We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the Stamford for the last weekend in Feb. We arrived very early in the morning from a flight from Perth and the staff not only allowed us to check in early, they also upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite. The bed was really comfy and the heavy curtains allowed us some great sleep-ins. We didn't use the kitchen facilities as we ate out, but it was good to have the option. Loved the French inspired decor and the location. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay again, loved it. The only thing I could pick at was the carpet was a bit tired in the corridors and could use a re-vamp.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear sandgroper2024,
I am really pleased that the comfort of our suites allowed you to relax and rest during your time in Melbourne. We often receive comments on what a great nights’ sleep our beds provide and I am glad to know you also found this to be true. I appreciate your feedback regarding our carpets and this is an area we have since addressed with urgency and I am sure you will notice a great improvement on your return – we hope you’ll be back soon.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    536
    185
    71
    46
See reviews for
214
624
81
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Pines, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Stamford Plaza for 2 nights, we were not disappointed!!!! As soon as we were happily greeted by staff out the front it continued at reception as well! I definatly recommend the Valet parking, it makes life so much easier. Rooms were comfortable & everything is so handy to anything you need. Harry's Resturant is great too, beautiful meals & great service

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear JOANNE H,
Five star service from start to finish is what we aim to provide and I am delighted that this was your experience. It’s also wonderful to read that dining in Harry’s was a highlight of your stay - our new Irresistible menu is just delicious and I know our Executive Chef and kitchen team will be thrilled to read your comments. We’d be delighted to welcome you back for more of the same when you next visit Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Unfortunately we only had one night at this hotel but could have spent longer. The staff are incredibly friendly and the rooms are great. We were expecting just a standard 5 star hotel room but it was a studio one bedroom with kitchen facilities and a separate lounge room and are quite large and luxurious.

The hotel is well situated, close to everything in the city and we now have a new Melbourne favourite. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear JohnSharon,
Thanks for highlighting just some of the aspects that make this hotel a great choice for accommodation when in Melbourne. We love to surprise and delight out guests, and it certainly sounds like our spacious and well appointed suites exceeded your expectations. We take great pride in our service and facilities and it makes all our jobs worthwhile to get such positive feedback. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be great to see you again next time.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyCandy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed 4 nights over White Night weekend. Booked 1br Queen, quite and high. Check in very pleasant as were all staff during the stay, and my room requests were exactly as I had asked for. Bar kitchen,nice lounge, comfortable bedrm that could be blocked off with shutter doors. Nice little chaise lounge in the recess window. Bathroom was good with great spa bath. The pool area is small but adequate, and in one of the towers: so find out access if you are in the other tower, so you dont go walking thru the cold laneway after a swim as I saw one couple do. Concierge out the front tops at their job. There is a great little coffee bar across the road and down to the left.(Famish'd) Fresh salads and light brekky. Only open M-F. Only down side which comes with lots of Hotels is "slamming doors" - how easy wld it be to put a small sign at eye level on the door so people learn to consider neighbours and close the door quietly. Stamford Plaza is a great place to stay if you get the right room.

Room Tip: Corner rooms West tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear SydneyCandy,
Thanks for such a positive review, White Night was a fantastic event in the heart of the city and I am thrilled that our facilities and the superior comfort of our suites led to an enjoyable weekend. It certainly sounds like you had a busy weekend and enjoyed sampling the many delights of our neighbourhood. I am sorry to note that you were disturbed by noise from fellow guests and your suggestion for signage has been well received. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in Melbourne soon.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just checked in to a one bedroom apartment yet there is no separate bedroom it's more of a studio! The reason I booked a apartment was for space but there's not much of that. The rest of the hotel is nice though but think next time I'll try somewhere else.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear tashie-nz,
I am disappointed that your room did not meet your expectations as we usually receive such positive feedback on the spaciousness of our suites. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and it is a shame that you did not bring this to the attention of our staff on duty. We have a range of different room categories in various sizes and configurations and it would have been our pleasure to assist in finding the right fit for you. Please call us prior to your next arrival so we can assist with your travel arrangements and ensure your stay is enjoyable.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrestfield, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our stay was a combination of hotels and private accommodation. It began appallingly at a hotel near the airport but fortunately ended on a high at the Stamford Plaza. We were both greeted and farewelled by courteous and professional staff, who went the extra mile when required. Location to both restaurants and shopping was brilliant. We have recommended to family and our daughter has already booked her stay for an upcoming trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear ShelleyC C,
I am thrilled that we were able to provide you with outstanding customer service and facilities to ensure that the remainder of your holiday was memorable for all the right reasons. I know my team will be so pleased to read that their service offering impacted so positively on your stay – it’s our warm and friendly hospitality that helps make Stamford Plaza Melbourne a true “home away from home”. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you and your family in the future.
Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having a night off from my young family with my best friend was just what I needed. The suite felt completely luxurious, comfortable and plush. I loved relaxing and reading on the lounges looking out over the lane way. The Ipod dock was a handy way to capture the tunes during our stay. Bed super comfy and I wished I could have stayed longer to utilise the bath.... Great location nearby to cocktail bars and other hubs of activity.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Katie J,
We’re thrilled to have provided you with a well earned luxury get away, everyone deserves a little pampering every now and again. Your compliments are much appreciated and we’d love to welcome you back for a longer stay next time – maybe you would like to try our Lazy Daze package for the ultimate indulgence on your return.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.