We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best one night stand in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver $1 Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best one night stand in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Located in Melbournes Paris End of Little Collins St the twin towers of the Stamford Plaza was one of the best nights I have spent in Melbourne. Wanting to do something special for a Birthday/Farewell my friends and I bought a mystery package on Wotif.com where we pay the money then find out the 5 star hotel. The reception to the hotel was very courtious and wished our friend a Happy birthday, we were upgraded to a bigger room as there was three of us. After a elevator ride with a window wall looking over the foyer we entered our beautiful room to see a personalised message on the TV Screen. we enjoyed the swimming in the pool as well as the mornings buffet breakfast. the staff were wonderful and accomodating and my friend had a very very awesome birthday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    463
    162
    60
    41
See reviews for
185
557
71
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011 via mobile

The room was a one bedroom with kitchen. One large TV in lounge area and smaller one on wall in bedroom. Very well appointed and nice decor.Stayed 4 days .very central and can walk anywhere. More of a business hotel as foyer and restaurant very ordinary .

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We chose to stay at the Stamford, Melbourne based on our previous experiences with the hotel chain in Sydney and Brisbane (where we stay often). Unfortunately it was the wrong choice. The main problem is the lack of light in the rooms - our "suite" looked onto the adjacent building wall and being a narrow lane between the two, there was no light whatsoever and lights had to be on at all times. This is depressing, especially in a place like Melbourne where, when the sun comes out, one rejoices and wants to be outside. In order to see what the day was like, we had to peer up towards the sky!

The other complaint was room service - coming back from the tennis late at night (10.30pm) we found restaurants closed or closing. We chose to have room service and noted that the menu was operational until 11pm. That is not the case. We had to opt for the late night menu (11pm onwards) which had limited choices. That was fine - so we chose a toasted sandwich. How can you mess up a toasted sandwich? I don't know but they managed to. It was truly awful and virtually inedible.

On the positive side, the staff were friendly although reception left a little to be desired. The location is great and the room was very comfortable except for the lack of light. The bathroom was good and amenities were excellent. One big objection was internet - no free WiFi and I objected to paying $12.95 per hour.

We will continue to stay at the Stamford, Brisbane but Melbourne gets the thumbs down.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Comfortable room and extremely helpful and courteous staff ; well situated in the city for access to trams and local sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patterson lakes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed for 1 night, with our children and their partners so we booked 3 rooms. We were on the 10th floor in the east tower.The Stamford is an all suite hotel, each room we had was slightly different in configuration, they were all very clean and well set out. The rooms are a good size for 2 people with separate lounge dining area, although beds are only queens. As there are lots of tall buildings around there was not much natural light. The light switches were confusing, and toilet light went off a few times, reading other reviews it seems this is something to do with energy saving. Pool area was ordinary but adequate, loved the lifts and the atrium. Buffet breakfast good value and tasty. All in all we really liked the Stamford and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Went with my daughter for her birthday to melbourne and from the moment we checked in at the Stamford things started going wrong! We pulled up in a taxi and unlike other 5 star hotels there was no one there to help with our bags or even carry them to our room!During check in I made sure that we had a twin room with two single beds. The lady ensured me this was the case. As the Stamford is located on both sides of the road (the east and west wing) we were quite annoyed after crossing the road and going up to level 13 to find out our room didnt have two single beds. After this we went back down to ground and crossed over back to the west wing where reception was. The lady was not at all apologetic, but did fix the problem. We picked the Stamford as we wanted to use a kitchen and not eat out every night, however found this hard when there was no pots, pans and a pathetic amount of plates/cutlery. Later during our stay the air conditioning wouldnt work making sleeping at night were uncomfortable! One of the most frustrating parts of the Stamford was the televisions. As soon as you turn on the main light both tvs turn on blasting Stamford plaza commercials. Every night we would turn the lights off for bed, then the tvs would flick on, wed get up, turn the tvs off..it was an all round hassle! The entire hotel needs a makeover, it is extremely dated. The carpets are very dirty, and Harry's 'world recognised' bar was dull and lacked atmosphere. I hardly call the hotels gym a fitness centre, it had two treadmills of poor quality and two bikes. The buffet was reasonable but the queue was ridiculous! I know I sound like im fussy but the 5star reputation if the stamford has definitely been outlived and the value was not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear we did not have your booking correct, and I apologise for our mistake. I am pleased to note that this was rectified although staff attitude is of great concern to us and has been followed up.

Cooking kits are available on request from Housekeeping and unfortunately we were unaware of the problem with your television.

We thank you for your comments and assure you that corrective measures have been taken.

Yours sincerely
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed here while attending a Wedding in Melbourne. From start to finish our stay was excellent. Attendant at the Hotel door had our bags and car taken care of within minutes. Reception staff were relaxed and friendly but still professional. Check in took all of five minutes and bags were up to room in less than that time. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Great bathroom - (seperate mirror and sink area from the bath and toilet - found this great to get ready before going out), comfortable king size bed, full kitchenette and lounge area. Our room was quiet too - (very important for the lighter sleeper of us!)
On check out, staff were busy but remained courteous and efficient. All in all the best hotel stay I have had in Melbourne. The staff were excellent - friendliest and most helpful I have come across.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.