We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place ........but.........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Getaway Specials
Ranked #34 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
jamshedpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place ........but.........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed in stamford plaza at the little collins street for 5 nights . A nice hotel -- located in a very in the center of the city with good approach to everywhere . The rooms are more like small suites with a sit out and a cozy bed -- and the bathroom has a inbuilt jacuzzi!!! but they dont provide a load of things which we take granted for a 5 star. No dental kit , no shaving kit and no complmentary water .So people travelling are advised to carry these , as some of us are not used to - especially who travel regularly .
But overall it was a nice place and the service was execellent

Room Tip: Go as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear docinjsr,
I am so pleased that you found our hotel comfortable and convenient for your stay in Melbourne. It really makes a difference on longer stays to have the additional space & facilities provided by our suites. On your next visit if you find you have forgotten your toothbrush, we certainly have amenities such as these available on request from our Concierge. Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    431
    155
    58
    39
See reviews for
174
525
67
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Monash22's review is spot on , and I would stay here again on the strength of the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff alone . Nothing was too much trouble, and you got the impression that it was a good place to work because everyone seemed happy to be there. As to location I think it is fine - away from the grit of Swanston and Elizabeth streets - close to the better end of Collins St and cool places in Flinders Lane - see Cin Cin and Cumulus Inc .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear KieranMcC,

We really appreciate your positive sentiments and are so pleased that your stay met the expectation set by previous trip advisor posts. We are lucky to have such a fantastic team and as you have mentioned their pride in this hotel certainly shines through. We’re very happy to welcome you to the Stamford family and we hope we can welcome you back warmly soon.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I love this hotel - it is not the sharpest, the newest, or the best located in town. It has no views, and despite a recent upgrade, some elements feel a little old and tired (bath fittings, some floor tiling, not too many power plugs and not where you want them etc). But its like a pair of really well worn in shoes - familiar, comfortable and a 'go to' when you want things predictable. The suites are generous and well thought out. The details are all there - a pillow menu, good/great beds, good cleaning, a well stocked bar (expensive but not outrageous). All the five star bits are there - robes, slippers, an iron that works, an ironing board that works. Super comfy, new couch. Chaise in the bay window. Good up front service. Good downstairs bar, and good happy hour prices. This is a fine hotel, where the staff and management try hard, and they make the best of what they have.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a 'view' but this means they are generally quieter than some - if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear monash22,
Thank you so much for highlighting the reasons why Stamford Plaza is your number one pick for accommodation in Melbourne. We always hope to give our guests an experience that leaves them with the impression you have & appreciate that you have shared your experience with your fellow tripadvisor's. We hope you’ll be back for more of the same reliable service and another enjoyable stay very soon – we look forward to it.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2013, taking advantage of the buffet breakfast inclusive option, and valet parking.
Upon booking I requested a portacot and a room on the higher floors as we had a 3 yr old and an 18 month old- imperative for my own sanity that they be able to sleep without noise from the lower floors (as stated in other reviews on tripadvisor).
We were not disappointed, as the portacot was already set up in our room when we arrived, we were on the 12th floor, and as they knew we had children but did not want an adjoining room- we had 2 double beds, plus an area with kitchenette, sofa and dining table. There were also 2 tv's in our room- to either view from the sofa, or from in bed. Handy depending in which area the kids were asleep, as could buffer the noise from one area to the other and meant we didn't have to sit silently in the dark when the kids were sleeping. My only criticism would be that the beds were double beds (would have been nicer if at least one was queen sized). And the portacot base was so hard, we had to use the spare blanket from in the cupboard to make it softer for the baby.

Although we were on the 12th floor, there was still noise from the street that could be heard at all hours of the night and morning (rubbish trucks, trucks reversing, people yelling to friends). Although it could be heard, it was not obtrusive and wouldn't have woken you up. Just seemed there was not any double glazing on the windows?

The buffet breakfast was great, the staff were helpful in getting highchairs, coffee for us every morning, and they also offered babycino's for the kids which was special for them.

Valet parking and concierge staff were great, helping with any inquiries about tollways, public transport/trams and routes. Adam was friendly and happy to help us at both checkin and checkout.

We used the pool one night and were surprised that for the middle of winter, it was incredibly warm- although in contrast the spa seemed a bit cool? Great facilities though.

Our bill had some mistakes in it regarding incorrect rates and charges- this was eventually sorted out, but for a few minutes there seemed nobody knew what was going on. I would recommend reading the accounts thoroughly and questioning any incorrect rates, as was met with a little opposition, despite that the Stamfords own website booking had the correct rates I was expecting and I had to refer them back to check that.

We accidentally left an item in the room when we checked out (my daughter told us 10 minutes after we left that she had hidden it in a special place), and we phoned the hotel, headed back and collected it promptly. 12 hours later we realised we had left other items in a drawer in the room- a phonecall to speak to housekeeping saw them happily help make arrangements for the goods to be posted back to us. Very happy with their cooperation.

Would come here again- friendly service and assistance, great breakfast, and clean rooms. Yes, some decor (I particular the bathroom) was a few years dated and showing signs that we were not the first visitors to this room- but it was still cleaner than my own bathroom so not complaining!

Room Tip: Higher floors minimise street noise, and a family with young children would be suited to a twin room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Narellech,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and informative review of your recent stay. I am sorry to read that there were a few slips in what was a generally a great stay, but pleased that our staff were able to remedy any issues efficiently and to your satisfaction. I greatly appreciate your feedback on these matters and it will certainly be taken on board as comments such as yours help us to identify areas of improvement within our service. We hope your family has lots of fond memories from your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you all back again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Stamford, this was our second visit and we found it to be even better this time around, the staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The only criticism would be on entry to our room it was very cold and dark, however once we adjusted the heating we felt right at home. We ordered room service for dinner and could not fault it, it was better than going out to a restaurant and the food was delicious!! We hope to stay again in the near future! A big thumbs up to the Stamford

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Robofugi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay & for rating us so highly. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay and we’re so proud that you have chosen us as your number one hotel when in Melbourne. Thank you also for your compliments on your room service dinner; delicious meals, spacious suites and all the comforts of a 5 star property, I can understand why you found it difficult to leave. We look forward to welcoming you back for stay number three!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfranuer
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Title says it all.

Good location. No parking available. Parking in the vicinity is ridiculously expensive, as it is every where in Melbourne CBD. Rooms need updating. We had what they call a "suite". It is not what I would call a "suite". There is no separate bedroom, bed is open to kitchenette and sofa.

Seasons Botanic Hotel in St Kilda Rd, opposite Shrine, much better value. Better rooms, much better view, cheap parking, even cheaper on-street (4 hour limit during business hours, but free overnight), easy walk or tram ride to CBD.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear winemakerAl,

I am disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and that your suite was not to your liking. Most of our suites do offer a partition door separating the lounge & bedroom area and I am sorry for the disappointment you experienced in not being allocated this configuration. We also offer a competitively priced valet service for guests who drive to Melbourne and require parking. If you grant us another opportunity to accommodate you please feel free to contact me on karlunterfrauner@spm.stamford.com.au or 03 9659 1178 so I may ensure you are allocated a suite which covers all of your requirements. I do hope we can welcome you again and show that we are capable of exceeding your expectations..
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfranuer
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Stamford several times this year on weekends in Melbourne and in transit from WA and other mainland destinations. The accommodation is very central for our interests and the staff are very pleasant. The rooms are spacious and housekeeping always make an extra effort. This last trip was very busy and though we checked the room three times before leaving I left my favourite world traveled camera behind. I quick call when we got home located the camera in housekeeping and it was back with us by the next Friday. Well done and your demonstration of good service makes the stays just that extra bit nicer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Usa4July2011,
It was our pleasure to provide you with another quality stay at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne and we are equally happy to have reunited you with your beloved camera. It’s great to read that you find our location convenient; however it is the fact that it is our friendly & professional service that keeps you coming back again and again that makes me so proud. Thanks for your lovely review & we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfranuer
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.