We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Getaway Specials
Ranked #34 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

My husband and I booked 3 nights at the Stamford Plaza at a good rate on lastminute.com. It was very easy to get to via the airport & hotel shuttle. The apartment was lovely, clean and comfortable. It was great having a kitchen and seperate sitting area.

We loved the location and we have to recommend eating at Il Solito Posto across Collins Street from the hotel, down the little alley: fabulous.

As we're travelling for a few months, we were very appreciative of the laundry facilities on the top floor and the fact that they didn't overcharge for the detergent.

Our only complaints would be the following: the gym was tiny and got very hot; the pool was smaller and not what I would consider to be 5*; the concierge gave us a Thai food recommendation one night at another hotel (Alice Thai in Victoria Hotel) and it was horrible. We were not impressed that a 5* hotel concierge would send us to a 3* hotel and what is possible a 1* restaurant for dinner in city of amazing restaurants.

Other than those minor rants, we would stay at Stamford Plaza again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    411
    149
    56
    38
See reviews for
169
508
67
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Its been just over 2 years since the last time we stayed here at the Stamford Melbourne. Have stayed numerous times over the last 8 years and really loved our stay this time around.

Check in: Drove up to the hotel, Had to go inside to ask Concierge what to do with the car. Cold and wet Melbourne Night. Concierge were friendly.
Went straight up to the desk. Was checked in by a delightful trainee called Emily who went over and beyond to make sure as repeat guests that we were happy with the room type we were getting and also gave us a preference on which tower we wanted to be in.
For the record, we were in the Main Tower which has a fantastic quick glass lift that is in the middle of the atrium.

Room: Executive Suite. In the corner of the 6th floor with no other rooms close by (except the elevator which you couldnt hear at all)
The room was spacious and sparking clean. Great new furnishings since our last visit. Large LCD TV in the lounge area, dining table, kitchenette with plunger waiting with coffee, stereo, 2 seater couch and 2 chairs, coffee table with magazines.
Bedroom had sliding doors to separate the lounge but you could still hear the TV.
Clean linen and comfy pillows. Smaller LCD TV opposite bed.
Ottoman againist the window with a fantastic long view of the city buildings.
Bathroom had sink, Aveda toiletries, Deep Bath Spa, Wardrobe with pillows, blanket, slippers and bathrobes.

Room Service: Lots of choice and reasonable prices. We ordered the Calamari, Burger and Sticky Date Pudding. Calamari Serving was small, Burger was good, but Sticky Date was cold and we prefer it warm.
The room service staff member was very friendly and offered to swap any food if it wasnt to our liking.

Slept ok...bed a little hard but thats a personal thing. No outside noise at all, which on a Friday night was fantastic.

Priority check out invoice slipped under the door overnight. I would have used it if they had not of made the mistake of charging double for the room! Small mistake which was fixed swiftly by the clerk.

All in all...a fab stay at this hotel and got a fantastic rate which is even better.

For Tourists...the location of this hotel is really good. 2 min walk from hotel and you are on Swanston Street and literally in the hub of everything. The bonus of the kitchenette would be fantastic for anyone staying here for more than a couple of days.
For Locals...a great hotel to stay in if you dont want to pay a fortune for a tiny room in a super deluxe hotel. The rooms here are great and coming very close to that 5th star.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

I stayed at the Stamford Plaza for approximately 3 weeks from the end of June 2009 - early July 2009. The hotel rates itself as a 5 star, and although it is a good place to stay, it really doesn't rank up there with what we think a 5-star should be.

Nonetheless, I would recommend this place to anyone. Good rate for what you get. The 'good stuff': Jacuzzi tubs, small kitchen w/2 burners, dishwasher, microwave, cutlery, dishes, etc., FREE laundry room facilities (but you have to supply your own soap or buy it from the concierge). If you plan on cooking (food is expensive in Australia!!), then ask Housekeeping for a 'cooking kit'. They will deliver a plastic bin to your room (for FREE). It contains a colander, pots, pans, cooking utensils, bowls, sharp knives, etc., Bedroom is a good size with a separate room for the living room, dining area and kitchenette. Great for long stays since you feel like you are in an apartment. Staff is very helpful. Hint: If you want a FREE daily newspaper, you will have to request delivery from the concierge.

The 'not so good stuff': SMALL closet (and I mean SMALL) which is already taken up all of the room in it with a 3 drawer chest, the iron, and ironing board. You have to remove everything in order to hang your clothes. I went out and bought some over-the-door hangers just to hang some clothes.

Lighting IN the room is great, but you get virtually NO natural light - at least with my room facing the alleyway. (albeit a nice alleyway)

SMALL bathroom counter space - virtually very little.

The biggest thing of all is that if you are business traveler like me, the interent connection is set up at the dining table and the chairs are regular dining chairs that are quite hard and uncomfortable. You are better off connecting to their wireless service so you can sit where you want. They have a desk in the bedroom, but there is are no outlets near the desk. Not great if you want to work in your room, but you can get around it somewhat.

Maids need to dust more.........may have just been the (male) maid that I had, but my co-worker also said her room got dusty after being there 2 weeks....so not sure if they just don't dust while you are there??? Hmmm, so what do you call a male maid - still a maid...such things to ponder. :)

Anyway, overall - good hotel to stay at, in a good area w/ a lot of restaurants and things happening around the area. You are 1 to 2 blocks away from Chinatown.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

My partner and I went here for a weekend in Melbourne. We stayed three nights. This Hotel is not a five star hotel, don't be fooled by the glossy photo's as I was, of the rooms. It's not luxurious and I think this is a vital part of a lot of peoples five star Hotel experience. At best it is a four star Hotel, so don't stay here and think you can walk around like a Roman Emperor in your Hotel supplied robe smelling the flowers in your room and gazing down the street with a good view after the most magic relaxing shower you have ever had, having dorned yourself with ten different bathroom products, (no robes supplied anyway). As others have said in reviews of this Hotel the rooms are very dated, the bath in ours was a very old Jacuzzi style 70,s number, that off-yellow look in a very small dark bathroom. I ventured to the shower to find a single dark long black hair in the bath, it just puts you off. Room itself was always dark, but the place generally reeks of age and the number of people that have stayed there, well overdue for total renovation. One other notable head shaking event was the "pot of tea" which was a $7.50 pot of hot water and two miserable tea bags which you have in your room anyway! Not a place for romantic weekends, I found myself becoming a Philosopher taming my growing anger, but this place could serve well for the boys out for a cheaper weekend. Staff were fine but don't expect yes sir no sir, let me help you with your bag sir, I would describe the concierge as a nervous ghost.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I've stayed at the Stamford a number of times over the years, mainly for its great location. I do think its now well and truly reached its expiry date in its current state. Its supposed to be a 5-star hotel, but I liken the rooms to your run of the mill 3-star hotel - the room looks dated, the bathroom is from the 70s, the TV is embarrasingly small, doesn't get good reception and is in a ridiculous position (yet they still charge a fortune for movies)...and so on. Moving to the rest of the hotel, the two mini gyms are outdone by most people's home gyms - the treadmill feels like its going to break (one of them didn't work anyway) and equipment is very limited and old.
Looking through the comment replies, the Stamford people say a refurbishment is on the way - well a lot of time has passed and we're still waiting!
Personally don't think I'd stay here again, the hotel is just too old and flimsy to justify the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We booked a "Secret Hotel" through LastMinute.com.au which turned out to be a suite at the Stamford in Melbourne.

The hotel is located towards the edge of Melbourne's CBD. By being this little bit away from the action you don't hear much pedestrian traffic, although we were bothered by noise that sounded like construction work at one stage during the night.

Hotel staff went out of their way to help and were generally efficient. Our suite was of a reasonable size and rooms were nicely separated from each other - living/dining/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom.

We ate at Harry's Restaurant inside the hotel. Food was nice, staff were friendly, meals were reasonably priced for a five star hotel, but menu lacked depth. We also ordered room service for breakfast. The food was tasty and a good size for the price.

Room heating worked well as did all the appliances. Main negatives were water pressure and temperature. The mini bar was overpriced.

We'd return for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Stamford Plaza in the West Wing for 4 nights in May. I am fussy, so will give an honest opinion of what we thought.
The room was great, spacious, clean and well appointed. It was a little dated but in excellent order with very little wear and tear to furnishings. The bathroom was in good order, no mould to be seen. The kitchenette was well stocked with plates, cutlery, enough for two of us. I rang for ice to be delivered to our room which was delivered very efficiently, as were the extra pillows.
The beauty of the Stamford rooms is the layout, accommodating a small lounge area with a separated bedroom. We entertained friends in our lounge which comfortably held 6 of us.
The Stamford's position is very convenient to everything in the city, especially Chinatown - if you go, eat at the 'Sticky Fish' - fantastic food, very reasonable.
We ate at the buffet breakfast for two of the mornings. The first morning was very nice. However, the second morning there was a different chef cooking who was not as good a cook..
Our only major complaint would be the small, older television - it would have been great to have a larger flatscreen.
We would definitely stay at the Stamford again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience premium five star luxury in Melbourne's finest all-suite hotel. Located at the "Paris end" of Little Collins Street in the heart of the CBD, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is surrounded by the best of fashion, theatre, cuisine, and only walking distance to the city's famous sporting venues. An ideal location for those wanting to immerse themselves in Melbourne's vibrant culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.