We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% + Free WIFI
Ranked #34 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Met all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, with friendly and attentive staff.
The rooms are well appointed, clean and fresh.
No request was overlooked by the staff - room service was excellent, with custom menu choices being made available after hours on request!
My only (very minor) gripe was that the second key for the room wasn't activated - a very very minor mistake that didn't impact on the overall enjoyment of the stay.
The Spa is only a bathtub spa, but that was as described in the description.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear AndyMc_Dnaught,
I’m thrilled that we were able to please in all areas of your recent stay. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional service to our guests and always strive to exceed their expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay in the near future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    439
    157
    58
    41
See reviews for
176
535
68
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good hotel in the heart of Melbourne. But some of the rooms look at the very close wall of the next building. Very clean. Bathroom very, very small, but lounge room good size. I rather have it that way. Kitchen very handy, but you have to ask for pots. Room service very quick and with a smile. Pool very small. Harry's restaurant closed quite earlier at night, but where the hotel is located this is not a big problem as there are plenty of restaurants around. Mahjong Black opposite hotel serves very nice Chinese food. Would stay again the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear iwona3,
Thank you for a thorough review and I’m pleased to read that the positives outnumber the negatives. As you have mentioned our suites are very convenient for short or long stays, offering a great sized lounge room, separate bedroom and a kitchen. The perfect space to relax after a hard day at work or a busy day of sightseeing.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The room was Unclean. Doona was just an insert (similar to cheap cushion insert) with no cover. Pool was VERY rundown. We were VERY disappointed. We were sick from the inhouse dining and will not be coming back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Belinda L,

I am terribly disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. Cleanliness & food safety are of the utmost importance to this hotel and we have strict procedures in place to ensure that high standards are always maintained in these areas. I am sorry to hear that you were unwell and I do hope you have fully recovered. I would be very grateful if you could provide me with further information in regards to your in-room dining so I may investigate the matter in more depth. Please feel free to contact me directly, I would be very happy to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a 5 day stay ,the staff are top class very friendly ,hotel it self was brilliant
My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary there. It is a great location
Will definitely be back at this hotel

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear markg,
Congratulations on your 30th Wedding Anniversary and we wish you all the best for many more. Thank you for choosing to spend it at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, we’re so pleased that we were able to assist in celebrating this special occasion.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we really enjoyed our two night 3 day stay.

Room was a kingsize suite. We arrived early, and for a small upgrade fee had immediate access to a great room, with plenty of space, spotlessly clean and with a great , well equipped kitchenette. Very quiet also. The bed was excellent, and we also had a pillow menu!

Breakfast. - great selection, fresh, and an eager to please omelette chef. The duty manager also sorted out our problem about the breakfast not being included. It was not a issue for them. Full marks for making us feel very welcome.

Really don't understand how you could give this hotel a bad review. We will certainly be back.

pool was

Room Tip: getting an upgrade to a larger room worked very well , as we arrived early from the airport. cost w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear bunniestwo,
Welcome to the Stamford Family, I’m thrilled that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again and I am happy to you assure you that your future stays will be as comfortable and enjoyable as your first.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the Stamford, it is situated in a good position close to many shops and restauraunts. We had booked into a studio room but as they had a special on the day we stayed, we were offered an upgrade to a king suite for an extra $20. As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are a little outdated but having said that it was very clean and comfortable. The shower is over the bath which could be a problem for older patrons, the bathroom was very tight in space. The breakfast was ok there was not a big selection, they had an egg station with your eggs cooked fresh and to your liking. Overall staff were polite and friendly and it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear rachelgeelong,

We hope our guests find value for money when they choose to stay at Stamford and it’s great to hear that you would agree. Our staff are professional as well as friendly and will always be happy to offer assistance. Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a "self rated" 5 star hotel. My wife and I spent a weekend here in December. It was pretty convenient to everything so location wise its pretty good. The layout of the rooms is a bit unusual but they are making the most of the space available. Bathroom a bit cramped but functional.
This hotel is probably not on par with the likes of Starwood, Hilton or InterContinental brands but it does have its advantages. The mini bar and restaurants/bar are much more reasonably priced and the staff are a little less robotic.
Now to the not so positives: Everytime we made a request, it took ages for it to be actioned. The first day they plain forgot about the bucket of ice! Housekeeping didn't replenish all the toiletries and we waited about 20 minutes before we could be attended to. The hotel did not seem extremely busy so it might just be a staffing issue. In any case, its poor form for a 5 star place regardless whether its "self rated" or otherwise.
On check out, I informed the reception of mini bar usage and paid accordingly. Get home and a couple of days later there's another invoice for the same items and they've helped themselves to charge my credit card. Now, I know when I give them an imprint of my credit card I'm authorising them to charge it for incidentals, but everytime this has happened in the past with other establishments, I get a courtesy phone call before they do it. If these guys had done so I could've told them that I'd already paid! Not really a big deal because I did give them a call myself and notified them of the duplicate charge and they fixed accordingly, but its these little things that can be the difference between an average and a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear sporthead,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I agree that it is the little things that can make a difference to an overall stay and I apologise that we were a little off the mark in the areas you have identified. I apologise for the error with your minibar account and will ensure our procedure is reviewed to prevent such an inconvenience in the future. We aim to exceed the expectations of our guests and constructive feedback such as yours is very helpful in helping us to achieve this. Thanks once again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;