We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but need to up their game to be 5 star !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast + Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #41 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, but need to up their game to be 5 star !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Stamford Plaza (Wot if Mystery hotel deal ) and had an enjoyable stay. Suite was lovely, bed very comfortable, but did find it a bit noisy ,also quite dark as we looked straight out onto other buildings, but then you are in the city. Was handy for everything, shops, cafés, trams etc which was great. Had dinner in the bar one night, there were probably eight people there,; firstly our meals were given to another table, so we were given a free drink each, then when we did get our meals, the home made tartare sauce was missing. So had to go and ask for that, sat down again to start our meals only to find we had a spoon and a knife each , try eating fish and chips with that ! So had to go back and ask for forks so we could eat, had a laugh about it though ! But not what you expect in a 5 star hotel !! Also, object to paying for internet access, this should be free ! Would still stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Salty66,
It sounds like another great team effort to ensure a great stay and a happy guest. I hope you enjoyed the Formula One as much as your accommodation and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    560
    193
    74
    47
See reviews for
221
644
83
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here overnight on Sat 15th March with a group of 22 people all in Melbourne for the Grand Prix.
The Studio Room was very well presented, very clean & well set out.
Bed comfy, bathroom good & buffet breakfast nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Salty66,
It sounds like another great team effort to ensure a great stay and a happy guest. I hope you enjoyed the Formula One as much as your accommodation and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The stamford plaza is the one hotel in the melbourne cbd that i keep coming back to time and time again,because the rooms are so grand and beautifully decorated.The rooms are actually suites with living room,dining table and kitchen.oh and i can't forget the spa as well as the comfy bed.The hotel is smack bang in the middle of the best shopping and dinning in melbourne and so close to all the wonderful sights and sounds of this wonderful city.

Room Tip: never had a bad room yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sonia C,
I am so happy that we are your preferred choice of accommodation in Melbourne because we offer you the total guest experience of well appointed suites, convenient location and friendly staff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is always our aim to please on all fronts and we would be delighted to welcome you back again and again and again!
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Overall I was not happy with the Stamford Plaza Melbourne considering the price.

First the good - The staff were exceptional from the door man to the check i desk and anyone else I encountered. Excellent customer service skills. The location is also fantastic, plenty of places to eat and drink, transport easy - this is potentially why you would stay here....

Now the bad, the rest I was unhappy with, my perspective is considering the base rate was $300 a night for the lowest room, which is not a cheap room. For $300 a night and a 5 star rating I was disappointed with the quality of the room, it is very tired, We also had a room with hardly any natural light and the lighting in the room was inadequate to do some of the work I had to do. I could not believe the price of the mini bar, yes you expect over inflated prices but WOW $5 for a coke??!!!! Good thing is there are plenty of shops close by. Also when you pay 5 star prices you don't expect to have to pay for every add on. $25 a day for internet access, that is just rude. For your $300 a night you basically get a very tired old and dark room. the rest you have to pay for. Also the windows were not double glaze so you can hear all the noise of the street (we were on level 8).I will not be going back which is a shame as the staff were brilliant.

Room Tip: High up and not over looking the alley between the 2 towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Travelling_Fi0na,
It is disappointing to learn that your suite was not to your liking especially as you were so impressed with other aspects of your stay. The comfort of our guests is our prime concern and as such we offer suites in different sizes, configurations and with different outlooks. It is true that our central city location does limit natural light in some areas of the hotel, though if we have another opportunity to accommodate you I am sure we would be able to allocate a room which covers all of your requests. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, I know our team of staff will be very pleased to read your review with your kind compliments.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We arrived at the hotel very early (8am) and our room was not ready which was to expect. The staff was very nice from the first moment and allowed us to use the bathroom on the first floor to refresh after the long flight from Europe. When we got back in the afternoon, we found our luggage already in the room which was a nice touch.

The room itself was quite spacious (suite-like with living room and kitchen), quiet and with a nice bathroom. We found it spotless clean, too.

The location is great, just steps from Collins Street and close to all downtown attractions. Federation Square is just a 10-minute walk. The concierge provided us with public transport passes and was very knowledgeable about what to do and how to get where we wanted to go.

On one morning we ate breakfast at the hotel and found the buffet to be of good quality and to have a broad selection, even if maybe a bit expensive.

On departure, we asked to prearrange a taxi early in the morning and the car was there waiting for us at the agreed time.

All-in-all, a great experience and we would return anytime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear GioVale20,
It’s so fantastic to have made such a happy guest of you! There are so many great things about staying at the Stamford in Melbourne and I appreciate you highlighting our spacious suites, enviable location and attentive service. I’m delighted you found so much to positively comment about from your recent stay. We would be delighted to welcome you back for more of the same in the future.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the Stamford for the last weekend in Feb. We arrived very early in the morning from a flight from Perth and the staff not only allowed us to check in early, they also upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite. The bed was really comfy and the heavy curtains allowed us some great sleep-ins. We didn't use the kitchen facilities as we ate out, but it was good to have the option. Loved the French inspired decor and the location. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay again, loved it. The only thing I could pick at was the carpet was a bit tired in the corridors and could use a re-vamp.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear sandgroper2024,
I am really pleased that the comfort of our suites allowed you to relax and rest during your time in Melbourne. We often receive comments on what a great nights’ sleep our beds provide and I am glad to know you also found this to be true. I appreciate your feedback regarding our carpets and this is an area we have since addressed with urgency and I am sure you will notice a great improvement on your return – we hope you’ll be back soon.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Stamford Plaza for 2 nights, we were not disappointed!!!! As soon as we were happily greeted by staff out the front it continued at reception as well! I definatly recommend the Valet parking, it makes life so much easier. Rooms were comfortable & everything is so handy to anything you need. Harry's Resturant is great too, beautiful meals & great service

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear JOANNE H,
Five star service from start to finish is what we aim to provide and I am delighted that this was your experience. It’s also wonderful to read that dining in Harry’s was a highlight of your stay - our new Irresistible menu is just delicious and I know our Executive Chef and kitchen team will be thrilled to read your comments. We’d be delighted to welcome you back for more of the same when you next visit Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.