We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice For Melbourne CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver $1 Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A Good Choice For Melbourne CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As can be seen by the majority of reviews the Stamford Plaza is a hotel of a good quality where you are unlikely to go away being disappointed. I stayed as part of a business trip as one person and had what I think is referred to as a studio room. I found the room good overall with a separate bedroom and separate lounge. It may just be me but I found the width of the room slightly on the smaller size and I would have liked a little more space. Having said that, on arrival the reception staff asked and offered me either a room on a low floor or a high floor. Fittings and cleaning were of a good quality. I had restful sleeps at the Stamford and did not find the hotel noisy at all. The hotel has an interesting design feature in so far that from any level of the hotel you can look over the side of the balustrades and look straight down to the ground floor from any level. I found myself hugging the walls a bit and if you are a family with younger children, you would be wise to keep an eye on them. All in all a good choice of hotel for the Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear tranzactnow,
I am pleased we were able to offer you comfort and convenience for your business trip and that you were impressed by the service provided. Our atrium & glass lifts are certainly a memorable feature and make for a very impressive arrival. Thank you for your valuable recommendation, and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    463
    162
    60
    41
See reviews for
185
557
71
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superbly located just off the Paris end of Collins street. The one bedroom suites are a good size for two and the beds really comfortable. I didn't find the room particularly quiet though - we were located directly adjacent to the lift and could hear it going up and down when we were in the room. Street noise is also audible so I am guessing the windows are not double glazed. This was a bit of a disappointment in an otherwise good stay - particularly as I had requested a quiet room. Never mind. The room was clean, well appointed (if not exactly to my taste) and ear plugs come in handy at times. There were some quirks in getting the heating/air conditioning adjusted but once I found the instructions (via the hotel service directory - which is on channel 0 on the TV) all was well. Staff were courteous and professional and I have to send a special thanks to the chef who cooked the most PERFECT salmon steak I have had in a very long time - maybe ever - beautifully moist and yummy. One of the staff had organised that it be gluten free which was fabulous - unfortunately I didn't have the same luck in their cafe - Harry's Bar the next day when the waitress was less then friendly or accommodating when I asked about my options. Having said that this was the only incident of less then stellar service. All my other interactions were impeccable. A good stay my primary disappointment being the noise. Jury is out on whether I would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MiniMoo Too,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for highlighting the fantastic meal you enjoyed. I apologise that this was slightly marred when your request for gluten free options in Harry’s Bar was not received in a positive manner. I will ensure follow up is conducted and further training regarding dietary options is carried out with our staff. We would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again, when you are next travelling to Melbourne please feel free to contact me on karlunterfrauner@spm.stamford.com.au or on 03 9659 1178 so I may ensure you are allocated a quiet room that is located on a high floor and away from the lifts. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter on a quick shopping and theatre trip. The Stamford is my favourite Melbourne hotel at the moment and I have stayed here 5 times in the past couple of years. It has everything I want. Close proximity (5 minutes walk) to shops, theatres, restaurants, Federation Square and South Bank make it very convenient for a short stay. The service is impeccable and the buffet breakfast which is often included in the tariff, sets me up for the day. The rooms are spacious and clean with the added advantage of having a kitchenette. Price wise, The Stamford is often cheaper than similar Melbourne hotels but with absolutely no compromises on service or quality of stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Baskingshark8,
We’re thrilled to be your number one pick for accommodation in Melbourne and it is our pleasure to offer all that you are looking for in a hotel. We aim to provide superior service and facilities and great value for money, I am glad you found each of these during your stay. We greatly appreciate your return custom and we look forward to visit number 6!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at the Stamford Plaza for 4 nights last month as a central base to visit friends and relatives in Melbourne. The room was very spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. To get beyond the first floor using the lifts you need your room key, which we were not told about when checking in but eventually figured it out after a couple of false starts and a few laughs. Upon hearing about hearing about another earthquake in NZ while at the front desk, the staff went onto the internet to update us on the latest news. Very helpful to put our minds at ease for the rest of our break – Thank you (it was the first time we had not taken a laptop away with us). The hotel is very conveniently placed to visit the CBD and to catch a tram to other areas of Melbourne. We had tickets to a show at the Regent Theatre and found that the theatre was only a couple of blocks away, easy walking distance.
Would certainly consider the Stamford Plaza on our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Colin255118,
Thanks for sharing so many of the positive aspects of your stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am proud to read that the actions of our staff were able to put your mind at rest . The genuine warmth and thoughtful hospitality provided by our staff is certainly to be applauded and I appreciate you sharing this experience. I hope you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed at the Stamford plaza for 4 nights and was amazingly surprised with the attention to detail.
have stayed at the best hotels around the world and found that the Stamford plaza exceeded all expectations.
any questions I had the front desk were more than happy to answer.
looking forward to my next visit.
would recommend to family and friends

Room Tip: even entry level rooms are more than satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear adam s,
Our staff are extremely professional as well as being friendly and are always happy to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s needs. Thanks for your recommendation, I’m delighted you enjoyed all we have to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Had the great fortune to be upgraded from the one bedroom twin suite to the two bedroom on our recent stay. Sensational! So much so, our plans for going for a walk and out for dinner before P!nks concert were soon changed. Instead we took our time getting ready, each in our own lovely bathroom and then took advantage of the mini bar and room service. Meals were delivered quite promptly and were delicious and well priced. Lovely staff on reception and valet, really thrilled with the service and the room was beautiful. Will be returning without a doubt.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear henrysbits,

I hope you enjoyed the concert! Stamford Plaza Melbourne provides easy access to all cbd venues and I pleased we were able to start your night off with a little extra luxury & indulgence. We really appreciate your glowing review and look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We both travel for work and I don't usually stay here but we wanted a bit more space than a standard hotel room.

Room was clean and well stocked.

Room maintenance Friday morning was a bit hit & miss, with the bed looking like a small child made it.

Overall very good.

Room Tip: Insist that you are not facing the Nauru House side of the hotel, as there is a nightclub/bar backin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear EmKaLo,
Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to accommodate you on your recent weekend away. Having the extra space of suite makes all the difference & creates a sense of your very own “home away from home”. I am disappointed to read that your bed was not made to the standard expected and will certainly ensure that further training is conducted with our staff. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that whether you are travelling for business or leisure that we will get the chance to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.