We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just finished a business trip to Melbourne and stayed at the Stamford for the first time (on previous trips have stayed at the Novotel). I stayed on the 7th floor in the East Tower away from the lift.

It was a nice experience with friendly staff and pleasant service. I do not feel that this really is a '5 star' hotel, more like 4 star. The hotel has the old world business travel charm to it with the classical lobby music and room features etc. but it was the quality of these features that let it down a little bit.

Whilst attractive, the room features weren't in top condition with a few chips in the paint, on the doors, old ironing board etc. The bathrobes provided also felt a bit old (overwashed and not fresh). The duvet was also not in an acutal cover, but layered between sheets. These didn't really bother me, but these sort of things should be seamless (in my humble opinion) to be classified as 5 star.

Breakfast was easy and convenient, but if you have the time, would recommend dining somewhere else on Collins Street for something more cost appropriate.

If you're looking for a real 5 star experience then I would recommend you try another hotel, but for a comfortable business trip, then this hotel ticks all the cards (location, timely check in and check out services, helpful service, etc.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Holiday Daydreamer,
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding the facilities of the hotel. Your comments have been discussed with the our Executive team to further enhance our product. The location of our hotel is very accessible to all what Melbourne has to offer, next time your in Melbourne for business you might like to take advantage of our Business Saver Upgrade Package which has many inclusions valued by business travelers.
Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Melbourne in the near future.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    642
    212
    86
    49
See reviews for
264
730
92
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Myself and 2 friends booked a room for a 'girls night out'. We had a room with two single beds and one 'trundle' bed. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and spacious. The location was excellent, within a short walk to restaurants, bars,... and of cause Melbourne's excellent shopping!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear shelly_8181,
A night away in a luxury hotel is a wonderful way to catch up with your girlfriend’s and with no shortage of shops, restaurants and bars nearby, you're guaranteed a great time. I’m thrilled that we were able to please in all areas of your recent stay. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional service to our guests and always strive to exceed their expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I organized the romance and seduction package to propose to my fiance`. It was worth it. The room was great the package fantastic. The staff are excellent and the location is at the best end of melbourne. The room was a great design with a very comfortable bed, kitchen, spa bath and great shower. I would recommend the hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear bwaite62,
It’s great that you were able to take advantage of our Romance and Seduction package which was a success and I’m so pleased to hear that we were able to go beyond your expectations through our fantastic facilities and attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay in the near future.
Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I always enjoy my stay at the Stamford. Great rooms, plenty of space. Very comfortable beds, pleasant front desk staff and a good location.

Highly recommend this hotel. I can't fault it.

The l'occitane toiletries are very nice and they often give upgrades as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Karina1912,

I’m thrilled that we were able to please in all areas of your recent stay. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to our guests and always strive to exceed their expectation. I know the team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are not going unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night over labour day long weekend. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe room whIch was lovely and spacious. There was no view out our window but u have to expect that in the heart of the city with all other surrounding buildings.
We had no towels in our room and had to ring for them, and there was an empty shoe box behind the curtian that hadnt been picked up by the cleaners. These things dont usually happen in 5 star hotels, i would say this is more 4.5 star. Although we got a great deal of $202 night inc bfast, which is a steal for the heart of the CBD.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear bree_25,
I am very disappointed to hear of the servicing issues you experienced upon your arrival, please accept my apology for this slip in service. You are right that these things do not happen in 5 star hotels and this is certainly not the standard you should expect from this property either. On a more positive note it’s really great to read that you found your suite to your liking and were impressed by our location and value for money. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a delightful Hotel. Location was great for airport shuttle, walking to and from trams, shopping, restaurants, gardens. Very confortable apartments rooms. 1 Bedroom was very spacious for 2 pers. 2 TV's, saperate shower and loo from vanity area (clever idea for gettign ready time ), Kitchen was enough for us. Mini bar fridge still held 2 bottles of champers and 1 extra. Desk and very comfy lounge, bed and dining table and chairs. I would definitley stay again. "Wots" more we got a mysetry deal for this ... i was delighted as i had wanted to stay here for some time. Breaky was ok but i would eat out for the price... Harry's Bar was great and the 2 for one card we got a nice addition. Nice atmosphere in the bar after work. Foyer staff all seemed very helpful to me and doorman and gents in the foyer helped at every opportunity. Although my travel companion had a fall in the bath, the Duty Manager seemed caring enough to follow up (btw, you DO have rubber mats for the bath in case you are asked again - i received a follow up on my survey when i mentioned it - impressed with another helpful and caring followup we dont often get these days).
Over all i think this is one of the hidden gems in Melbourne and i have stayed in lots of properties there.
I didnt get to try the pool or spa, but imagine they would be of equal standard to the rest of the hotel.
I asked for a higher level as per some of the reviews (for noise). I am a light sleeper and apart from a builing alarm going off, i found it very good. I was in 1519. An excellent room!

Thanks for a great 4 days - will see you again.

Room Tip: JUst check they take your "green" credit off for each day you leave it on your pillow ( no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear JPDouwnunder,
Thank you for such a lovely review, it’s wonderful to hear that you finally had the opportunity to stay with us and we are all thrilled that we more than met your expectations. Once again I am sorry to hear of your travel companion’s fall. There's no need to take a chance on a mystery deal again, feel free to check out our website or contact our friendly reservations team who will be more than happy to assist you with your next reservation

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossvale
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

after a hetic drive its a complete night mare driving around cbd trams,bikes,cars,people.But anyway we found little collins st .Valet parking was great very friendly team as is front desk. We were in the tower across the laneway which had the resturant .We stayed in room 1017. The rooms are quite roomy with the full kitchen,table,lounge 2 tv's, air con is good,foxtel the bathroom is on the small side but has everything you need.Had breakfast in the resturant which was really good so much to choose from would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mossvale,
I can appreciate your relief at handing over the keys to our valet team. Although we can’t help with the peak time traffic, we can certainly take the stress out of finding a car park; I’m pleased you found our service efficient and convenient. It sounds like all round you had a great stay, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.9 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#7 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.