We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but lacking something” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice but lacking something”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a nice hotel which is clean and comfortable however it felt like there was something lacking. Stayed for 3 nights over festive period. The foyer is very grand and the rooms don't quite live up to it.

We stayed in a king bed room. I think all the rooms include a kitchenette which we didn't need but if you were staying longer could be very useful. The bathroom is small and felt a bit cramped. There were two TVs! One in a lounge area (but the TV seemed very far from the seat on the other side of the room!) and the other opposite the bed. Bed was comfortable.

The location is excellent for central Melbourne. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that. The pool was a bit disappointing as it was too small to swim in. Didn't use the gym.

I did notice some of the rooms had a balcony on the inside over looking the atrium. That seemed a bit odd and I am not sure we would have used it if staying in those rooms. I don't think any of the rooms would have a decent view.

With the exception of the foyer this hotel didn't feel 5 star but we enjoyed our stay. We would try somewhere else if visiting Melbourne again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, Executive Assistant Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Kejones,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Our kitchenettes are very popular, especially at this time of the year for our leisure guests with families.

We do hope you will come back and see us again.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Brad Coelho
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    377
    144
    54
    32
See reviews for
156
458
61
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The Stamford Plaza in Melbourne was a great hotel to stay in! The room was clean and wel maintained. The space available with a lounge room was lovely. Decor was classic and comfortable. .things we liked:comfy beds and pillows,kettle and coffee/tea supplies, good quality toiletries, excellent bathrobes and slippers supplied.we didn't hear anyone next door to us either.good shower water pressure and spa bath. though we didn't utilize the pool,it was nice to know there was one! service was helpful and courteous.location was central to everything .though we didn't make use of the buffet breakfast offered nor did we do any cooking, you can request kitchen utensils if you want to cook in the room. Let downs:Internet too expensive to make use of, but that wasn't a problem for us as we could use Internet at cafes. Excellent value for money. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Zeld_156

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read your comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our recently refurbished suites.

Hope you come back again soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Prue Roderick
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Everything is very pretty but the shower has barely enough pressure to wash shampoo out my hair. Also we requested fresh linnen but they just made the beds. The power switches off when the room's motion sensors cannot detect movement, so we woke up sweating throughout the night and always come back to a hot stuffy room. Overall for the price you think it would be a little more frivilous/luxurious

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Calo_87

Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay with us.

It is with disappointment to read that your overall experience was not as it should have been. We strive to offer all our guests an enjoyable, pleasant experience, but it appears on this occasion we have not met your expectations.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind Regards

Prue Roderick
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Sharp central location near China town and within walking distance of Flinders st Station, the MCG and the Crowne Casio entertainment and hospitality precinct. The Stamford was obviously one of the city’s premier hotels when it was built, ornately fitted out for the era of construction with marble facades, gold plated fittings, spacious common areas and the full assortment of guest services you would expect from a 5 star venue. It has however tiered a bit, it’s time has passed somewhat and despite, extremely friendly and helpful staff, great food, comfy beds with exceptional linen it was dark and a little dated with most views of another dated high-rise 5 meters from your window. While it delivered to a high standard on all the basics, offered exceptional service and was very comfortable it just lacked the happening atmosphere of the city itself, the guests seemed to match the lighting and were all a little dim. I would stay there again if they had a good deal but for the full rack rate you would be far better off shooting over to South Bank and staying in the Crown or one of the series of hotels over there which seemed to be a little newer, a little more action packed and their outlook on the city is a little more ornate.

Room Tip: Higher up for a peaceful sleep but try get in the main eastern tower with the lobby as it has the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Inappropriatenz,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Stamford Hospitality. As we are at the Paris end of Collins Street we are in the ideal location for shopping, theatres and sporting precincts.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Well what more can I say.......... by the far the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff I have ever experienced. They simply could not do enough for us, and the times we did ask for something we were absolutely astonished at the speed with which they helped us.
We have a baby, and due to our first room not having a door to shut off the bedroom (a very minor problem which would of course be no problem at all if you dont have a baby) we asked if they happened to have another room available for our second nights stay that had doors to shut off the bedroom from the lounge room. Well they could not have been anymore obbliging and quickly took us to see another room, to see if we liked then, then promtly sent someone to get our bags and we were moved into another room that easily.
Again, we experienced the amazing service when I realised I had left something in the old room and we phoned reception to let them know. Within two minutes we had a phone call saying that yes, someone had been and located the item and would be coming to drop it off shortly. In about a minute, a knock at the door and with the normal smile we were delivered our item. So refreshing to experience such a high quality of service and to be really made to feel like a special quest, not just another one of the many.
Gemma on reception - amazing, also, I'm sorry but I cant remember your name, but a young man on front desk who had 'in training' on his badge - again, such wonderful people skills.
Sure the style and quality of accomadation does matter alot, but when you get staff that ALL go above and beyond to make your stay the best possible, and who clearly enjoy doing so, then that makes a truley great hotel. Thank you Stamford, you helped our little family have one of the best weekends ever!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with small children, ask for rooms with sliding doors to close off the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Jacintha F,

Thank you so much for your complimentary comments concerning our staff. We are so pleased your family had a lovely stay with us. I will certainly share your comments with our staff as it is important for them to receive such nice feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I was part of a group that had to entertain a couple of people from Singapore who wanted to eat local food we used this hotel as the guests stayed upstairs. From the time we arrived a group of 12 the bar provided well made coctails and drinks. We moved into the dining room which is large and noticed that only one other table was being used, the thinking was what is the food going to be like. The steaks served very good I even atempted a BLUE steak which was cooked the right way,we had a real mix of meals all of which well above standard , The one thing we could not understand is to why only two tables when this place was as good as if not better than some of the so called top earteries in Melbourne with the prices in most cases being half of the other places.
We as group will be back and as couples as well .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Obancas,

Thank you for choosing Stamford Plaza Melbourne to entertain your guests from Singapore. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harry’s Restaurant in the future to experience the new menu our Chef, Jacky Poon, has in place.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much and found the rooms excellent with everything we wanted. This hotel is an excellent city base for a visit being a short distance from an endless choice of restaurants and shopping.

Yes, they can be dark. However, for the for the price we paid and the location, we thought the hotel was great. The service is friendly, helpful and charming. The rooms are extremely clean and well equipped and maintained.

This will become our first choice hotel now for our visits to Melbourne!

Room Tip: Shop around for a deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear WingriderAustr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves for our friendly and helpful staff who enjoy working at Stamford Plaza Melbourne.

We are delighted you have made us your first choice for your visits to Melbourne. Come back and see us again soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel
Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience premium five star luxury in Melbourne's finest all-suite hotel. Located at the "Paris end" of Little Collins Street in the heart of the CBD, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is surrounded by the best of fashion, theatre, cuisine, and only walking distance to the city's famous sporting venues. An ideal location for those wanting to immerse themselves in Melbourne's vibrant culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list