We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel - Staff - Position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lyall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Lyall Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel - Staff - Position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently stayed at The Lyall with our friends from Canberra - our second time their first!
They were blown away by the "Homely" feel of the Hotel and the way the staff went out of their way to make our weekend extra special - The Rooms are spacious and love the fact you have french doors to open in lounge and bedroom areas and the location is perfect to make the most of shopping on Chapel Street and Toorak Road not to mention the fabulous little eateries all within walking distance as well. From dealing with Paige (Reservations Manager) to organise our booking and then during our stay being totally welcomed by all front of house staff but special mention must be made to Concierge's Alex/Craig/Edward who constantly put a smile on our faces with their fun sense of humour etc.
We will definitely be back when next in Melbourne and think we have 'converted' our friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Vicki,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of The Lyall.
Thank you also for recommending it to your friends from Canberra.
We are thrilled that you had such a fun stay and enjoyed the suites, our service
and the South Yarra location which offers so much on it's doorstep.
Hopefully its not too long before we can welcome you back.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    42
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
91
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in this gorgeous boutique hotel for two nights and we were rewarded with a two bedroom suite! What a bonus!! We loved the warm welcome upon our arrival which was maintained each time we passed by the reception. Excellent standard of training; top marks for professionalism! The Lyall offered the serenity we coveted. Being a small boutique hotel is what made us choose this hotel as well as its central location. I have stayed here twice before and have appreciated each stay, noticing that the hotel's decor is ageless; it still looks up-to-date.
Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Great value and location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We are delighted that you like The Lyall for it's boutique style and
central location. We also appreciate that you like our timeless décor.
When designing the hotel, we chose a contemporary oriental
style which transcends fashion and exudes a sense of calm and
also appeals to both male and female.
Your comments on the friendliness and professionalism of our staff
is certainly appreciated and helps build further confidence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel for the past 10 years on average 3 times a year.
It is a really lovely small boutique style hotel with great warmth and personal service.
All suite accommodation with mini kitchens in all units.
Always enjoy returning to our home from home in Melbourne.
Only negatives are poor draws in bedroom cupboard and lack of hangers and floor lights in bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your most recent stay in June.
It is so pleasing to hear you refer to The Lyall as your Melbourne
"Home from Home" and thank you for your generous comments.
Thank you also for your other comments which we are looking
at changing.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in early June .. We and 8 other guests had a 60 th birthday , we are all from interstate , and totally enjoyed the stay . We actually stayed here 20 years ago , when the pool was available.
Top service , with a smile at any and very request .
Love itvwecwill return , as its home away from home .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Lyall.
We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and that you
had fun for the special occasion for which you came to Melbourne.
20 years ago you would have stayed at South Yarra Hill Suites which
was a collection of serviced apartments around this area, one of which
had a pool. We built and opened The Lyall Hotel and Spa in 2002 and
don't actually have a pool......yet but we do have a wonderful Day Spa!
Thanks again,
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are privileged to have stayed in some of the most recognised hotels around the world - and have been involved in hotel management in Australia. All hotels range in size, style, location and their services. Having stayed regularly at the Lyall Hotel in the heart of sophisticated South Yarra (a shop-a-holics heaven) since it opened just over 10 years ago it has impressed us on every visit and ticks every criterion. It is conveniently located to the city and its attractions in a well presented and smart, comfortably furnished building. The Lyall features in-house health and beauty Spa, gym and swimming pool. The excellent off-lobby Bistro and bar are open throughout the day. The privately managed Lyall's greatest attribute is its commitment to the sadly all-too often missing SERVICE from its very efficient and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The Lyall offers 40 rooms in a range of sizes plus meeting rooms available for business meetings. St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Wow, "The Best Hotel in The World" thank you !!
10 months ago we received the coveted award by the World Travel Awards for
"Australia's Leading Boutique Hotel" which is wonderful recognition of what
we aim to offer our guests.
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and sharing your thoughts
on TripAdvisor with such generous accolade.
As a boutique hotel we are fortunate to attract some wonderful and incredibly interesting guests from around the world, many, like yourselves who return on a regular basis.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Once again, thank you,
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Outstanding property! From the moment we arrived at the Lyall Hotel I knew this was a winner. We travel extensively across the world and there is something special and magical about this gorgeous hotel. Rooms amazing, staff can't do enough, and in one of the best pockets in Melbourne - owner Peter Thomas is old school - a man who is hands on and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. This is a little gem and I actually said when we left it's first time long time I actually wanted to stay on! The Lyall Hotel experience has reinforced my love for Melbourne and we can't wait to get back....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We'd like to thank you so much for your positive review of The Lyall.
It is so exciting to know when a guest has enjoyed the experience
as much as you have and even more exciting to know that we have
helped to reignite your interest in Melbourne. An amazing city.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the
near future.
Once again, Thank you.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have finally found great value for money in Melbourne, without that too often feeling of being overcharged! Everything at the Lyall is just great, from the check in to the rooms (great shower) to the coffee and the efficient and friendly staff.
The room was clean, and had a great little kitchen, if you need to self cater. The location of this hotel is great, the South Yarra area has many places to eat, and great shops too. Although the building is in a very quiet street, a short walk gets you into the action of restauarants and designer shops.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone, be they on business or just a visit to Melbourne to enjoy this great city. We had the pleasure of meeting hotelier and owner Peter Thomas, and radiates a willingness to please his customers. Well done Mr Thomas, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Lyall.
We were delighted to learn that you appreciated the value that
we represent, the facilities and service that we provide and the
fabulous location that is South Yarra.
As the only Melbourne owner / operators of a 5 star hotel we genuinely
care about our guests and work together with our team to provide
above average experiences.
Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward
to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 5 Star Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.