We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Decent Hotel with very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast + Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #41 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Decent Hotel with very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently stayed here to celebrate our 10yr wedding anniversary. The staff were lovely and even had a bottle of bubbly, chocolates and a card delivered- very nice touch.
We had a king suite and while the bed I found too soft ( but I like a hard bed, so I think most people would find it too be fine), the room was spacious with a good kitchen , loung/dinning area. Good LCD tvs, decent bathroom- perhaps a little small and good window. We had a high floor room and found it quiet. They have a system where if you choose to have the room not serviced they give you a 10$ food and beverage credit- which we opted to do, as it meant we could have coffee delivered in the morning.
I probably wouldnt rate the hotel as 5 star- more a 4.5, doesnt have that "flash" element but we found it good value, in a good location with lovely staff- so hard to beat really! Thankyou to the stamford staff.

Room Tip: Try a high floor room,the 1 bed king suite was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear KylieOberon,

Congratulations on your 10th Wedding Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. We aim to please with value for money, attentive staff, a fantastic location and added extras. I hope we can help you celebrate many more happy anniversaries in the future, next time you might like to try our Romance & Seduction Package for a truly exemplary romantic experience.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    562
    193
    74
    47
See reviews for
222
645
84
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Myself and my husband spent two nights here making the most of a local long weekend and a voucher that had been supplied by my work. We had a one bedroom suite in the West Tower on the 9th floor.

Let me start by saying the location here was just brilliant. Right near China Town and shopping but easy to reach public transport. We caught the train in and grabbed a tram up Collins Street. Easy. Check in was a breeze and the staff at reception were friendly, informative and happy to help. The bar in the lobby was also brilliant (i recommend the vodka martinis and the freshly shucked oysters - divine!) it was nice to sit back and enjoy the atmopshere the little bar had to offer.

Only one elevator (they are glass which was a different experience) was working at the time, but although they were a little busy there was a notice that if we did feel the need we could use the staff service elevator also. A great idea - but we were happy to wait.

The room was clean. Well laid out and it was nice to sit on the couch to watch the TV instead of having to lay on the bed. The bathroom was smaller, but the vanity was separate from the shower/toilet so made getting ready easier for two people. The kitchen was again well thought out and easy to use.

Breakfast was brilliant. I was suprised when i was asked what coffe i would like and found out that a latte was included instead of just filtered coffee!

Again check out was a breeze - the concierge held our bags so we could spend the day shopping and return again later that day to collect them to head home. A really lovely weekend in Melbourne was had.

I do want to add that every single staff member we encountered, from reception to the bar to bumping into a staff member in the lift, was courteous, smiling and seemed geninuely interested in what we had to say. An absolute credit to the Stamford Plaza. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear GemmaZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of your stay. What a fantastic way to spend the long weekend, taking the time to explore your own city is always fun. It’s so pleasing that you were impressed by our lovely rooms and central location but I am extremely proud to hear that it was our staff that contributed to the lasting impression of your stay. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional service to our guests and always strive to exceed their expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip, perhaps you can make a long weekend in Melbourne an annual tradition…
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A sign as you enter says something along the lines of your home away from home and that is exactly how it felt. The hotel is a little dated but I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was nice and the service was fantastic. It is very well located in the CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Momo11,
Your compliment regarding the hotel being a home away from home is exactly what we are hoping to hear from our guests. Through our friendly & attentive staff, spacious and comfortable rooms and fantastic location to all that Melbourne has to offer, we aim to make all our guests feel this way. Your positive feedback has been very well received and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September in a queen bed suite which included breakfast for $1. Price wise it was competitively matched against other similar standard hotels and our room was quite spacious with a separate lounge and kitchen area. The hotel is in a good location for shopping and close to China Town and all its restaurants. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold food.
My one complaint about the room though is that it was so cold. Admittedly it was a windy and freezing weekend when we were there, but I could actually feel a draught coming in through the edges of the window. Also the air conditioning apparently turns itself off when you are out of the room, so consequently every time we got back to the room it was very cold and didn’t seem to make much difference when we turned the air conditioning back on. I don’t normally feel the cold but this was one occasion when I had to put an extra blanket on the bed. I did mention the air conditioning when we checked out on the off chance it wasn’t working correctly.
Overall, a nice hotel but the cold room would put me off staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear CoastersOnHols,
It’s great that you have identified so many positive aspects of the hotel, including our spacious rooms and fantastic location – is there a better way to start the day than breakfast for $1? I apologise that you did not find an escape from Melbourne’s wintery chill in your room. As part of our green initiative, the air conditioning does turn off when a room is not occupied but should certainly have warmed up on your return. Our Engineering team will investigate and make the necessary repairs. We do hope we can welcome you back for a warmer stay in the future.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had four nights in this hotel during race week in November.
Overall, we found it to be a very enjoyable experience, from check in to check out. The staff were friendly, and helpful, the room ( a one bed studio) was excellent. We had the the choice of eating out at one of the many nearby restaurants or cooking in the room-- existing cooking facilities ,utensils delivered.
The pool is very small and there seemed to be a lift problem, but overall an excellent stay and highly recommended-- but not at the rack rate!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with the self catering facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear FrankEarnest,

Spring Carnival is a fantastic time to visit Melbourne, I hope you backed a winner. I agree that it is great to have the option to eat out or use the kitchenette to cook in your room. Sometimes there’s nothing better than a home cooked meal, even when you are on holidays. You’ll be pleased to hear that we are currently in the planning stages of updating the pool area. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at the stamford on business previously but this time was with my wife. The separate room from the lounge/kitchen is great, I can work or watch TV while she has a rest. The hotel gym is well equipped and the staff very friendly. the hotel is well located.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear SmokeyRH3,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay, it’s always a pleasure to welcome back repeat guests. I agree that having a separate living and kitchen area is one of the best aspects of our hotel, the extra space certainly makes a difference. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon for another great stay, hopefully it might be a leisure trip for both of you!

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We pitched up at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne after three nights at the Sir Stamford Circular Key Sydney. Thus our expectations were high - the reality proved somewhat disappointing.

The two hotels are part of the same group but here the similarity ends. Gone the personal touch, gone the resplendent rooms with a view, gone the warmth and coziness. Instead we found twin towers, tall and aloof, separated by a street where the sun don't shine.

Our room - and we swapped twice; once to get a bath and once yet again to get a bath (but one not in a smoking room) was dark and overlooked the building enclosed rear. Standard decorative fare awaited, drab colours, slightly tired and with a small bathroom complete with a plastic bath that was only able to accommodate 3/4 of me at any one time or the alternative of standing for an inbath shower.

Situated on Little Collins in the CBD, it was handy five minute walk to the trams and another five or so on to Federation Square but you could have been anywhere in the world as the atmosphere of the hotel registered so low on the Richter Scale. Expensive wi-fi only contributed to the desire to use the room solely as a place to freshen up and to lay ones head.

Staff were polite when approached and one concierge went out of his way to retrospectively explain the vagaries of Melbourne's toll road charging system after we had inadvertently travelled along a chargeable stretch. He allowed us to use his telephone f.o.c. and following a small credit card transaction, we hopefully have escaped a penalty.

We enjoyed Melbourne itself very much but I shed no tears when we checked out. The upside of the hotel? - its close proximity to the excellent Chin Chin Asian restaurant for supper and the eclectic Il Solito Posto basement trattoria for breakfast.

Sorry, there'll be no 'wish you were here' postcard from me for the Stamford Plaza.

Room Tip: Make sure you book what you want in advance - changing to get what we wanted was troublesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Curtis G,
I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and am sorry to hear that your room was not to your liking. It is true that our central city location means that we are surrounded by other structures, this does unfortunately limit the views from certain parts of the building. The style of the hotel is very different to our sister hotel Sir Stamford Circular Quay, nevertheless we aspire to provide the same customer service and friendliness with our customer service and staff interactions.
If we have another opportunity to accommodate you, please contact my secretary directly on 9659 1178 as we would be delighted to allocate you a room which covers all of your requests.
Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.