We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Decent Hotel with very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Decent Hotel with very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently stayed here to celebrate our 10yr wedding anniversary. The staff were lovely and even had a bottle of bubbly, chocolates and a card delivered- very nice touch.
We had a king suite and while the bed I found too soft ( but I like a hard bed, so I think most people would find it too be fine), the room was spacious with a good kitchen , loung/dinning area. Good LCD tvs, decent bathroom- perhaps a little small and good window. We had a high floor room and found it quiet. They have a system where if you choose to have the room not serviced they give you a 10$ food and beverage credit- which we opted to do, as it meant we could have coffee delivered in the morning.
I probably wouldnt rate the hotel as 5 star- more a 4.5, doesnt have that "flash" element but we found it good value, in a good location with lovely staff- so hard to beat really! Thankyou to the stamford staff.

Room Tip: Try a high floor room,the 1 bed king suite was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear KylieOberon,

Congratulations on your 10th Wedding Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We aim to please with value for money, attentive staff, a fantastic location and added extras. I hope we can help you celebrate many more happy anniversaries in the future, next time you might like to try our Romance & Seduction Package for a truly exemplary romantic experience.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    377
    144
    54
    32
See reviews for
156
458
61
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Myself and my husband spent two nights here making the most of a local long weekend and a voucher that had been supplied by my work. We had a one bedroom suite in the West Tower on the 9th floor.

Let me start by saying the location here was just brilliant. Right near China Town and shopping but easy to reach public transport. We caught the train in and grabbed a tram up Collins Street. Easy. Check in was a breeze and the staff at reception were friendly, informative and happy to help. The bar in the lobby was also brilliant (i recommend the vodka martinis and the freshly shucked oysters - divine!) it was nice to sit back and enjoy the atmopshere the little bar had to offer.

Only one elevator (they are glass which was a different experience) was working at the time, but although they were a little busy there was a notice that if we did feel the need we could use the staff service elevator also. A great idea - but we were happy to wait.

The room was clean. Well laid out and it was nice to sit on the couch to watch the TV instead of having to lay on the bed. The bathroom was smaller, but the vanity was separate from the shower/toilet so made getting ready easier for two people. The kitchen was again well thought out and easy to use.

Breakfast was brilliant. I was suprised when i was asked what coffe i would like and found out that a latte was included instead of just filtered coffee!

Again check out was a breeze - the concierge held our bags so we could spend the day shopping and return again later that day to collect them to head home. A really lovely weekend in Melbourne was had.

I do want to add that every single staff member we encountered, from reception to the bar to bumping into a staff member in the lift, was courteous, smiling and seemed geninuely interested in what we had to say. An absolute credit to the Stamford Plaza. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear GemmaZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of your stay. What a fantastic way to spend the long weekend, taking the time to explore your own city is always fun. It’s so pleasing that you were impressed by our lovely rooms and central location but I am extremely proud to hear that it was our staff that contributed to the lasting impression of your stay. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional service to our guests and always strive to exceed their expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip, perhaps you can make a long weekend in Melbourne an annual tradition…
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A sign as you enter says something along the lines of your home away from home and that is exactly how it felt. The hotel is a little dated but I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was nice and the service was fantastic. It is very well located in the CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Momo11,
Your compliment regarding the hotel being a home away from home is exactly what we are hoping to hear from our guests. Through our friendly & attentive staff, spacious and comfortable rooms and fantastic location to all that Melbourne has to offer, we aim to make all our guests feel this way. Your positive feedback has been very well received and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September in a queen bed suite which included breakfast for $1. Price wise it was competitively matched against other similar standard hotels and our room was quite spacious with a separate lounge and kitchen area. The hotel is in a good location for shopping and close to China Town and all its restaurants. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold food.
My one complaint about the room though is that it was so cold. Admittedly it was a windy and freezing weekend when we were there, but I could actually feel a draught coming in through the edges of the window. Also the air conditioning apparently turns itself off when you are out of the room, so consequently every time we got back to the room it was very cold and didn’t seem to make much difference when we turned the air conditioning back on. I don’t normally feel the cold but this was one occasion when I had to put an extra blanket on the bed. I did mention the air conditioning when we checked out on the off chance it wasn’t working correctly.
Overall, a nice hotel but the cold room would put me off staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear CoastersOnHols,
It’s great that you have identified so many positive aspects of the hotel, including our spacious rooms and fantastic location – is there a better way to start the day than breakfast for $1? I apologise that you did not find an escape from Melbourne’s wintery chill in your room. As part of our green initiative, the air conditioning does turn off when a room is not occupied but should certainly have warmed up on your return. Our Engineering team will investigate and make the necessary repairs. We do hope we can welcome you back for a warmer stay in the future.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had four nights in this hotel during race week in November.
Overall, we found it to be a very enjoyable experience, from check in to check out. The staff were friendly, and helpful, the room ( a one bed studio) was excellent. We had the the choice of eating out at one of the many nearby restaurants or cooking in the room-- existing cooking facilities ,utensils delivered.
The pool is very small and there seemed to be a lift problem, but overall an excellent stay and highly recommended-- but not at the rack rate!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with the self catering facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear FrankEarnest,

Spring Carnival is a fantastic time to visit Melbourne, I hope you backed a winner. I agree that it is great to have the option to eat out or use the kitchenette to cook in your room. Sometimes there’s nothing better than a home cooked meal, even when you are on holidays. You’ll be pleased to hear that we are currently in the planning stages of updating the pool area. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at the stamford on business previously but this time was with my wife. The separate room from the lounge/kitchen is great, I can work or watch TV while she has a rest. The hotel gym is well equipped and the staff very friendly. the hotel is well located.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear SmokeyRH3,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay, it’s always a pleasure to welcome back repeat guests. I agree that having a separate living and kitchen area is one of the best aspects of our hotel, the extra space certainly makes a difference. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon for another great stay, hopefully it might be a leisure trip for both of you!

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We pitched up at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne after three nights at the Sir Stamford Circular Key Sydney. Thus our expectations were high - the reality proved somewhat disappointing.

The two hotels are part of the same group but here the similarity ends. Gone the personal touch, gone the resplendent rooms with a view, gone the warmth and coziness. Instead we found twin towers, tall and aloof, separated by a street where the sun don't shine.

Our room - and we swapped twice; once to get a bath and once yet again to get a bath (but one not in a smoking room) was dark and overlooked the building enclosed rear. Standard decorative fare awaited, drab colours, slightly tired and with a small bathroom complete with a plastic bath that was only able to accommodate 3/4 of me at any one time or the alternative of standing for an inbath shower.

Situated on Little Collins in the CBD, it was handy five minute walk to the trams and another five or so on to Federation Square but you could have been anywhere in the world as the atmosphere of the hotel registered so low on the Richter Scale. Expensive wi-fi only contributed to the desire to use the room solely as a place to freshen up and to lay ones head.

Staff were polite when approached and one concierge went out of his way to retrospectively explain the vagaries of Melbourne's toll road charging system after we had inadvertently travelled along a chargeable stretch. He allowed us to use his telephone f.o.c. and following a small credit card transaction, we hopefully have escaped a penalty.

We enjoyed Melbourne itself very much but I shed no tears when we checked out. The upside of the hotel? - its close proximity to the excellent Chin Chin Asian restaurant for supper and the eclectic Il Solito Posto basement trattoria for breakfast.

Sorry, there'll be no 'wish you were here' postcard from me for the Stamford Plaza.

Room Tip: Make sure you book what you want in advance - changing to get what we wanted was troublesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Curtis G,
I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and am sorry to hear that your room was not to your liking. It is true that our central city location means that we are surrounded by other structures, this does unfortunately limit the views from certain parts of the building. The style of the hotel is very different to our sister hotel Sir Stamford Circular Quay, nevertheless we aspire to provide the same customer service and friendliness with our customer service and staff interactions.
If we have another opportunity to accommodate you, please contact my secretary directly on 9659 1178 as we would be delighted to allocate you a room which covers all of your requests.
Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel
Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience premium five star luxury in Melbourne's finest all-suite hotel. Located at the "Paris end" of Little Collins Street in the heart of the CBD, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is surrounded by the best of fashion, theatre, cuisine, and only walking distance to the city's famous sporting venues. An ideal location for those wanting to immerse themselves in Melbourne's vibrant culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list