We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Getaway Specials
Ranked #34 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very good, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I used to stay here quite regularly and it was good to be back. There are (still) many good points - the rooms are all suites and have kitchenettes and a dishwasher which is very handy if you got a little crazy at the Queen Vic Market or some similar place. The beds are comfortable, the televisions are a good size and there were two - one large screen in the 'main' are and a smaller one in the bedroom area. The marble bathrooms are a bit small but the shower head is nice and everything works fine. The pool area and sauna haven't changed much and were nice enough. Service at Reception and by Housekeeping was good.

But there was one thing.

Previous comments have referred to the Wifi pricing - as a heavy data user, it is what it is in hotels in Australia and New Zealand. But the signal kept cutting out exactly when you didn't want it to. Repeatedly. It was extremely frustrating and I almost went to Reception to demand a refund.

Apart from that, it was a good stay and I'd happily go back. But I think I might use someone else's wireless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear TITraveller,
Thank you for your review and for sharing the aspects and facilities of this hotel which made it so pleasant to be staying with us again. I am very sorry to read of the wi fi connection issues you experienced and certainly appreciate your frustration. I will certainly bring this to the attention of my IT Manager for his review and investigation. Whilst you are our guest please do not hesitate to contact a member of our team if they can assist in anyway, our aim is to make each and every stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    431
    155
    58
    39
See reviews for
174
525
67
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with wonderfully friendly staff. Rooms are a great size, though bathroom we had was a little small but had everything you needed. Harry's Bar had great cocktails! Anthony on the front desk was fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear LisaE0103,

I hope your shopping expedition was as equally pleasing as your choice of accommodation With a multitude of unique boutiques and high end shops on our doorstep, larger chain stores just a leisurely walk away and shopping precincts such as Chapel street and Bridge road only a short tram ride from the hotel - our location makes Stamford Plaza Melbourne the perfect base for any shopping trip Thank you for noting the fantastic service you received from Anthony. our staff strive to provide service that is exceptional at all times and I am thrilled you found this so. We hope to welcome you back soon – perhaps in time for some Christmas shopping!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Friendly staff, lovely atmosphere with no hassles. Not a huge room but very comfortable, the bed was incredibly comfy! We booked through a Wotif suprise deal and we we're really pleased with what we got. In a good spot, close to the theatres etc on little collins. No view from ours (looked onto an alley way) but we weren't overly fussed about this feature.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Raspberrybullet,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. You won’t have to take a gamble on a mystery deal again now that you’ve enjoyed a Stamford experience – the convenience of our location, comfort of our suites, value for money & high level of service ensures we can provide all that you’re looking for in a hotel stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and found the location perfect for all city activities. We had a corner suite which was a nice size and tastefully furnished. Staff are very pleasant. Would stay here again in the future. Harry's bar is great for a drink especially on Friday nights if you wear your red shoes which entitles you to free glass of Moet.
Bruce and Sue Morrison

Room Tip: Try and get a corner suite as they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear 631Sue007,
We’re thrilled to have exceeded your expectations in all areas on your recent stay – it sounds like you had a wonderful visit to Melbourne which was enhanced further by your choice of accommodation. I am so happy that you remembered to pack your red shoes! Along with our Red Shoe Friday promotion, we also offer happy hour prices in Harry’s between 5pm and 7pm every day of the week – which makes Harry’s the perfect spot for a drink after a long day of sight seeing or a busy day in the office.
We hope to welcome you again, next time you’re visiting Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

In an ideal location right behind Collins St and walking distance to virtually everything in CBD & Southbank.
Service was without fault as was the room decor and cleanliness.
Only issue was how dark the room was, given we didnt notice until Day 2 as we checked in after dark.
I guess being surrounded by buildings it isn't their fault but a bit of daylight wouldn't go astray....

Room Tip: If there is such a thing as a room with either a view or access to direct sunlight - ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear MickeyTraveller,
I am pleased you found our location convenient for your plans in Melbourne & appreciate you highlighting the impressive service you received. Due to our central city location natural light is sometimes limited in some areas of the hotel, however I am pleased this did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your stay and we hope you’ll be back to stay again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My prepaid credit card booking was not processed for over 5 weeks! When I complained to the General Manager that this was unacceptable, he did say sorry, but offered the excuse that their website didn't say how long it would take & actually told me to look on the bright side, cause I had saved on the interest. This is not exceptional 5 star 'luxury' hotel service. I was never offered any compensation for the distress, inconvenience or money this cost me. I was told the hotel had done nothing wrong. As the customer I disagree & would recommend you never stay there if you want a stress free holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear CatsLover45,
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to speak with me directly on this matter. It is disappointing that you chose not to stay with us at Stamford on this occasion as we were unable to extend our recognised welcome and courtesy’s to you. I would like to apologise once again for the delay in processing the charges to your credit card and I am pleased to let you know that as a result of your feedback we have since made amendments & improved this procedure.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful decor , Relaxing stay,very friendly staff. My husband has a physical disability and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, They were so helpful especially the middle age man on the front doorThere was nice piano music playing in the lounge foyer most of the time to set a relaxed mood.The Stamford Plaza Hotel is so convenient to everywhere you want to go in the city I would recommend it to any of my friends or colleagues thank you Stamford Plaza for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Marion-Juanita,
It was our absolute pleasure to ensure you and your husband enjoyed a memorable stay in Melbourne & at the Stamford Plaza. Our staff strive to provide the highest level of service and I am so proud to read that they excelled during your visit.
Thank you for your generous recommendation we greatly appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing visit.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.