We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, spacious room and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast + Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, spacious room and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a great hotel! Located in the heart of Melbourne and within easy access to attractions. transport, shops and parks.

The room was immaculate and spacious. The kitchenette was adequate, a microwave, kettle, bar fridge cutlery and cupboards. You can call reception and ask for a cooking pack which contains all the utensils you need to cook a meal as well as a hot plate etc The sofa was a nice bonus to sit on after exploring all day.

The bedroom had a window and a settee and the bedding was ample and clean. The bathroom was clean, though a little on the tiny side and some of the taps were showing signs of needing replacement. There was a vanity and storage cupboard located outside the bathroom which was handy though there was a huge crack on the marble behind the sink and this did take away from the feel a bit.

Staff were very helpful and the concierge were always happy to help with directions or recommend restaurants etc Housekeeping were also great, you can select a pillow that best suits you from their pillow range and they will bring it to your room.

The breakfast was nice, we didn't have the buffet we ordered from the menu but it was great quality.

You can arrange to have the paper delivered to your door each morning which was a nice touch.

The pool was good as was the gym and laundry room.

Staying here was lovely and felt a bit 'posh'.

Room Tip: If you opt not to have your room cleaned daily, you receive $10 off your food/drink bill. Simply pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear daisygirltravels.
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the luxury of our hotel and left feeling pampered and well looked after. We are very proud to have delivered all you were looking for in a Melbourne hotel. Our team of staff across all departments do a wonderful job of going above and beyond to ensure our guests a great stay and they will be so proud to read your compliments. We hope to welcome you again for more of the same next time you are in Melbourne
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    602
    200
    78
    48
See reviews for
244
676
88
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had the great pleasure to dine at Harry's restaurant on there pre-theatre menu whilst in Melbourne. The decor and ambiance is outstanding ,the selected menu by chef Ketan Seth was divine, the presentation, texture , flavours and freshness of the dishes were to die for, together with the excellent service made for a truly memorable evening. This is an impressive restaurant on Little Collins street within the Stamford Plaza hotel which is close to the CBD. So when next in Melbourne please make the effort to visit it's well worth it as it will be the first port of call when we return to the capital of food in Australia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear QueenslandTommy,
With our location in such close proximity to the best of Melbourne’s theatres, Harry’s Restaurant makes the perfect spot for some pre-theatre dining. We’re pleased to have started your evening off so positively and greatly appreciate your high praise. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again for dinner & perhaps you can stay too!

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Although my wife and I have previously stayed at this hotel, I booked for one night through "wotif mystery deals" and was fortunate to find that our accommodation was at the Stamford Plaza at a much reduced rate. On arrival, we were upgraded to a deluxe suite which was a very pleasant and comfortable room with all amenities "plus" including an internal balcony overlooking Harry's bar and restaurant. The room was extremely well appointed and the reception staff were obliging and courteous. Harry's bar is a great place for a relaxing drink before venturing out for dinner. A very quiet and relaxing place to stay in the Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear libbyanne,
Our aim is to always be competitive in our pricing while maintaining the highest standards in service and quality. I am thrilled to know that you were excited for your return visit and that we were able to succeed in providing you with another memorable stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our third stay here over the last 6 years or so, and it did not disappoint. As Sydneysiders, we love staying in the Melbourne CBD, but without necessarily having to shell out wads of money for breakfast. So an apartment hotel like this is ideal. Granted, valet parking is an eye-watering $45 per day (what price is convenience?), and the hotel has had other high rise buildings spring up around it, so you don't get a great view (nothing you can do about that)- but it is very clean, the decor is very attractive, and the service was overall very good this time. We asked for a quiet room, and got one. No hesitation in coming back here!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Barbara M,
Thank you for your support and loyalty, we really love welcoming back long term friends of the hotel. As you have mentioned the kitchenettes in our suites are very convenient and certainly add to that “home away from home” feeling. We’re proud to have provided you with yet another enjoyable stay and don’t forget when you’re planning your next trip that every Friday in Harry’s Bar is Red Shoes Friday – wear your most glam pair of red shoes and your first glass of Moet & Chandon is free – it’s the perfect way to start the weekend.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We first stayed here last December (2012) after disembarking from our cruise. We wanted to have a 5star hotel experience to end of a memorable cruise. We certainly found the hotel at the Stamford Plaza. From the professional courtesy extended by the staff at Reception, the Concierge, room staff and Harry's Bar. We couldn't fault it! The room was great. One of the most comfortable beds we've slept on. And mind you I have slept on a lot as I travel extensively! When I do I do like a nice quiet well located accommodation. I was glad we took up the offer of a $1 breakfast deal in Harry's Bar. Wow - lovely setting directly opposite the hotel. Nothing was too much problem and there was an extensive choice!
Our 2nd stay was at the end of July. We flew in and arrived early. Concierge held our bags in security until our room was ready and we received a phone call as we were taking in the sights of Can't beat that! We don't normally sleep in. However, our earliest night was about midnight. Each morning we woke up at about 7.30am! That is late for us. The bed is just that comfortable. The curtains kept the room nice and dark so there was no intrusive light. Noise was not a problem. All in all this hotel meets our expectations and it is a pleasure to stay there. I truly believe that if anyone finds fault with this hotel then their standards are too lofty! We left some clothes in the closet after we checked out. We didn't realise this until we were on the return flight home. We rang the hotel and they posted it back to us. That was very much appreciated! Next time we're in Melbourne on a weekend away, business or a holiday we will definitely stay at the Stamford. We were in Room 1405. Keep up the good work and thanks to all who work there. See you again sometime!

Room Tip: Room 1405 is great value! No noise from the street, other rooms or lifts. Great bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Ausguy42,
Another fantastic effort from the crew at Stamford Plaza Melbourne! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in such a positive light. We’re thrilled to have had the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay & another rejuvenating sleep. We’re thrilled to know you’ll be back again when you next visit Melbourne – we look forward to it.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. Very comfortable wasn't noisy at all for us. Love that part of the city in Melbourne with all the little shops. Everything is very close. Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: stay in the suites... room numbers that end in a 13 or a 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear denise r,
We can certainly deliver a luxurious break with our well appointed suites and professional service. Our central city location with no shortage of shops, galleries, attractions and restaurants nearby, means your choices for entertainment are varied & easy to get to. Thanks for noting our fabulous pillow menu, there's a pillow to suit everyone!
We look forward to welcoming you back for another great sleep and fabulous stay in the near future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed in the three bedroom suite with seven girlfriends and had a fantastic time. We only stayed for one night unfortunately as that wasn't long enough. The suite had 3 bathrooms and 5 televisions! Great location and service! Will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear price11_13,
What a great way to spend some quality time with your girlfriends, it sounds like a fabulous night was had by all. I am so happy we were able to provide you with the total package experience that every guest deserves and we look forward to providing you more of the same on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.9 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.8 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.