We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, fantastic staff, touch up here and there, would recommend to most” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver $1 Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
1 review
“Enjoyable stay, fantastic staff, touch up here and there, would recommend to most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza for 5 nights and although the rooms were a bit dark due to the location,being down a small side street, they are all you need if you are here for a short break.They offer a lot more space than a hotel room and some additional amenities. Overall facilities are good, gym is far better equipped than most hotel gyms and the pool and spa are clean but could do with a bit of a renovation. Couple of down sides I found were there are no opening windows (not a lot can be changed with this) so getting fresh air into the room is a bit of a challenge and they do need to be equipped with a few more plates,glasses,cutlery etc.The reception staff were fantastic.We didn't have any major issues when we were there, and when we asked for a place to go for dinner they had great knowledge and really pointed us in the right direction. The cleaning staff were also very good. I would recommend this hotel to any who is after an apartment style room with a bit of luxury but would not recommend if you are after a top 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Hayden16,

Thank you kindly for your positive review and for sharing your experience with the greater Tripadvisor community. The extra space along with the luxury of a separate lounge and bedroom area certainly makes for a comfortable space. I am pleased to read that you were impressed with our facility especially our recently refurbished gym area, it makes it easy to keep up with your fitness program when away from home. Thank you also for highlighting the fantastic service you received across the board from our staff, they continuously strive to surprise and delight at all times. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    463
    162
    60
    41
See reviews for
185
557
71
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our first visit to Melbourne & just returned after a 5 night stint, service was excellent. Staff very friendly & ready to attend our every need. Everything close by, good 10 min walk to Vic market & Lygon St to name a few - great location to endless eateries, shopping & public transport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jonaje,
I am thrilled that you have left with such fond memories of your wonderful stay and this fantastic city. It sounds like your days were filled with exploring all that Melbourne has to offer, which of course is so easy from our fantastic location. Thank you also for noting the friendly service you received from our staff, they will be very proud to read your comments. We really appreciate you sharing your positive experience and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff were really helpful and friendly, we were given a free upgrade to a King suite which was fantastic (thanks guys) Room was deluxe! We made use of the swimming pool and spa which was beautiful and clean, so relaxing. Would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Winkledog,
We’re thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay & found our deluxe suites very much to your liking. A swim in our heated pool or a soak in the spa is a refreshing way to cap off a busy day’s sightseeing in Melbourne. It was our pleasure to look after you and we look forward to welcoming you again for another great stay.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

A friendly welcome on arrival, a complimentary upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite, a great meal at Harrys restaurant, all made for a very pleasant stay. Couldn't fault anything. Will definitely stay at the Stamford Plaza when next in Melbourne!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Robyn2594,
From your arrival through to your departure we aim to surprise and delight & it certainly sounds like we achieved this perfectly during your stay. It was our pleasure to introduce you to the high quality of service and facilities of a Stamford Property and we can’t wait for your next visit to Melbourne, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Poor overall facilities within apartment/suite. Kitchen did not cater for three adults as in not enough plates/cups. Kitchen fridge completely full of hotel booze and no room for own groceries etc ( the management obviously unaware that people book apartments/suites/kitchen facillities for a reason) the whole apartment dark & gloomily, one could not tell if the sun was out unless you jacked your neck upwards out of the window towards the sky. Wifi was a joke, $90 dollars for a week which was hit and miss (free on the sands of Bondi beach!!!!!).
Hotel bar poorly run and staff scruffy and miserable. Reception staff unhelpful
The only bonus of staying at the Plaza is the location, but this does not out way any desire we have to return and we would definitely not recommend staying here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear JulesOnTour,
Our guests’ complete satisfaction is of prime concern to us and as such we are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. I am most disappointed that you found our staff to be unhelpful and unenthusiastic as we usually receive such positive feedback regarding the service they provide. Had we been aware of these inconveniences during your stay we would have done our utmost to provide a resolution for you, by way of removing the minibar items or subject to availability arranging a change of room. If you should happen to reconsider and would like to return please feel free to contact me on karlunterfrauner@spm.com.au or on 03 9659 1178 so I may oversee your arrangements & assist in ensuring your stay meets your needs in all areas.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the third or fourth time my partner and I have stayed here. We stayed for a weekend.

The location is perfect. Close to restaurants, Chinatown, pubs, shopping and trams.

The rooms are incredibly comfortable and well proportioned.

My sleep, unfortunately was very uncomfortable due to the pillows. I woke the first morning with a sore neck and headache because the pillow was too big. I asked for a thinner pillow and was directed to the pillow menu. There is not a single "thin" pillow on the menu. I wasn't looking for a wafer thin pillow, just something a little smaller and softer then what was on offer. I ended up with a headache the whole weekend because my sleep was so poor.

Having said that, my partner had no complaints about the pillows, it was just me. It was, unfortunately, probably enough for us to try a different hotel next time we are there.

We were also woken around 8am on Sunday morning by a noise. My only guess is that was was the jacuzzi in the room above as it seemed to come from the bathroom.

Also, after housekeeping tidied our room after the first night, we were left with only one bathrobe which was a mild inconvenience.

The hotel is lovely, the rooms beautiful and service fantastic - unfortunately the lack of comfortable sleep was an issue for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Mikaila D,

Thank you for your loyalty to this hotel, we love to welcome back members of the Stamford family. I’m really sorry to read of your uncomfortable sleep on this occasion and that our pillow menu did not offer a suitable alternative for you. We’d be very grateful for the opportunity to welcome you back & will certainly note your preference for a thin pillow for your future stays. I'd be more than happy to also oversee your booking to ensure all is in order prior to your arrival,
do not hesitate to contact me on karlunterfrauner@spm.stamford.com.au or 03 9659 1178 so I may assist.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in the Stamford chain and we cannot fault the service. The staff in particular really go above and beyond to make your stay great. We ate in the restaurant for dinner one night and whilst it was a little pricey, it was delicious and the staff were very friendly.
The rooms are grand and in great condition, very comforting, quiet and relaxing. It was a shame we were only here for one night.

I would not hesitate to recommend Stamford Plaza Melbourne to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mark S,
Thank you for your praising review of your recent stay & for your loyalty towards the Stamford brand. Guaranteed friendly & professional service as well as comfortable, well appointed rooms in each and every one of our properties allows for peace of mind when booking your stay for business or leisure. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.