We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in best part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Escape Package from $259
Ranked #37 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Located in best part of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for 1 week (Monday-Friday) and was pretty happy with our stay. The rooms are very big. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for 1 night and a 1 bedroom suite for the rest of the stay. Both rooms were very spacious bigger than most hotels. It was pretty handy having a kitchen table to be able to set up with my laptop and a lounge for the kids. The kitchen was fitted out with everything you need although we ate out every meal.

The staff were very helpful and they have a great environmental plan in place for which you receive a discount on your bill if you don't have your room services everyday. The location is hard to beat and we walked everywhere. The City Circle free tram is a block away and there is great restaurants all within walking distance.

The hotel is looking a tad tired (carpets, pool area etc) but it still a good hotel. The foyer could do with some more lights!!! It is way too dark which makes it look old, even though it's not. My 8 year old commented "they must have forgot to turn on the lights". LOL. Also there was no mini bar price list or hair dryer in the 2 bed suite, we moved so it didn't bother us. They had both in the 1 bedroom suite so all good.

Would we stay again - Yes.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors as noise from the bar would be annoying if travelling with li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear sorrento70,
Melbourne is a fantastic city to explore and I’m thrilled that you found our location a convenient base for your visit. Thanks for noting the spaciousness of our suites, having separate bedrooms and a central lounge room when staying with the kids or friends certainly makes for a more comfortable stay. I am sorry that your 2 bedroom suite did not have a minibar list or hairdryer and apologise for this oversight, these items are certainly standard in all our rooms and I will ensure they are replaced. Thank you also for noting the friendly service received throughout your stay and for your support of our “Green Initiative”. We hope to welcome you all back for the school holidays again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    520
    181
    68
    44
See reviews for
209
610
81
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel on the school getaway package (which included the buffet breakfast). We found all the staff helpful and friendly and a great asset to the hotel. Despite billing as a 5 star, it is not. Now this doesn't mean we didn't have a pleasant stay but don't think you will be checking into a hotel with 5 star luxury. Stained carpet and chipped paint need attention. The bathroom in our suite was the biggest let-down. Mould in the shower, gold fixtures (what a poor design choice) that were tarnished and a lack of ventilation (steam spa after a shower). Each towel had hair (gross) and there was paint chips on the walls and dust in the room.

National Gallery of Victoria was brilliant! You can comfortably walk in 15 minutes. Plan on spending at least 4 hours there. Federation Square vibrant and worth a visit. We took the free tram around the city which was a nice way to see some highlights (hop on and off). Highly recommend the high tea at the Windsor hotel. A highlight of our trip to Melbourne.

You MUST grab a coffee and chocolate/walnut brioche (or Danish) at Brioche by Phillip. Scrummy! Just turn left when you leave the hotel lobby and walk to the corner.

Our included buffet at the Stamford was really just adequate. I have never seen pre-portioned eggs and mushrooms (in ramekins). Tacky. Not many hot food items and the tinned fruit had fermented (I have to wonder how many times they re-use the same fruit each day). Okay, I was disappointed by the buffet.

Our room overlooked the office building next door (simply put, no view at all).

Now the room was comfy and satisfactory for a short stay but please don't expect luxury as you won't find it here. Would we return? Not likely as there are other hotels to try in the CBD.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear javagirl08,
Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read of the maintenance issues you have noted in your suite. Attention to detail can mean the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel and unfortunately on this occasion we have failed to be great. I am sorry too that breakfast was not memorable for the right reasons and will address this with our Executive Chef. Whilst you have stated that you would not return, should you reconsider it would be my pleasure to oversee your arrangements and ensure your stay is 5 star through and through. Please contact me on 03 9659 1178 or karlunterfrauner@spm.stamford.com.au so I can assist from the onset.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Generally we stay at the Novotel on Collins, but for this trip their pool was out of order, so we decided to try the Stamford.......great decision ! We were in town to celebrate my husband's birthday, and see some jazz (we were delighted to receive a complimentary bottle of wine from the management......thankyou so much) We stayed for 2 nights in a Queen Studio Suite. We were fortunate to have a lovely room on the 8th floor with view towards the churches. The hotel is impressive from the beginning. Friendly and helpful Reception staff, excellent service from the Concierge, and the cleaners and extra staff always looked genuinely happy....that's a great sign in a hotel. We found the bed and pillows to be perfect, the bathroom was well appointed and the shower was great......another big plus. The pool and spa area was clean, with plenty of towels available, in fact the hotel in general had a lovely smell ! In terms of its position, this hotel is well located for theatres, jazz clubs (like Bennetts Lane) and of course the shopping precinct. There is a great little cafe over the road called Famish'd, which serves great breakfasts, like build your own muesli, toasties, etc as well as excellent coffee for a low price. Just a 5 minute walk to Swanston St or Burke St will take you to the tram stops. You need to purchase a MYKI card to travel on all trams (except the free city tram), and can top it up when needed. We saw loads of inspectors on the trams booking people that had not topped up their cards, so don't think you can get away without paying !! In all, we will definitely stay here again....it has become our new hotel of choice in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear jude88,
We love a celebration at Stamford Plaza Melbourne and it was our pleasure to be a part of your husband’s birthday festivities. It’s wonderful that you found all aspects of the hotel to your liking, but the comments that make me most happy relate to the friendly service you received from our staff. Everyone will be thrilled to read they contributed to making a good impression on you. We’re so pleased that we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you again – we look forward to it!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. To sum it up disappointing. We booked a 2 bedroom suite but it was small and felt crowded. We overlooked office buildings ( awful) and were told this building had been recently refurbished. The room was very ' beige' and dowdy
Im glad it was only a one night stay. We've just recently returned from Europe and their hotels were exceptional and a comparative price. This is not a 5 star property more a 4.
The suite itself was not spotless - cups had not been washed thoroughly - still had coffee rim etc
Disappointing all up

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear rosa c,
We appreciate your feedback and regret that your room was not appealing; we usually receive such positive comments on the size of our rooms. I am disappointed to read of the drop in standards you experienced with the servicing of your room and will ensure this is followed up immediately. I would be very grateful for the opportunity to show you the 5 star experience expected from a Stamford Hotel, if you are planning another visit to Melbourne I hope you will contact me directly on 03 9659 1178 or karlunterfrauner@spm.stamford.com.au so I may assist in allocating a suite which meets all your needs.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have just returned home from a 5 day stay at the Stamford in Melbourne and were very delighted with our experience. We chose a double suite. This provided us with two bedrooms, each with a Queen bed and ensuite. One with a spa bath. My daughter slept on the single roll-away, it all worked perfectly. Two young adults, mum and dad with a bathroom each. The furnishings were gorgeous, the beds and pillows very comfortable. We loved being able to have a spa and swim on the top floor every afternoon, to help our tired feet recover. My hubby and son said the gym had plenty of equiptment. There was a TV in each room and a plasma in the lounge room. Everyone was happy. It was very quiet from traffic noise. Ideally located to wander down into town. Harry's Bar next door had great Wedges, sour cream and chilli sauce. The concierge's were extremely helpful and loved having our bed made every day. Nothing was a problem. Would definitely stay again. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1311. Ideal suite if travelling with teenagers for an extra bathroom and some spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Crusty64.
Thank you for your review, it is so wonderful to read that your family will have such fond memories of their stay in Melbourne. As you have mentioned our two bedroom suites are fantastic for a family get away, allowing for space and comfort while maintaining a sense of luxury too. I am also very pleased to read that you enjoyed some of the other facilities we have to offer including the gym, pool and Harry’s bar – I’m a big fan of the wedges too!
We look forward to welcoming you all back for another enjoyable stay next time.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Friendly foyer, and front desk, surprise upgrade to a two bedroom suite- it was beautiful and comfy. One bathroom had a spa bath. Public one on the 16th floor with small lap pool so nice and relaxing.

Lovely place to stay on little collins street.

Only two negative comments are my daughter said not enough jets in bath spa and bedroom view was a office building where staff could see you if you did not have the curtain pulled and no prices for the mini bar.

maybe to make it more perfect is a tv in the room with the bath spa would be great.

Room Tip: Higher floors and tower with the roof spa and pool on the 15th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear newtravelSydney,
We’re so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely getaway and enjoyed the luxury of one of our two bedroom suites. Thank you for your suggestion to have a TV visible from the spa – wouldn’t that be the ultimate indulgence! We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay next time you’re in Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we discovered there was a complimentary bottle of champagne and some chocolates from hotel management. That was a lovely surprise. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel was conveniently located to many attractions. The front of house staff were wonderful. The bed is the most comfortable I have slept in. The only negative was how poorly our room was cleaned on our second day. The bath tub and hand basin had not been cleaned and the floor had not been vacuumed.This was only a minor problem. Other then that I am certain we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Jo P,
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We’re thrilled that your stay has left you with such fond memories. I disappointed that your suite was not serviced to standard and am very sorry, I will address your comments and ensure that further training in maintaining our high standards is conducted. We very much look forward to welcoming you again – perhaps for your 31st anniversary!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.