We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel, some service issues.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver $1 Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel, some service issues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here last weekend. Great location, nice room, good price.
We ate twice in Harrys Bar and had delicious hamburgers at a very good price, with a free beer.
Can recommend the buffet breakfast too, lots of choice, no waiting, just right to set us up for a day of shopping in the city.
Overall we thought it was an excellent choice for staying in the CBD. Ideal for shopping, sightseeing, close to everything.
All went well until checkout. We went to the desk at 7am and found a queue of guests waiting to check out and only one staff member manning both concierge desk and checkout. Actually the night time general manager, Robin.
Both he and the concierge, Daniella, had been great over the previous nights we were there, very helpful and considerate, nothing was too much trouble. Really lovely.
But on Monday we waited for ages at the desk, and couldn’t help noticing that when the ‘secret’ door in the wall behind was opened, the office was full of staff, at least half a dozen, laughing and joking and generally trying very hard to ignore everyone outfront.
Admittedly by the time we left the foyer at about 725, lots of staff were starting to appear, but it does seem rather silly not to have decent cover at what is clearly a busy time on a weekday.
Would definitely stay here again when in Melbourne, but next time to avoid the queue we’ll be using the express checkout option which lets you sign your bill and leave it in a special box so they can charge your card later.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Hedda H,

Thank you for highlighting some of the positive features we have to offer. I’m pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to try one of our burgers and enjoyed it so much that you came back again!
I’m sorry to hear that your check out experience was not as smooth as the rest of your stay and I apologise that this detracted from what sounds like a mainly enjoyable experience. I appreciate your constructive comments and will certainly take them on board as this is not the lasting impression we want any of our guests to have when leaving. I hope we can welcome you back again soon for another weekend of good shopping and great food.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    489
    167
    61
    42
See reviews for
197
585
76
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

For the price this hotel comes at (i paid just above $200) it's a true value melbourne option. The kitchen isn't just a bench along a wall, it's a walk in arrangement located in a semi-separate lounge area. Two tv's (one to watch in bed, one to watch from the couch) plus a dining area, makes this more than just a hotel room. The bathroom was small, but the bath had jets.

The gym is very well equipped though opposite office blocks, which made for uncomfortable daytime jogging sessions.. I didn't use the pool, but it looked small and not so special. Only one lift was working when I stayed which meant long waiting times going to and from room.

Basically, I loved this place and wish I wasn't out and abut so much and could have lounged round more.

Room Tip: There are some smoking floors (7?) so specify what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mishjakas,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. With such fantastic, comfortable suites, I can understand you found it difficult to leave your room. I’m glad had the chance to take advantage of our newly refurbished gym and you’ll be pleased to know that the swimming pool is next on the list and we are currently working on plans for an upgrade.
We look forward to welcoming you back again next time hopefully you will be able to take a little more time to relax.
Kind Regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were in Melbourne for the Coldplay Concert and stayed for 5 nights at the Stamford Plaza.The Rom quality is excellent - especially since every room has a separate bedroom and separate living area.Location is fantastic - just a short walk from the CBD.The staff - extremely courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Navin B,

I hope you enjoyed the concert. Over a 5 day stay the extra space offered by our suites can definitely be appreciated and I’m pleased to hear that you found ours to your liking. Our team of staff will also be proud to read your positive comments about the high standard of service they provided, they will be happy to know their efforts are not going unnoticed.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Frankly, you would not want to stay at any other hotel in Melbourne. The Stamford Plaza is absolutely sensational and they did not let me down once. Here are some highlights of my stay:

+ Amazing, spacious room. Two TVs, desk, full kitchen, & private jacuzzi. Spotless. Much, much larger than a regular hotel room. It's essentially a suite. iPod/iPhone dock
+ One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in (seriously)
+ For booking through their website, I received complementary WiFi for my entire stay. This worked on multiple devices.
+ Prompt staff who always made sure my requests were carried out immediately (e.g. bringing ice to the room, holding my luggage before check-in, taking bags to room etc)
+ Room service was reasonably priced and not extortionate (as it often is in hotels). Ordered food at 3am after a big night and it was exactly what I felt like
+ Significantly, the location of this hotel is nothing less than ideal. Shopping is extremely close and also near Southbank, bars/clubs etc. Right in the heart of Melbourne. Multiple convenience stores nearby (very handy). Also in the vicinity of excellent restaurants.
+ Taxis always ready to go outside
+ Although I didn't have time to dine in the hotel's restaurant (Harry's), it was always packed and the menu/cocktails looked delicious. Again, reasonably priced.
+ Hotel has a state-of-the-art gym with brand new equipment and facilities. Also there is a brilliant rooftop pool/spa setup.
+ No noise or disturbances in the room whatsoever - very quiet

In summary, although the prices at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne are relatively higher than the competition, you should not be hesitant in considering to stay here because you are paying for excellence. Just like the rest of us, you will be thoroughly happy you made the decision to stay here. They truly do have an impressive operation, for which I extremely grateful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Chris R,
Your review has made me a very proud General Manager, it’s fantastic to read glowing feedback such as yours and I will certainly share it with my team.
Thank you for noting so many of the aspects which make Stamford Plaza Melbourne stand apart from other hotels. Friendly & efficient staff, modern & comfortable rooms, an enviable city location and of course value for money provide a combination which could lead to nothing but a perfect stay.
Welcome to the Stamford family – we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked the Romance and Seduction package to celebrate our wedding anniversary and our stay was fabulous from start to finish. On arrival we were upgraded to a king suite. The staff, from concierge, reception staff to room service, were exceptional and all very friendly. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. I didn't hear a single sound from outside. Would definitely stay again. Only downside was that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear JojoP2011,
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, I’m thrilled to hear that we were able to make it such a special occasion for you. Champagne, rose petals and chocolates, along with a luxurious suite and of course the perfect companion, certainly make for a romantic setting. Here’s to many more anniversaries, I hope we can help you to celebrate again.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, turning the weekend into a long weekend. We found the location good. The rooms were a good size and the staff friendly. The hotel has a gym and pool but we did not use them. There's a good bar down stairs and bring your red shoes for happy hour on Friday nights. Would definitely stay here again. Oh yes, it was really quiet as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear traveler_dreamer,
Friday night happy hour in Harry’s bar is the perfect reason to dust off the red shoes, I’m glad you remembered to pack yours. It sounds like you had a wonderful time at the Stamford - if only every weekend could be a long one…
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have to say up front, the furniture and decor is a little old fashion for me, but I had absolutely luxurious suite (kitchen, lounge and bedroom). It was pure indulgence! The staff were focused on what they should be - yes that would be me! The only negative was one of the lifts wasn't working - so it was rather slow getting to level five. Can highly recommend this hotel - it was a surprisingly nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Kelly K,
I’m so pleased to hear that we were able to go beyond your expectations through our fantastic facilities and attentive staff. Our guests certainly are the focus of our attention & it’s great that you were made to feel so special. I know the team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are not going unnoticed. For an even greater sense of indulgence why not try our Lazy Daze package next time, it includes a delicious in room meal, two new release movies, with pop corn of course, and a blissful massage to leave you feeling completely pampered.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.