We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver $1 Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good location and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Sir Stamford is located in Melbourne CBD. The staff are very efficient and friendly in all areas of the hotel. The concierge team are exceptionally helpful and the reception team greeted us with a smile on every occasion
Rooms were well equipped and had everything and more that you could need. The toiletries were lovely in the bathroom - something I don't normally notice as I stay in so many hotels!
Good value offers if you book on the web too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Tracy A,
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our service to be exceptional! We really pride ourselves on it and are glad you noticed. Thanks also for highlighting the great deals to be found on our website, we look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same again soon.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    466
    162
    60
    41
See reviews for
186
558
71
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Comfortable and quiet rooms with easy access from the lobby. Great location at the price and more friendly than some of the other larger 5 star venues nearby (in fact I have a choice of hotel via my employer and I choose this venue over the others nearby). The staff are service oriented and deal with requests in an efficient and friendly manner. I have been upgraded frequently (it seems this is policy if rooms are free?) and I have already decided that on my next family trip to Melbourne, we will stay in one of the 2-BR suites.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mark H,
It’s wonderful to hear from such a happy guest and we are delighted to be your “Home away from home” when you are traveling for business - it will be our pleasure to welcome your family too. Our two bedrooms suites are so spacious and allow for comfort as well as privacy. Thanks for your positive compliments relating to the friendly service from our dedicated staff also – we look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same soon.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Stamford Plaza (Wot if Mystery hotel deal ) and had an enjoyable stay. Suite was lovely, bed very comfortable, but did find it a bit noisy ,also quite dark as we looked straight out onto other buildings, but then you are in the city. Was handy for everything, shops, cafés, trams etc which was great. Had dinner in the bar one night, there were probably eight people there,; firstly our meals were given to another table, so we were given a free drink each, then when we did get our meals, the home made tartare sauce was missing. So had to go and ask for that, sat down again to start our meals only to find we had a spoon and a knife each , try eating fish and chips with that ! So had to go back and ask for forks so we could eat, had a laugh about it though ! But not what you expect in a 5 star hotel !! Also, object to paying for internet access, this should be free ! Would still stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Salty66,
It sounds like another great team effort to ensure a great stay and a happy guest. I hope you enjoyed the Formula One as much as your accommodation and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here overnight on Sat 15th March with a group of 22 people all in Melbourne for the Grand Prix.
The Studio Room was very well presented, very clean & well set out.
Bed comfy, bathroom good & buffet breakfast nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Salty66,
It sounds like another great team effort to ensure a great stay and a happy guest. I hope you enjoyed the Formula One as much as your accommodation and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The stamford plaza is the one hotel in the melbourne cbd that i keep coming back to time and time again,because the rooms are so grand and beautifully decorated.The rooms are actually suites with living room,dining table and kitchen.oh and i can't forget the spa as well as the comfy bed.The hotel is smack bang in the middle of the best shopping and dinning in melbourne and so close to all the wonderful sights and sounds of this wonderful city.

Room Tip: never had a bad room yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sonia C,
I am so happy that we are your preferred choice of accommodation in Melbourne because we offer you the total guest experience of well appointed suites, convenient location and friendly staff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is always our aim to please on all fronts and we would be delighted to welcome you back again and again and again!
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Overall I was not happy with the Stamford Plaza Melbourne considering the price.

First the good - The staff were exceptional from the door man to the check i desk and anyone else I encountered. Excellent customer service skills. The location is also fantastic, plenty of places to eat and drink, transport easy - this is potentially why you would stay here....

Now the bad, the rest I was unhappy with, my perspective is considering the base rate was $300 a night for the lowest room, which is not a cheap room. For $300 a night and a 5 star rating I was disappointed with the quality of the room, it is very tired, We also had a room with hardly any natural light and the lighting in the room was inadequate to do some of the work I had to do. I could not believe the price of the mini bar, yes you expect over inflated prices but WOW $5 for a coke??!!!! Good thing is there are plenty of shops close by. Also when you pay 5 star prices you don't expect to have to pay for every add on. $25 a day for internet access, that is just rude. For your $300 a night you basically get a very tired old and dark room. the rest you have to pay for. Also the windows were not double glaze so you can hear all the noise of the street (we were on level 8).I will not be going back which is a shame as the staff were brilliant.

Room Tip: High up and not over looking the alley between the 2 towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Travelling_Fi0na,
It is disappointing to learn that your suite was not to your liking especially as you were so impressed with other aspects of your stay. The comfort of our guests is our prime concern and as such we offer suites in different sizes, configurations and with different outlooks. It is true that our central city location does limit natural light in some areas of the hotel, though if we have another opportunity to accommodate you I am sure we would be able to allocate a room which covers all of your requests. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, I know our team of staff will be very pleased to read your review with your kind compliments.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We arrived at the hotel very early (8am) and our room was not ready which was to expect. The staff was very nice from the first moment and allowed us to use the bathroom on the first floor to refresh after the long flight from Europe. When we got back in the afternoon, we found our luggage already in the room which was a nice touch.

The room itself was quite spacious (suite-like with living room and kitchen), quiet and with a nice bathroom. We found it spotless clean, too.

The location is great, just steps from Collins Street and close to all downtown attractions. Federation Square is just a 10-minute walk. The concierge provided us with public transport passes and was very knowledgeable about what to do and how to get where we wanted to go.

On one morning we ate breakfast at the hotel and found the buffet to be of good quality and to have a broad selection, even if maybe a bit expensive.

On departure, we asked to prearrange a taxi early in the morning and the car was there waiting for us at the agreed time.

All-in-all, a great experience and we would return anytime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear GioVale20,
It’s so fantastic to have made such a happy guest of you! There are so many great things about staying at the Stamford in Melbourne and I appreciate you highlighting our spacious suites, enviable location and attentive service. I’m delighted you found so much to positively comment about from your recent stay. We would be delighted to welcome you back for more of the same in the future.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.