each bedroom, two bathrooms and a kitchen/diner/sitting room. The kitchen was really well equipped with drinks, coffee machine, fridge/freezer, iron and ironing board, etc. In fact, I really didn't want to leave!!

The location is perfect, really close to South Yarra station (2 stops into town) with plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity. Chapel Street is a short walk away with a number of shops, restaurants and bars.

I will definitely return for pleasure next time - it will be something to look forward to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share you experience at The Lyall.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your two bedroom suite with all the fittings
that make it special.
Our staff are hired and trained to deliver professional yet unobtrusive service with genuine concern for your needs so it is pleasing to hear that you experienced this.
The Lyall's location is so central to everything as you say, a short train or tram ride to
the CBD and well poised to access all the attractions not to mention all of the fabulous
restaurants and stores in the neighbourhood.
We hope that we have pleasure to welcome you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Lyall Hotel and Spa in a deluxe two bedroom apartment. Great situation with famous Chapel Street and South Yarra station just a short walk away.

The apartment itself was beautifully presented and quite spacious. The balcony was lovely to be able to sit out in the open and enjoy the surrounds.

Staff were mostly attentive with all requests met within a short space of time. Check in however seemed a bit disorganised and we had to wait until after 3.00pm to obtain our apartment.

Breakfast was really great with a wide range of dishes included in their menu.

Overall a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and your positive
feedback has been well received. I apologise for your
suite not being ready until 3pm when our check-in time is
2pm. We have been running at 100% occupancy for the
past few weeks which occasionally causes small delays
from later checkouts but this is not usual.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you
back to The Lyall in the near future.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Another one of those weekends sandwiched around travel across countries and it was back to Melbourne but the need for a hotel after being very kindly loaned an inner city friends apartment for the past few years. Firstly I have to say I REALLY enjoyed being back in this neighborhood - the South Yarra/Toorak border. I feel safe here, the train is just down the road, the restaurants are plentiful and you can stick to the main road late at night and feel really comfortable and safe on the walk home from restaurants in Toorak for a little further in Parrhan. The Chapel Street Caffe e Cuccina is just as spectacular as it has been since it opened. The Lyall, being more of an apartment hotel gave us room to move, to relax - spread out. Decor is little changed in the hotel, but I like it, all butter colours that are really soothing and the staff are slick without being clever, I like that. But then you know I like small and beautiful. Oh and a fab little coffee shop (hole in the wall) on the same street as the hotel before you hit the main road. Homemade muesli slice to die for and a great grab a coffee on the walk down to the train station in the morning. Was a pretty good stay. Consistent and you cant beat that!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the corner of the building, I think you might just get a little more space. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Karine,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Lyall.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the finer details of the hotel and its location.
South Yarra is a great location and yes, it feels safe to walk from restaurants at night.

Please do let us know when you are planning to return, we'll look forward to welcoming
you back.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hoteiier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a fantastic night in the Lyall Hotel, our room was amazing with a massive king sized bed and deep spa bath. The staff were courteous and were a pleasure to deal with. The hotel is in a fantastic location with everything that you require being only a short walk away. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Christian W,

Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience of both
the hotel and the good service provided by our staff.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lyall
in the near future.

With kind regards,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had anticipated a really luxurious experience based on reviews and price. We were bitterly disappointed!! Service was far from friendly, welcoming or as you would expect. Room was small with low ceilings, terrible quality coffee, smelt of Indian curries and furnishings were very outdated. Conceirge was a waste of time as not only thought it was Friday when in fact it was Saturday but couldn't direct us to any local wine bars. When we asked for a taxi they suggested we walk to Toorak Rd to hail one rather than call one on our behalf. To top our experience off, when checking out the receptionist neglected to say "good morning" or ask how our stay was, but opened the conversation with, "anything from the mini bar"!! In summary, we won't be back and would not recommend to anyone. This place including staff needs a complete overhaul.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.
I regret that you did not enjoy your stay and
ask that you email me directly and advise
your name and when you stayed so that
we can look into this with more accuracy.
Please be assured it is not our policy to direct
guests to Toorak Road to get a taxi, we would
not do that unless you suggested that you
would prefer to do that.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
pr@thelyall.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Charming, Pool...
Show More
South Yarra
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#19 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection
Boutique, Roman...
Show More
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique, Roman...
Show More
The Hatton Hotel
The Hatton Hotel
#38 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
City Center, Ro...
Show More
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#7 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Charming, City...
Show More
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#20 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 14-16 Murphy St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the essence of its chic South Yarra address, The Lyall Hotel and Spa is Melbourne’s only privately owned and operated 5 Star hotel, a true home away from home offering grand hotel services and facilities on an intimate and personal scale. With 40 suites of contemporary oriental design, the hotel’s welcoming ambience attracts guests who appreciate personal recognition and attention to their individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.