We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I recently stayed here for a weekend visit. From the moment we got out of the cab we had excellent service. Friendly staff willing to help at every turn. The inside of the hotel is beautiful, along with the rooms. The decor is just superb, a real touch of class. Rooms were clean, gym and pool facilities were also fantastic. When we return to Melbourne next time, we will definitely stay here again. Can't wait to come back. A first class establishment!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Genderwarrior

Thank you so much for your kind sentiments….Especially your remarks concerning the great service you received during your recent stay. Everyone will be thrilled to read they contributed to making a good impression on you. Our gym is the latest in the continuing refurbishments that are taking place throughout the hotel so it pleases me you were able to enjoy it.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back agin.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    530
    182
    68
    45
See reviews for
213
615
81
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my girl friends for one night. Did not have a chance to see the amenities as we shopped the entire day.

Pros
-Centrally located, walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Still very quiet street which I love!
-Receptionists are very friendly.
-Spacious room, very clean
-Fast check out

Cons
The glass lifts are quite scary specially when approaching the ground floor.

Would have been great to have early check in however they called me as soon as the room is available.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear GKtrips 16

Thankfully the pro’s far outweigh the con’s, I guess that means we are doing something right!! I’m glad you and your girlfriends enjoyed your night at Stamford and by the sounds of things made the most of our close proximity to the shops.

I hope we can provide a comfortable bed next time you head to the city to shop til you drop.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for my sister's wedding which was held at Comme. Very convenient location as it was just across the lane. We stayed in a superior queen 1 bedroom spa room which was very spacious. The staff were very nice and service was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear JetsetterPerth

Congratulations to your sister, I’m sure her day was special and enjoyable for all. Since her venue is our next door neighbor I can see why you found our location so convenient – only a hop, skip and jump you are tucked up in your comfy bed after a long day of celebrations.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be great to see you again next time.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My friends & I have a girls weekend away each year, and this time it was in Melbourne and we chose the Stamford Plaza and boy are we glad!
We checked in to our room with the 'Celebration' package. When we got into the room, therewas some party music playing, some lovely pink helium balloons and some small bottles of Moet for us to enjoy!
Our package included High Tea in our room which arrived and was amazing... Some more champagne!
Our room was all set up when we arrived with each of us getting a robe, slippers, headband & a cute teddy bear to take home!
Plenty of room for the 5 of us!
I've stayed here lots of times, our regular hotel at Easter when I was growing up.
The hotel has had a renovation since I was last there but still amazing...
The only negative is that the street was quite noisy at night, but you would get that at most places.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Traveller255100

Sounds as though you had a fabulous weekend in Melbourne and that the Stamford really contributed to the overall experience! I delighted we gave you girls a memorable welcome and a wonderful start to your weekend.

Be sure to stay with us again next time, we look forward to welcoming you back with the same exceptional Stamford service.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As the parents of a child with cancer, it was a very rare night away for our anniversary. All we wanted and needed was a sleep in! The hotel room phone rang at 5.30am and frightened us to death, of course thinking it was an emergency regarding our daughter. We did get an apology which we appreciated, but I do feel very upset about it as we paid a lot of money that we saved up for, and we didn't even get our much needed sleep in :( Aside from this, the location is fantastic and the room was very nice, although I expected more from a 5 star hotel. Having said that, we were only in the 1 bedroom suite so maybe the more expensive rooms are more impressive. The bathrobes are old and not very soft which was another disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mitchcolin1

I’m sorry for the difficult situation you are going through in your family and completely understand the need for a nice relaxing retreat at a luxury hotel on the special occasion of your anniversary. Please accept my sincere apology for the early morning disruption to your sleep with the wake-up call you did not order and especially for the cause for concern it brought with it. I hope you otherwise enjoyed your anniversary and enjoyed the time you had together to celebrate it.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our second visit to Stamford. We did "Our shout package", great value for money. we spent extra for spa room. Was great to see renovations finished. Place looked fantastic.
couldn't fault staff or room. Only a few small things, no bubble bath & dirty room service menu (covered in food), quickly remedied by call to housekeeping. There was a bit of noise from lifts, so would make sure not near them next time. As we had voucher for Harry's bar, had a few drinks, then decided to have meal from bar menu. food lovely, only bad thing, curry should have come with small bowl of rice.
Breakfast buffet was well stocked & a nice open area to eat.
Overall another great stay, look forward to another one soon.

Room Tip: make sure room not near elevator's, abit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear nicholettes

Thank you for your complimentary remarks concerning our lobby renovation. We are certainly very pleased with the new look. I’m also thrilled that you enjoyed all the benefits of the Our Shout Package and your constructive feedback is extremely valuable for us to continue to exceed expectations. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments for review.

Maybe next time you will enjoy our Romance and Seduction Package…It’s another luxurious treat and is also great value for money.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Location brilliant and compared to some of the service we received in Melbourne shops the Stamford service was outstanding.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Harry's bar is a superb place for a little R&R - say hi to Chad behind the bar.
The rooms are well appointed, full kitchen and very comfortable bed.
Very happy to recommend this hotel - very happy!

Room Tip: grab the upgrade to the king suite if offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear John I

Great to have made such a happy guest of you! We get lots of comments regarding the comfort of our suites and in particular the beds and thanks for your mention of our friendly staff member Chad, he’ll certainly be pleased he made a good impression. Harry’s Bar is a relaxing environment to enjoy a quiet drink.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and EasyToBook so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.