We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivered as promised.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% + Free WIFI
Ranked #35 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delivered as promised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel for 7 days on a business trip to Melbourne. Stayed in the east tower and the one bedroom suite was impressive. All modern furniture and equipment and had all what I needed I in a 5star room.
Room was clean and spotless and housekeeping was done daily. Staff were very friendly and don't have anything to say for improvements, really. overall, very impressed with the experience.
Also, location was good, nice and quiet on Little Collins st, also close by to main attractions. W
Close by Flinders station, china town, Federation sq made it easy to find places to eat or to catch transport.
All and all.... WELL RECOMMENDED...

Room Tip: Try the east tower, cafe/ bar ground floor and nice and quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear tspeiris

I’m very pleased that for a long stay we were able to consistently provide you with the service you would expect of a five star hotel and in an environment you were comfortable. Satisfaction in all areas is very important to us.

Thank you for your valuable recommendation, and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    445
    157
    58
    41
See reviews for
178
542
69
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the Stamford Plaza Hotel in Little Collins street. the room was a good size (2 bedroom suite) and at a reasonable price (taking advantage of the half price Sunday and Monday deal). The hotekl was quiet and the street noise was undetectable. The best thing about the hotel was the staff - they were very friendly and helpful, and each knew their job well and would go out of their way to assist us. We will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear gregingo

Thank you for your complimentary feedback regarding our hotel staff, we pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional service to our guests and always strive to exceed their expectations. Everyone will be delighted to read of your experience during you stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A true value of a hotel can be seen when they need to deal with emergencies, and Stamford rose in ours, which was dealt with calmly, professionally and with no fuss. Thank You Team
Our room was nice, we had a 1 room suite, which was not really a 1 room more like a studio, but was comfortable, well maintained and good value.
I had stayed here in past for business & was nice to see good service still applied, which make the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear MazzAustralia

Thank you so much for your congratulations to our team for handling your situation with due care and professionalism, it really means a lot to me…and them. We are also delighted that you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again for an emergency free visit.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a nice hotel, which whilst probably not a true 5 star, has everything you need and in a great location.

We paid about $180 per night which included a full buffet breakfast. The breakfast was great and the latte's were well made.

Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear RJLEN

Overall satisfaction is was we want to give our guests, I’m pleased you found we met all your requirements and felt as though you received good value for your money. We get lots of good feedback about our buffet breakfast. Glad you enjoyed it too!

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunyip
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The 2br apartment was a great place for a family of four, the rooms were comfortable and very clean, and the kids loved the glass elevators, the pool and even the gym. The TVs in every bedroom and the lounge were awesome, too, apparently!

Room Tip: We were nice and high, and loved the window seats in the two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear berryc2011

Sounds like you had a great family fun time here at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I hope you enjoyed your adventures outside of the hotel just as much as you enjoyed it indoors too. Nothing makes us happier than being able to provide the perfect, comfortable retreat to come back to after a busy day.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed in this place few times on my business trips.

The room I stayed last time was on the left tower which was nicely refurbished.Very good fittings and furniture.

Restaurant at the hotel is a bit overpriced for Melbourne but excellent quality and choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Siva_Brabaakaran

I’m very pleased that you found your suite to be fitted to a style and standard that suits your taste, I hope that you were very comfortable and also enjoyed the new look and feel of our recently refurbished lobby.

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

love this hotel so much. this hotel had cozy room provided. i always stayed in this hotel during my stay in melbourne. it's very convenient and well located in city. all the staffs are doing a good job. highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Sonnytanoto

Thank you for taking the time to share your ongoing support of Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We are always happy to welcome back our valued guests who continue to use us as their hotel of choice. Your patronage is very much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.