We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver $1 Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed in a Studio suite on a four night break and found this hotel excellent. It providesd basic cooking facilities and we had a really good deal through the hotel website advance purchase.
It was central to all the places we wanted to visit and convenient for the tram to go further afield. The room was clean, comfortable and the bed was perfect. We appreciated having real milk in cartons instead of the small plastic portions.
We did not eat in the hotel, as there were plenty of other eateries around to try. All the staff we met were cheerful, helpful and courteous. We will certainly return.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Waiting for the lift when one was broken
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    466
    162
    60
    41
See reviews for
186
558
71
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I came to this hotel for 2 nights, one of which was the romance and seduction package. It was a present for my birthday from my family. I had an amazing weekend. I had come for my birthday the previous year also and so they upgraded my room.

The dinner cooked in the room was delicious, the massages were lovely and watching movies and eating popcorn was great fun. We went out with friends for my birthday and the location was very central and practical.

I'm looking forward to coming back to stay for the Billy Joel concert...

It's also good to note that the hotel website has cheaper deals than lastminute.com etc, including good deals for booking in advance.

  • Liked — Helpful and friendly staff... and the glass elevator
  • Disliked — Parking is expensive
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed here on a secret hotel deal.
Its a great location - but not 5 star.
Decor old, fading and very 80's.
Movies are $16.95!!!!!! and the breakfast is not work $30.
Staff efficient but lack the finesse of a high class hotel.
Nothing luxury about this place.
Clean , great water pressure and comfy beds - but if you want 5 star, luxury and pampering - give this place a miss.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Paying 5 star and not coming close
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballarat
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We decided to treat ourselves to a weekend in Melbourne and picked the hotel from the web for its location and facilities.

It was a great weekend in a great location, really handy for Melbourne's many attractions. All the staff were welcoming and helpful and the Concierge gave us some great suggestions for restaurants within walking distance. The one bedroom executive suite with the queen bed was very comfortable and had plenty of space. We like to bring our own bubbly and snacks so always look for somewhere with kitchen facilities and this was ideal.

We'll be back!

  • Liked — Spacious and comfortable, in a great location
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

The Stamford Plaza in Melbourne is perfectly located for getting around Melbourne an enjoying all that the heart of the city has to offer. We were treated very well on our (very early) arrival; our baggage was store without complaint; the concierge helped sort out our plans for the morning; and the front desk took our mobile number to advise as soon as our room was ready. And indeed, a call was received around noon - well before the advised check in time. Great service all around!

Our room was one of the one bedroom suites (bedroom plus kitchen/living space), which adequately accommodated two parents and a pull out cot for our 3 year old. The room was classically appointed and while perhaps slightly dated and certainly not "hip", it was hardly a decor one could complain of. The primary issue in relation to the room was that the windows were so dirty as to let in virtually no light! A visitor to our room thought that we had the shade pulled - they were that filthy (street level construction the probably culprit). Admittedly we did not bring up this issue to management (we couldn't be bothered to move and the windows wouldn't be cleaned over the weekend). However, given their absolutely appalling state, a simple note of apology and acknowledgment on our arrival would have been the appropriate response of a truly top tier hotel.

Windows aside, we found the service at the hotel, particularly the concierge, to be very good (we indulged in room service and these comments carry through to that as well). We enjoyed the use of the pool on more than one occasion. The pool was a nice but largely utilitarian environment.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable room, pleasant staff
  • Disliked — dirty windows!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Now, I know that hotels are awarded stars according the facilities and services they have, but you must be kidding, this hotel is no where near five stars, more like 3 max. It really can't live up to 5 stars, worn out and uncomfortable as it is.

Ok, ok, I booked through the LasT Minute website, the mystery 5 star accommodation for one night and got a great deal (if it really would have been quality as expected from a quality 5 star hotel). I was expecting that with the cheap price we would get the crappiest room in the hotel but that the hotel would be otherwise quality and friendly experience....

On arrival, there was about 5 staff members working at the reception desk, all doing their best to ignore the queu of customers trying to check in. Once been attended the unsmiling receptionist the check in was fast and painless itself. And up we went to our room 914.

Room 914 is a studio suite with two double beds. As we entered, we noticed that the room was extreamly stuffy and hot, with sun streaming in through the window, so we adjusted the aircon to it's coolest and the fan on highest. Whilst doing this a person from room service arrived to deliver replacement blanket, so we commented about the stuffiness. He agreed that the room was hot and proceeded to adjust the aircon again. Well, the aircon was on it's coolest level and fan on maximum for our whole stay (we even left the extra key on eletricity system to keep the aircon going) and the room never cooled down, stuffy, stuffy. As per normal, the aircon has been positioned so that it plasts directly on to the bed.

Now, I agree with the earlier reviews, what is the point of suites, if it really means cramming the room to the maximum. Kitchen is ok, but takes too much room. Dining area takes the most of the room and instead should have been used as a sitting area, as the sitting area is facing the kitchen and your little tiny tv is about metre away from where yous are sitting. Two double beds are next to the window (bay window) but you'll have to climb over the beds to reach the window, even to close the curtains.

As the beds are double, they are too short for an adult, so your legs end up hunging off the bed whilst tossing and turning, trying to sleep in the hot room. Needless to say, chiropractor here we come, rest of the weekend we both had back pains.

Harry's bar was a disappointment, shows again how worn out the hotel is and needs re-deco urgently (maybe a bulldozer would do the job). Breakfast room (Harry's restaurant, which we didn't use for dinner) is as worn out, also the food on breakfast was disappointment. Happen to see into the kitchen, as the doors between the kitchen and dining area were wide open, what a mess...

Overall, please reduce the star rating of this Stamford, even Sir Stamford would agree. And by the way, not a single staff member managed to make a smiling face of happy expression whilst we were staying in the hotel, even that we did not complain whilst there , instead suffered quietly thinking that we got what we paid for. The best thing was that we did not pay the normal price, imagine the disappointment!

  • Liked — Did not like a thing!
  • Disliked — Tiny room!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, Guy Challis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 15, 2008
I was disappointed to read your comments. For your information we are in the process of commencing a refurbishment project, which will include new carpet furnishings and flatscreen TV’s in lounge areas and bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed here when touring Australia in 2000. The location is great, just a short walk from great coffee bars and places to eat. Also a short downhill walk to the centre of Melbourne and the river.

The suite was fairly small, but more than adequate and loved the spa bath.

We are looking to stay there again this December when we will also tour other parts of Australia. In fact I was trying really hard earlier to remember the name of the hotel as we enjoyed our stay there so much last time and certainly want to stay there again.

Stayed December 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, Guy Challis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 15, 2008
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Melbourne in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.