We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for winter getaway in Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver $1 Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great for winter getaway in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My mother, aunty, grandmother and I stayed in a 2 bedroom room with an extra rollaway bed for a girls shopping weekend. We booked through Wotif and got a very reasonable price.

We were very pleased with the hotel. It's regal decor is the perfect setting for a winter stay in Melbourne.

The room was a really good size - a tad cramped with the rollaway but still more than comfortable for the four of us. The beds were all comfortable, even the rollaway. There were three TVs in the room so we pretty much each had a TV to ourselves. Great kitchenette facilities (we didn't use it at all though). Only criticism of the room is that was a tad on the dark side, which we liked because it was winter, but in summer might be a little depressing.

We didn't experience any noise whatsoever as other reviewers have mentioned, but we were in the far corner of the 7th floor, furthest away from the lift.

The breakfast wasn't fabulous but it was still good. We also ate at the restaurant one night and it was nice enough for a quick meal for some tired ladies after a very early morning.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Absolutely no criticism of the staff whatsoever. Always smiled and said hello and were efficient.

Overall, this was a good hotel. If we could get a similar rate through Wotif we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear 22bld22

As the husband of a well dressed wife and father to a like-minded daughter I know the pleasure that you girls get from a day out at the shops and the excitement of finding a great deal or the right piece to add to your wardrobe, so I’m thrilled that we were able to supply the perfect home-away-from-home accommodation for your expeditions and that the facilities of your suite and the hotel in general were all received positively. It’s always especially nice to hear kind words spoken about the friendliness and helpful nature of the staff here. It’s really something that we pride ourselves on and the team will be delighted to receive complimentary feedback such as yours. Thank you!

With each new season brings the need to expand your wardrobe so I certainly hope we will be able to welcome you ladies back again soon.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    490
    167
    61
    42
See reviews for
197
586
76
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here one night in July 2012 when visiting Melbourne for a function.

Room was clean and spacious.

Location was great for the purpose of some sightseeing- close to shopping, not far from key attractions like federation square and not far from Southbank. Not far from some nice laneways for breakfast.

I was in a room on the 6th floor, and I found the room quite noisy - could hear a fair bit of traffic and what sounded like rubbish trucks emptying trashcans. This seemed to occur at various points in the early morning between 1am and 6am.

The hotel is certainly better than the travelodge and other lesser hotels, but not first class either.

I wouldn't not stay here again, but will probably look at other hotels in the same pricerange before staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Australian_couple32

For our superior location and great spacious suites we would certainly hope to win you over for your next visit to Melbourne, that coupled with our great Stamford service which I do hope you enjoyed. We always aim to do as much as we can in-house to ensure or guests receive the most comfortable stay possible. When you make your next reservation with us, if you do so over the phone we can allocate you a room on a higher level and in the other tower to help mitigate the disturbance you received from external noise on this visit. Generally speaking external noise is not a sufferance to our guests but occasionally the early morning sounds of the inner city can interrupt lighter sleepers. Please accept my apology and we would gladly welcome you back again with a different location of your accommodation. I hope we get that chance!

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel. It was a birthday treat from my daughters. Beautifully appointed 1 bedroom apartment which I shared with my sister after having High Tea at the Windsor. Beds were very comfortable and the complientary breakfast was an added bonus. Wholeheartedly recommend this establisment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Trentham_Ozlady

Happy Birthday! You are a lucky woman to have such kind daughters to gift you with this special treat for your birthday. I hope you had a lovely day with your sister, perhaps on your next High Tea jaunt you might like to give our offering a go with its delightful selection of finger sandwiches, savouries and petite fours and an option of a glass of Moet & Chandon if you fancy it.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We checked into the Stamford for a two night stay. We were able to check straight into our room even though it was a little early. The room was spacious and clean. Our room service breakfast the following morning was quickly delivered and fresh. The location was excellent with some lovely cafes, restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear joghols

That’s the beauty of our location…it’s all about shopping, shopping, shopping and delicious food up the Paris End of the city and by the sounds of things it didn’t take you long to discover the joys of it all. I’m thrilled you also enjoyed the service and facilities we offer at Stamford Plaza Melbourne and we were able to offer you all the comforts you could have wanted.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here recently with my teenage daughter. It was just a quick trip so we didn't use many amenities but our room was very nice, clean and with everything we needed.
We had ore diner drinks in the Hotel bar which was also really nice.
I really can't fault the Hotel at all and am looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Leah K

Quick trip but long memories. I’m delighted we were able to play a part in creating those happy family memories for you and your daughter. There’s so much to see and do in Melbourne that you will be able to return time and time again. We look forward to welcoming you back on each occasion!

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed for the Sunday/ Monday deal at the Stamford which was at a fantastic discount. I could not rate the reception staff and concierge more highly- very helpful without being over the top. Probably only (small) disappointment was housekeeping- I went downstairs for breakfast and my room was cleaned while I was away- I felt this was a bit early (I returned to the room around 9.30am). The suites were lovely with 2 TV's and a writing desk- great high speed internet. I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear tigertiger1210

Great, well we certainly look forward to having you back for another stay and maybe you can try one of our other packages which all have great benefits. Do you enjoy the theatre or footy? Perhaps you might enjoy the Our Shout Package which has been especially designed for convenience when choosing an evening of entertainment in the city. Thank you also for your kind compliments about our staff, they will be pleased to read your review. It’s the Stamford way to make our guest feel well taken care of but not imposed on.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Stamford Plaza Melbourne claims to be the best “luxury all suite boutique hotel” in Melbourne – in order to meet that claim, perhaps it is the only “luxury all suite boutique hotel” in Melbourne!

Four of us recently stayed for three nights in a two bedroom suite. The suite was equipped with a functional and fully inclusive kitchen, lounge area and two bedrooms. The common areas were fine if fairly small and relatively nondescript. All pretty much as described on the hotel website. The second bedroom (a double) was very small and likewise its ensuite, with a tiny shower. The layout is slightly strange in that this bathroom also opens to the living area. All a bit smaller than you might expect and a bit more faded. It also receives a surprising amount of noise from the street.

If this had been pretty much it and the rest of the experience had been as usual for a five star hotel then we would have rated the hotel as an average to OK example of the type. However, a few things happened along the way……

Firstly, we found that we couldn’t book over the web for more than three people and hence take advantage of the winter web wifi inclusion special (avoiding the usual exorbitant rate per day), so we did it by phone, carefully explaining the reason. Despite this, the wifi special was refused when we checked in. We explained again and they promised to check with guest services. The response again was – “no, can’t honour that, you needed to book via the web to be eligible” so we explained once more very slowly that we tried over the web but had no option but to ring them to make the booking. Eventually, we got the message through but it took way more effort than it should have.

The next problem was that our room (1110) was located right next to the gym. When we say right next to, we mean that the head of our bed was about 1 meter and one standard hotel wall away from a weights machine and on the floor immediately above the weights machine was a treadmill. (see the photos attached) The gym opens at 6am. Shortly after that time, we were awakened by the constant crash of weights and by someone running about 3 meters over our heads.

Around 8am, I went downstairs and requested a change of room. After the usual, “we are fully booked” routine, they agreed to move us. It was obvious as soon as I said noise, gym and 1110 in the same sentence that this was a regular occurrence. There are at least four rooms abutting the gym, arguably a number more affected by the noise.

Seriously, what does it say about a hotel’s regard for its guests that it would even consider putting you in a room like this?

About 9am we packed our luggage, left it in the room, dropped the keys off as requested and headed out for the day, assured that we would be moved by the time we returned that afternoon. We returned about 4pm to find that we had a new room but no luggage as it was apparently in storage. Eventually this turned up. To their credit, management later that afternoon sent a nice note and two bottles of wine to our suite in apology for everything (so far).

Later on we heard the sound of a key being repeatedly inserted into the door and much giggling. Four new guests who had just then checked in had been allocated the room we were already in.

The next day, and despite us being out all day, the room was only part serviced. Fresh towels in one bathroom but not the other. Old towels not removed. One bin emptied but not the other. Bed only partly made.

Then just to cap it all off, a $40 charge on our final bill for valet parking even though none of us had brought a car (same happened to the couple checking out in front of us too!).

That makes five process errors (website, room move, room allocation, room service and valet bill) plus an inexplicable disregard for guest comfort (room next to a 6am gym) and a failure of customer service (not immediately honouring the unattainable web special). None of which is consistent with the experience or the service level that the hotel claims to offer.

We wont be staying at the Melbourne Stamford Plaza again.

Also, the Stamford is one of those hotels (relatively rare in Australia) that take a pre-authorisation from your credit card. You know the one – where they somehow can instantly block out $100 per night on your card (in addition to the actual room charge) but they then have to fax the bank after you leave to have it reinstated and it “may take 4 or 5 days, but we have no control over that.”

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances let them give you a room next to the gym which opens at 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Relaxalot

I am really very sorry for the list of service errors you have pointed out and it is obviously not an acceptable standard and certainly nothing a guest in our hotel should experience. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconveniences and drop in service you and your companions endured. On a positive note, we have very nearly completed a brand new gym located next to the swimming pool on the 16th floor so absolutely no further disturbance will be experience by any guest. Although this is a small consolation, if you should choose to come and stay with us in the future I would be delighted to personally look after you. Please contact me directly in this instance and I will endeavor to show you the true style of Stamford service.

Regardless I do still hope that your party enjoyed your stay in Melbourne and explored the city to its fullest.

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.