We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Lyall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lovely however our room was a little tired and probably needed a new bed and a coat of paint. The main charm of the hotel is the friendly staff who instantly make you feel at home. Was a little disappointed with the champagne bar as there wasn't a lot of choice even with the French champagne. Unfortunately a small word of warning, Doug the digger started at 7 every morning even Saturday so no sleepins

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Suzanne,
Thank you for your thoughts on your recent stay at The Lyall.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our
staff and have acted upon your other comments.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back
to The Lyall in the near future.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    39
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
87
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is rated as a 5 star hotel, and whilst its hard to fault it, it just doesn't have that 5 star feel. The service overall was good, but I have to say the service was not consistent, some staff were really great, others just didn't seem to care. The room had every convenience expected in a 5 star hotel, just not the standard of quality you'd expect. Particularly the bed was not at a 5 star level, and I personally found it much too hard. They have a well stocked mini bar, the shower was great though is was very cramped situated over a narrow bath and you couldn't prevent water spraying over the floor. The hotel was spotlessly clean, and is in a superb location, so I believe it was good value for such a central location, but would rate it as a 4+ star property. Oh and if you like to sleep in past 7am don't get a room at the rear of the hotel as there is heavy building works happening next door, and I was woken by earth moving equipment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We have taken into account your comments and addressed
the service that you expressed as inconsistent. We do
pride ourselves on consistency so I appreciate your thoughts.
The majority of our rooms are suites with separate living and
dining rooms and bathrooms with a bath and separate shower.
I believe you requested a twin room of which we only have a
few and they do have shower over bath. Had you advised
us of your difficulty, we would have moved you to a suitable
suite. I apologise for your inconvenience.
I hope that you will return to The Lyall and let us display
our 5 star service and suites.
With kind regards
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It's close to tons of shopping, the neighborhood is nice. The lobby is kind of disjointed, not sure this building was designed as a hotel or converted. My room was nice at first glance, a little kitchen, kitchen table, little couch and tv, shower and tub, and the bedroom. Second glance, no view out the window, kitchen has a clothes washer and dryer ( broken, has a sign, 'out of order' ). ( I did call and ask for a different room so we could do our laundry, instead, they did it for us ), it also has a pull out ironing board (fell out of track when opened, total garbage ) ( but they did have one in the closet we found later ), the bathrom needs a good cleaning ( there are marks all over the tile ), and the bedroom only had enought room to walk around the bed ( super tight ) ( we had to put our luggage in the kitchen, no room in the bedroom). They need some attention to detail.
The free wifi was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Lyall and for sharing your comments.
We have just managed to source new washer/dryers for the hotel as the ones
we had are no longer being made and don't have parts for repair. It was an
awkward time which is why we offered to do your washing for you.
The ironing boards have been brilliant and unfortunately yours was the first
to break in 11 years which is why there was a regular ironing board in the wardrobe.
The hotel was purpose built with careful consideration given to reception and its
proximity to our library and restaurant which are all within sight of reception and bar
staff. It is a successful design with guests feeling connected, particularly those
travelling solo.
All of your comments have been taken into consideration and rectified.
Once again, thank you.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Yes, it's a beautifully appointed hotel in many respects. But it should be for the prices they are charging. The room was nice enough but rather small in my view for what is after all a suburban location and top price bracket. However the general quality of service was just not up to the standard required of a hotel with such aspirations. Check in was a surly affair with little in the way of attention to detail. There was basically no interaction from the staff during our two night stay in the way you would normally expect - several times when we returned to the hotel there seemed to be no one about at all, which made getting the room key tricky. Check out was frustrating, with staff more interested in answering the phone than dealing with us. Sort out the service to maintain your reputation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Your comments regarding service are taken seriously and reviewed
with the staff concerned. As you chose to stay at The Lyall, you are
aware that this was not the usual standard and for this I apologise.
As in London, an out of city centre location does not equate to a
lower room rate, South Yarra is a premium Melbourne location surrounded
by some of Australia's most expensive commercial and residential real estate.
Our rooms which are all suites are probably the largest in Melbourne with
a minimum size of 50sq mtrs.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you experience
true Lyall Style.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Lyall for the second time recently and cannot think of a better place to stay during any upcoming visits to Melbourne. The style and comfort levels are unequaled in such a small hotel and it is perfectly located as a base for exploring Melbourne. Our suite was complete with a great small kitchen,large refrigerator and washer dryer. The free wi- fi is a great addition and our room was light and complete with a small balcony. The Lyall staff were always courteous and very helpful and the small cosy dining area gave us the feeling of a top European small hotel and served a delicious breakfast.
Looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Peter C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at The Lyall.
Your comment that if felt like a small European hotel was interesting
as that is where we drew our inspiration from. There are very few hotels
in Australian cities that offer the same intimate ambience as found in Europe.
Thank you also for your kind comments on our staff, the comfort of the hotel
and its location. We have a great staff who are genuinely here to please
and it inspires them when good feedback is received.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the
near future.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Every time I stay at the Lyall it feels like coming home. The staff are all so warm, friendly and accommodating. As a repeat guest staying at least twice a year I am always confident that my experience will be of the highest standard. The rooms are comfortable, clean and smartly decorated & fitted out. They are well serviced daily and I have to say I have always found my room to be kept at an exceptional standard. I'm very surprised to read the recent negative review as over the years I have only ever seen other people staying at the hotel to be treated in the same manner as I have. I've gotta say, I refer a lot of people to the Lyall and they always come back with really strong and positive 'Thank You's'. . . .
Truly, the staff are always there to accommodate any needs and help in any way they can, over the years they have given me great advice on where to eat and where to go while in Melbourne.

I'll be back again in June & look forward to it! Thanks again for a great stay - too short as always.

I guess sometimes you need to read between the lines - some people just can't be pleased!

Room Tip: I love the fourth floor corner suites as they are light and airy & give me a feeling of connecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Vagabond8888,
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experiences of The Lyall
and thank you for your many guest referrals.
A large proportion of our guests are referred through other guests
who have also enjoyed their experiences.
It is always our aim to exceed expectations and deliver a level of
service in all areas of the hotel that is not just professional but
genuine and warm.
As the only owner/operators of a 5 star hotel in Melbourne we are
hands on with our team striving for excellence and take all reviews
and constructive critisism very seriously.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back
to The Lyall in June.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The owners of this hotel seem oblivious and in denial as to the real state of it. Dust fills the air vent in the shower and drops down on you. Both mirrors were damaged, one dangerously sharp edged. The washing machine was broken and full of stagnant stinking water. The coffee machine didn't work. The walls were covered in marks. The carpet in my room and throughout the hotel was covered in stains. The picture frame in the bedroom was damaged. There was no hot water on my last night and when it came back on it was filthy and black. The corridors were constantly full of discarded room service trays, many left there for 24hrs. Despite my complaints both verbal and by e mail during my stay virtually nothing was done to correct any of this. The Lyall likes to describe itself as a luxury boutique hotel. The real luxury is leaving it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 5 Star Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.