We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Getaway Specials
Ranked #34 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed another Melbourne weekend at the Stamford Plaza. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room, a studio suite, was comfortable and spacious enough for a 2 night stay. As usual with an inner city hotel there was a little street noise but nothing too outrageous. A great location for the shops and the theatre or symphony, all a pleasant stroll away.
Our only negative was the rather dull continental breakfast options. The cereals on offer were all for children unless you like Bircher muesli ( I don't).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sue K,
It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your return stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, I am glad you found our accommodation comfortable and our service to be of an exceptional standard. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the cereal options available on our breakfast buffet, this has been well received and I will certainly discuss your feedback fwith our Executive Chef. We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to welcome you back to your “home away from home”.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    422
    153
    58
    39
See reviews for
173
520
67
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the moment we made our reservation to the time we checked out the Stamford staff were friendly, obliging and could not do enough for us. The facilities are excellent the room was whisper quiet and very comfortable. We felt like VIP's. The hotel is centrally located and is a short walk to all attractions. While the hotel is certainly beautiful, what we will remember most is the excellent customer service we received from beginning to end. The Stamford Plaza Melbourne should be proud of its staff as it is second to none!! I would highly recommend this hotel and I am looking very forward to our next stay. We loved it and could not fault this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor and found it to be very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear lee B,
Thank you so much for your compliments regarding the high level of service you received throughout your stay. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful hotel in a fantastic location, however it is our friendly & professional staff that make the difference between a good stay and an exceptional stay for our guests. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again for more of the same Stamford service in the future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was our first time ever to Melbourne and I had no idea where to stay. The Stamford Plaza was an excellent choice (thank goodness) as it was certainly worthy of 5 Star and was in a fabulous position, close to everything. We asked if we could be close to the pool for the kids, so they put us on the same floor as the pool and gym which happens to be the top floor, unreal! Our apartment had two floors, king bedroom with enormous en-suite upstairs, also a study, whilst downstairs was the queen bedroom with en-suite, lounge room, full kitchen, dining area and another toilet. Was lovely to come home after a big day and spread out, everyone had a nice spot to relax. A couple of minor things were one of the two hairdryers only blew cold air and the dishwasher got stuck on a wash cycle. We rang housekeeping and they came immediately to fix the problem. We also needed some help putting together some of the kids toys (we needed a screwdriver). I felt a little embarrassed ringing the concierge at 7.30pm with our dilemma but it was no trouble and a lovely man from maintenance came up and fixed the problem much to our kids delight!
The linen was lovely, the daily housekeeping was perfect even to the extent of making a special little bed for my sons teddy and the concierge was so helpful, gave us great advice of where to find comic book and anime shops.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear GoldCoastRina,
I am so pleased we were able to assist in making your first visit to Melbourne such a memorable stay for you and your family. Children and adults love our roof top swimming pool and I am pleased that we were able to meet your request for a room close by. I am sorry to read that you had a few maintenance issues but thank you for noting that they were quickly resolved once brought to our attention. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to warmly welcoming you for your second stay.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights in Melbourne staying at the Stamford Plaza. From the moment we got out of our taxi we were impressed with the customer service of all staff that we met. This continued until we got into our taxi on the morning we left. At all times the staff were engaging and interested. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite on the 16th floor - it was huge and with one room/bathroom and study nook being upstairs was ideal for 2 couples to have separate space. The hotel is situated in the middle of all the attractions and weather permitting we walked everywhere. We were really impressed with the hotel and would definitely stay again - no negatives. Thanks Stamford Plaza for a happy family time away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear AllyCHCH,
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed such a wonderful visit to Melbourne which was enhanced further by your choice of accommodation. The space & privacy that our two bedroom suites offer make them a wonderful option when travelling with friends or family. Thank you for highlighting the convenience of our location to all that this great city has to offer too, we hope to welcome you and your family back to Melbourne & the Stamford Plaza in the near future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza for 5 nights and although the rooms were a bit dark due to the location,being down a small side street, they are all you need if you are here for a short break.They offer a lot more space than a hotel room and some additional amenities. Overall facilities are good, gym is far better equipped than most hotel gyms and the pool and spa are clean but could do with a bit of a renovation. Couple of down sides I found were there are no opening windows (not a lot can be changed with this) so getting fresh air into the room is a bit of a challenge and they do need to be equipped with a few more plates,glasses,cutlery etc.The reception staff were fantastic.We didn't have any major issues when we were there, and when we asked for a place to go for dinner they had great knowledge and really pointed us in the right direction. The cleaning staff were also very good. I would recommend this hotel to any who is after an apartment style room with a bit of luxury but would not recommend if you are after a top 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Hayden16,

Thank you kindly for your positive review and for sharing your experience with the greater Tripadvisor community. The extra space along with the luxury of a separate lounge and bedroom area certainly makes for a comfortable space. I am pleased to read that you were impressed with our facility especially our recently refurbished gym area, it makes it easy to keep up with your fitness program when away from home. Thank you also for highlighting the fantastic service you received across the board from our staff, they continuously strive to surprise and delight at all times. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our first visit to Melbourne & just returned after a 5 night stint, service was excellent. Staff very friendly & ready to attend our every need. Everything close by, good 10 min walk to Vic market & Lygon St to name a few - great location to endless eateries, shopping & public transport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jonaje,
I am thrilled that you have left with such fond memories of your wonderful stay and this fantastic city. It sounds like your days were filled with exploring all that Melbourne has to offer, which of course is so easy from our fantastic location. Thank you also for noting the friendly service you received from our staff, they will be very proud to read your comments. We really appreciate you sharing your positive experience and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff were really helpful and friendly, we were given a free upgrade to a King suite which was fantastic (thanks guys) Room was deluxe! We made use of the swimming pool and spa which was beautiful and clean, so relaxing. Would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Winkledog,
We’re thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay & found our deluxe suites very much to your liking. A swim in our heated pool or a soak in the spa is a refreshing way to cap off a busy day’s sightseeing in Melbourne. It was our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to welcoming you again for another great stay.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.