We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Melbourne - with a kitchen!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 10% + FREE WIFI
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Melbourne - with a kitchen!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed at the Stamford Plaza for four nights on a business trip in November, we also paid for my wife to stay too.

It's a good hotel all things considered, we had a double on the 10th Floor, which also has a mini kitchenette - something you don't expect in a hotel, but useful as breakfast was $30ASD!

The bed was comfy and the room had a good bathroom, two flat screen TV's (excessive, but hey!), a desk to work at, room safe and a couch. To fit this all in the room has to be a good size and it was. What else? Well the elevator was glass and the walk to our room was along a open walkway / balcony and wouldn't be great if you had vertigo.

There was a swimming pool which had a sauna and jacuzzi - these were in the east tower and you had to walk across the walkway via the lifts to get to them from where we were. These were on the 16th floor so the pool isn't massive, but it's good for a quick dip.

Breakfast was good - watch out for the special coffee's though, you only have one of these included and then you have to pay - we nearly tripped up here.

The bar had a deal on most nights with food - burgers on Thursday, Oysters on another night and if you wear red shoes on a Friday at a certain time there was a free? drink on offer. They also include a 2 for 1 drinks deal card when you get your room card - but didn't tell us about it so check in your key pouch after you've checked in.

One grip - Wifi wasn't included. I think it was $19.95 for 7 days - but I could be wrong. I feel that this sort of service should be included at hotels. Others might be happy paying.

So, would I go back. Yes, I am in December.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Right in the heart of Melbourne with a Kitchen

Dear MJButler7,

Thank you for your lengthy and very informative comments following your 4 day stay with your wife at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. We really appreciate the time you have taken.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back later this month.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    499
    175
    63
    43
See reviews for
200
597
76
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

booked this hotel as a gift for my mother on her stay in Melbourne. upon booking having read other reviews I requested a room that would b quiet meaning no noise from busy elevators and clubs. ( i asked nicely by the way). Upon checking in I reiterated that although we booked for two nights we were only staying for one and late check out the next day leaving them to make a double profit off the room that very night. this fact offered us no complimentary extras in acknowledgement. fine. but the room we were given was right across from the elevator and now as I type I can heAr the night club from down below. I specifically asked for a quiet room and we got put by a elevator and near club!!I am glad we Are not here another night and I am upset. of all the hotels I could have chosen..and I only give service a 2 instead of one due to the friendly door man.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Centella 1,

I am sorry we did not get your booking right. I would like to apologise and would appreciate it if you would give me a call on (03) 9659-1175 to discuss further.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I hadn't realized that we would get a room with a kitchen and sitting area, so this was a nice surprise. Even though we were there for only 4 nights, we appreciated being able to use the refrigerator and have real dishes. My husband liked the room more than I did but I didn't find anything wrong with it. It just had a few quirks, like the shower door that opens only partially, so you need to reach around the door to turn on the water. Even with long arms, I had to be IN the shower to adjust the water temperature.

As far as service was concerned, housekeeping was average, with little things forgotten, like removing the ice bucket. Room service delivered ice quickly but no one took the bucket in the morning. Service at the bar was great !

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Red Nailz,
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. People like our suites with the kitchen due to the extra space they create, whether they use them or not. Many families come to stay with us for this reason. I am sorry the ice bucket was not taken away. I will discuss your comments with our Executive Housekeeper.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here for honeymoon. Basically we choose this hotel because of it location and also based on people review / feedback from internet. It located at strategic location and its not far from business centre. The room was absolutely great in condition, and the service was wonderful. Staffs were helpful and friendly. We would love to comeback again for birthday or anniversary next year. I would love to recommend this hotel to my family members and friends.

Room Tip: gym located at floor 11 and 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Melikhai,

Thank you for your lovely comments, we appreciate all feedback. We certainly hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Stamford Plaza Melbourne.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The room given to me was out of this world! Two TV's, lounge, kitchen, all in the middle of the city of Melbourne.

Good restaurants around the place, ok breakfast. Overall very good service as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Madman101,
Thank you for putting your complimentary comments on Tripadvisor. We were delighted you were so happy with your suite.

Come back to Melbourne again soon, we have so much to offer. Spoil yourself with one of our Magnificent Seven Burgers on a Wednesday, or on a Thursday try our freshly shucked Oysters.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Luxurious spacious suite with kitchen and laundry facilities. Staff were excellent and welcoming and did everything possible to assist me with a problem I had with luggage lost by the airline, that eventually turned up. Room service food was reasonably priced and good standard . I would agree with other comments regarding the smallish bathroom, and this would bother me more if staying on a holiday ,but for a business trip, the room was perfect. .This hotel is in a very good location if on buisness at the "Paris End" of Collins St in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less noise from the early morning garbage trucks that travel through the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustyMelbourne, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Bon2005,

Thank you for staying at Stamford Plaza Melbourne on your business trip. I am delighted that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, and the helpful service from our Concierge team. We will pass this on as it is important that our staff received positive feedback from our guests.

I am pleased you found the services and facilities of the hotel fitting for Business Travel.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Like us on Facebook.
Follow us on Twitter.

Kind regards

Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I took my mother away for the weekend to see Love Never Dies at the Regent Theatre. We got a good deal which inculded a 1pm check out, which had made the following day much more relaxing. I chose to stay at the Stamford mainly for the location, being so close to the theatre, a restaurant that I wanted to take mum ( Fabulous place call The Kitchen Cat) and the trams that would take us straight home the next day within a 2 min walk. I was surprised that the hotel still held my information from previous stay several years ago, which was just as fantastic. We got upgraded so my mum was very happy. The suite was luxurious. So wonderful to see quality furnishings with an elegant old world charm. It is most unfortunate these days that cheap and unsturdy furnishings are so widely used in modern style hotels and still expect to pay a high price. We loved everything about the suite and everything that was offered. A small but functional kitchen and bar area. Clever use of space. Lighting was practical. Air Conditioning/ Heater was easy to operate and quality of air was comfortable. Beautiful bathroom with a nice spa bath. Adequate bathroom amenities. Bed was cosy and comfortable. It was so comfortable that my mum refused to leave the room the next day, apart from getting breakfast! Buffet breakfast was delicious. Just enough variety and done with care. Scrambled eggs served in portioned size cups a much better way to keep quality than leaving a big dish of unedible eggs sitting in a pool of liquid, like most other hotels do. Have to say the overall breakfast experience at Harry's was far much better than our previous stay. Glad they had improved. It was also obvious that their maintenance team and housekeeping do, do their jobs properly. Not an easy thing to achieve but well done! Thorough cleanliness and general maintenance always get my utter attention, which can really affect my entire stay. Check in and Check out was efficient and friendly. What a wonderful place. Mum and I got to spend quality time together and she loved everything about it. Cannot wait to return but next time I won't be leaving my room at all...because there is no need to!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading all-suite 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel. Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the newly refurbished pool featuring sleek new furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, a recently refurbished gym that is well-equipped with cardiovascular and weight training equipments. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.