We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy - we'll stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% + Free WIFI
Ranked #35 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
ballarat
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very happy - we'll stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Very nice place. Good, clean rooms. Nicely finished. Very handy location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Jackycee,

Thank you for putting your comments on TripAdvisor. Come back and stay with us again soon.

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Kind regards
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    445
    157
    59
    41
See reviews for
178
542
69
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newstead, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, easy walking distance to cbd activities, southbank, tennis and MCG. Accommodation was in a twin one bedroom suite, this included twin double beds which were extremely comfortable. There was plenty of room in the suite, there was a small kitchen with stove top, microwave, dishwasher and bar fridge. If you wanted to cook a meal you could request a box of cooking equipment from reception. (did not do this) The lounge dining area contained a small round table and two chairs and a couch. There were two lcd TVs, a large one on the wall in the lounge area and a smallere one on the wall in the bedroom. The ensuite facilities were excellent, you had a separate room with the shower/bath and toilet and then vanity unit was outside this room. The pool facilities looked good (did not use) and the mini gym was situated on two floors, 11th floor contained strength training and 12th floor had cardio equipement, used this and was excellent. We stayed in the west tower, although the room seemed a little dark and you had to always have the lights on, it was very peaceful and quiet, got a good nights sleep, our room looked out onto the laneway between the two towers. Staff were very pleasant at all times. Got a good deal on wotif and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear SMC56,

Thank you for putting your informative comments on TripAdvisor. The hotel is situated in a great location in the CBD. The sales are on at the moment and we are seeing many lovely colourful bags passing through reception.

I hope you have a very Happy 2012. Come back and stay again soon and try one of our popular packages.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

Great option if you can get a good deal. Had a 2 bedroom suite - very compact but good room. Noisy at night due to lack of double glazing. Great staff, but valet parking very over the top

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Nicko68,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

Come back and see us again soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We are from Perth and had spent Christmas in Tasmania with family and arrived at the Stamford on the 30th December. We were greeted as we arrived from our taxi trip from Port Melbourne and taken straight to reception.
We were booked in very quickly, and then we procceded up to our 5th floor room. We booked a executive suit one bedroom queen, as we entered our room it was lovely and clean and with a small kitchen, lounge room with a flat screen and a seperate bedroom with a flat screen too. I think that the bathroom was a little on the small side, but everything was perfect.
We were there for 3 nights and I must say everything was great, we didnt eat at the Stamford but we did enjoy a few drinks over the time we were there and it was very pleasent ( we did think that Harry's bar was a bit dated ) but staff friendly and drinks cold and service was quick.
I think that maybe it was over rated for the price we paid for new years eve night, but we do understand that most hotels increase their prices for that night, but we had booked back in May and it wasnt a last minute booking. We did have to call room service though on new years day, and ask for our room to be cleaned, this was cleaned around 2.30 so if any complaints this would be it.
All staff were friendly and helpful with anything we asked, we would stay again at the Stamford, as its location was fantastic for what we wanted.
Thank you for making our holiday in Melbourne a great start for 2012.

Room Tip: I think we were in the South side, as it was very quite considering that it was NYE and we had a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Lushdaz,

I am so pleased you chose Stamford Plaza Melbourne for your New Year's celebrations.


Come back and stay with us again soon.



Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearns Syndey Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early January 2012. From the time you arrive the staff are helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much touble. Our vehicle was chaffeured away and our bags taken up to our room. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious which included, spa, small kitchen, 2 x lcd televisions, large lounge and dining table. All the liitle things like iron, hairdyer, champagne glassses etc were provided. The bed was very comfortable and there was an abundance of pillows.

Our package for $200 included parking, breakfast for 2 and a 2 for 1 drink vouchure for the bar downstairs.

As I came from interstate it was a pleasant surprise to find the Stamford was a short walk from major shops, China town, tram stations (if thats what you call them) and Flinders railway station. There are a number of pubs and resturants close by aswell.

The full buffet breakfast was sensational. My coffee cup was constantly monitored and all dirty bowls and cups were removed very quickly. The variety was fantastic and the chef was on standby in front of the kitchen for any any special orders that any customers may have had.

I highly recommend this hotel not just for it's close location to everything but for the friendly service that the staff provide. Nothing seemed to be too trouble and all reuests and or enquiries were dealt with quickly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Themurgs4,


Thank you so much for your complimentary comments concerning our staff, and I am so pleased you enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The Hotel’s location is very popular with leisure and business guests.

We do hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

In a nutshell the stamford plaza was - easy check in..funny and friendly receptionist..scary but fun glass lift up..decent room..tiny balcony...fancy bathroom..and smoking inside!! was great..no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daglish perth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was a lovely hotel we had a lovely room with small kitchen. Lovely soft white towels and a decent hairdryer!
Really enjoyed the idea of wear red shoes and get a free glass of Moet!
Didn't have Christmas dinner there but room service breakfast was very good :)

Room Tip: Ones with a kitchen help keep costs down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Munsie-Mum,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas in Melbourne, and our Red Shoes promotion.

Come back and stay with us again soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.