We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in South yarra Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lyall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in South yarra Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel for the past 10 years on average 3 times a year.
It is a really lovely small boutique style hotel with great warmth and personal service.
All suite accommodation with mini kitchens in all units.
Always enjoy returning to our home from home in Melbourne.
Only negatives are poor draws in bedroom cupboard and lack of hangers and floor lights in bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your most recent stay in June.
It is so pleasing to hear you refer to The Lyall as your Melbourne
"Home from Home" and thank you for your generous comments.
Thank you also for your other comments which we are looking
at changing.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    40
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
88
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in early June .. We and 8 other guests had a 60 th birthday , we are all from interstate , and totally enjoyed the stay . We actually stayed here 20 years ago , when the pool was available.
Top service , with a smile at any and very request .
Love itvwecwill return , as its home away from home .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Lyall.
We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and that you
had fun for the special occasion for which you came to Melbourne.
20 years ago you would have stayed at South Yarra Hill Suites which
was a collection of serviced apartments around this area, one of which
had a pool. We built and opened The Lyall Hotel and Spa in 2002 and
don't actually have a pool......yet but we do have a wonderful Day Spa!
Thanks again,
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are privileged to have stayed in some of the most recognised hotels around the world - and have been involved in hotel management in Australia. All hotels range in size, style, location and their services. Having stayed regularly at the Lyall Hotel in the heart of sophisticated South Yarra (a shop-a-holics heaven) since it opened just over 10 years ago it has impressed us on every visit and ticks every criterion. It is conveniently located to the city and its attractions in a well presented and smart, comfortably furnished building. The Lyall features in-house health and beauty Spa, gym and swimming pool. The excellent off-lobby Bistro and bar are open throughout the day. The privately managed Lyall's greatest attribute is its commitment to the sadly all-too often missing SERVICE from its very efficient and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The Lyall offers 40 rooms in a range of sizes plus meeting rooms available for business meetings. St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Wow, "The Best Hotel in The World" thank you !!
10 months ago we received the coveted award by the World Travel Awards for
"Australia's Leading Boutique Hotel" which is wonderful recognition of what
we aim to offer our guests.
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and sharing your thoughts
on TripAdvisor with such generous accolade.
As a boutique hotel we are fortunate to attract some wonderful and incredibly interesting guests from around the world, many, like yourselves who return on a regular basis.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Once again, thank you,
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Outstanding property! From the moment we arrived at the Lyall Hotel I knew this was a winner. We travel extensively across the world and there is something special and magical about this gorgeous hotel. Rooms amazing, staff can't do enough, and in one of the best pockets in Melbourne - owner Peter Thomas is old school - a man who is hands on and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. This is a little gem and I actually said when we left it's first time long time I actually wanted to stay on! The Lyall Hotel experience has reinforced my love for Melbourne and we can't wait to get back....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We'd like to thank you so much for your positive review of The Lyall.
It is so exciting to know when a guest has enjoyed the experience
as much as you have and even more exciting to know that we have
helped to reignite your interest in Melbourne. An amazing city.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the
near future.
Once again, Thank you.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have finally found great value for money in Melbourne, without that too often feeling of being overcharged! Everything at the Lyall is just great, from the check in to the rooms (great shower) to the coffee and the efficient and friendly staff.
The room was clean, and had a great little kitchen, if you need to self cater. The location of this hotel is great, the South Yarra area has many places to eat, and great shops too. Although the building is in a very quiet street, a short walk gets you into the action of restauarants and designer shops.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone, be they on business or just a visit to Melbourne to enjoy this great city. We had the pleasure of meeting hotelier and owner Peter Thomas, and radiates a willingness to please his customers. Well done Mr Thomas, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Lyall.
We were delighted to learn that you appreciated the value that
we represent, the facilities and service that we provide and the
fabulous location that is South Yarra.
As the only Melbourne owner / operators of a 5 star hotel we genuinely
care about our guests and work together with our team to provide
above average experiences.
Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward
to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I took my partner here for his birthday in May and managed to get a really good deal from Wotif for the room. The rooms are very clean and cosy, however they look better in the photos than on their website. We stayed in a studio suite and it was quite basic and small, and the shower was over the bath which didn't provide very good water pressure. We could also hear through other room's walls as we walked down the hallway towards the lobby.
The service from each staff member was exceptional, and when we asked for a late check out when we arrived back to the hotel at 1am, they were more than happy to let us check out at 12pm so we could sleep in, everyone also had a very friendly smile on their face and made our stay very comfortable. I would recommend staying in a nicer room than a studio, and also take advantage of the services they offer such as massages and the breakfast downstairs. It has a great location, very close to all that Chapel street has to offer and it's lovely sitting on the balcony watching the leaves fall from the tree's.
NB: I can't rate properly currently, however value, sleep quality and the rooms are mediocre and there is no swimmin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay a few months back.
The Lyall is actually an all-suite suite hotel all of the rooms except for 5 studios
are suites and we don't actually market these studios except for a few
promotions such as wotif. These rooms are a hotel style room only and
considerably smaller than our lead in suites.
We would love to welcome you back as you enjoyed our level of service
and recommend that you request a One Bedroom Suite.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently stayed for 7 days with daughters,The accommodation was excellent.The rooms well presented and spacious.Cleanliness was of a high standard.The staff were very attentive quickly resolving any issues which were menial.(extra pillows and tuning of one of the televisions to get the channel we wanted.Only issue was that Wi-Fi which was free was quite poor due to poor signal.Easy for public transport into the city either by tram or train.Supermarkets in easy reach for items needed to use the cooking facilities in the room which were excellent.Daughters used the free gym which although small was adequate for their needs . Very enjoyable stay highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tracey and Lily,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and were
able to enjoy the location and the facilities of the hotel including
the gym.
Our complimentary wifi is a popular inclusion for travellers
who resent paying huge wifi costs on top of their room rate.
I apologise for the difficulties you experienced in that area,
it was a temporary glitch which has been rectified.
I hope that we can welcome you back to The Lyall in the
near future.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 5 Star Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.