We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why anybody would stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lyall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Lyall Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not sure why anybody would stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Lyall on the recommendation of friend. I stay in a lot of big chain/big city hotels and generally they are horrible, impersonal experiences. By contrast the Lyall was a delight. Yes, we got upgraded so I can't speak for the basic room, but our suite was fantastic. Unlike big hotels, there is a great shower with awesome water pressure, you don't hear other room's doors banging throughout the night or toilets flushing. Everything in the room seems to have been deliberately chosen. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is nothing I would change and I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to read.

You are probably aware that The Lyall is Melbourne's only privately
owned and operated 5 star hotel and you are right, all of the features
you mentioned are deliberate and features that we look for ourselves
when choosing hotels to stay in. The features throughout the suite
have been chosen with thought and in particular, insulation and water
pressure are important features to ensure a comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    43
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
24
92
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a very good position for restaurants and shopping and the facilities are very good. However a couple of gripes. Firstly, the hotel is next to a building site and a first class hotelier should warn prospective guests. Secondly, due to a late flight we enquired about a late check out and was informed that a 1/2 rate would apply. This is understandable and when we went back to confirm we were told the hotel was fully booked but we could get a room at the full rate. Strange!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Lyall and for your review.

We are glad to know that you like the hotel and its location.

In relation to the building site in the street behind, it has not been
a problem for our guests in the slightest. The builders have been
most co-operative and very understanding of our requirement of
not creating disturbance for our guests.

With regards to the late check-out, I apologise for any miscommunication.
Normally, as you were advised initially, a half day rate would apply if we are running at
a high occupancy (we often don't charge if not full). In this instance,
yours was our last available room which could not have been resold for
that night if you had a late check-out hence the request for a full night's rate.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back
to The Lyall.

Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gembrook
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the Lyall recently - stayed in a two bedroom suite which was great - everything we needed and more. Beautiful rooms, great attention to detail and we had a magnificent time. Special mention of the staff - we were a little bit in love with David when we left!! Great breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks so much. We shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and
that you appreciated the smaller details and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.

Warmest wishes,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently returned from stay at tr Lyall. The rooms were a good size and well equipped. The bathroom was showing a bit of wear but nothing substantial. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well located in south yarra very close to trams an trains to the city or other destinations. Chapel st is just around the corner with good shopping and dinning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.

We appreciate the feedback that you have given and are
delighted that you enjoyed your experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Lyall with friends for a long weekend in October. The hotel is located on a quiet tree lined street one block from Toorak Road, with a beautiful verandah for afternoon or evening cocktails. The rooms are a very good size, and the bedrooms can be closed off completely from the living room/kitchen area. Along with the premium location and hotel amenities, the staff are what makes the Lyall stand out from many other hotels. The personal service and attention are incomparable to any other properties I have experienced and make for a very enjoyable stay. The price to value ratio of the Lyall is excellent and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends. There are great restaurants and shops within walking distance, as well as the Royal Botanic Gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your most generous review of your recent stay at The Lyall.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciated the finer
details in our room sizes, balconies, level of service and our location.
Thank you also for mentioning that you felt The Lyall represents good value.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently stayed at The Lyall with our friends from Canberra - our second time their first!
They were blown away by the "Homely" feel of the Hotel and the way the staff went out of their way to make our weekend extra special - The Rooms are spacious and love the fact you have french doors to open in lounge and bedroom areas and the location is perfect to make the most of shopping on Chapel Street and Toorak Road not to mention the fabulous little eateries all within walking distance as well. From dealing with Paige (Reservations Manager) to organise our booking and then during our stay being totally welcomed by all front of house staff but special mention must be made to Concierge's Alex/Craig/Edward who constantly put a smile on our faces with their fun sense of humour etc.
We will definitely be back when next in Melbourne and think we have 'converted' our friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Vicki,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of The Lyall.
Thank you also for recommending it to your friends from Canberra.
We are thrilled that you had such a fun stay and enjoyed the suites, our service
and the South Yarra location which offers so much on it's doorstep.
Hopefully its not too long before we can welcome you back.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in this gorgeous boutique hotel for two nights and we were rewarded with a two bedroom suite! What a bonus!! We loved the warm welcome upon our arrival which was maintained each time we passed by the reception. Excellent standard of training; top marks for professionalism! The Lyall offered the serenity we coveted. Being a small boutique hotel is what made us choose this hotel as well as its central location. I have stayed here twice before and have appreciated each stay, noticing that the hotel's decor is ageless; it still looks up-to-date.
Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Great value and location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We are delighted that you like The Lyall for it's boutique style and
central location. We also appreciate that you like our timeless décor.
When designing the hotel, we chose a contemporary oriental
style which transcends fashion and exudes a sense of calm and
also appeals to both male and female.
Your comments on the friendliness and professionalism of our staff
is certainly appreciated and helps build further confidence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 5 Star Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.