We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Luxury and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel to treat ourselves for our 25th Anniversary, and are so happy we chose this hotel. Luxury plus, super attentive service and all you could ever want or need. The view from the 48th floor was superb. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, and the room was spacious and well appointed, with the highest quality fittings, and immaculately maintained. I also loved the little touches like a makeup mirror in the bathroom, and automatic sensor in the bath as you walked in. I will also have to make a point of complimenting the concierge, so efficient, knowledgeable and friendly, superb customer service to make our stay in Melbourne effort and trouble free. In fact all of the staff were highly trained, and displayed exemplary customer service. Make sure you stop in at the Atrium cafe and try the cocktails!

Room Tip: The 48th floor has splendid views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback and thank you for choosing to celebrate your 25th Wedding Anniversary at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We pride ourselves on providing genuine service and those little extra touches that make a stay memorable. It’s great to hear you had a pleasant experience. Thank you also for your comments regarding the service you received from our Concierge team. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,311
    790
    213
    83
    37
See reviews for
371
1982
246
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wow, from the moment of arriving and getting out of the Cab, greeted in French and English and handed a card "this is the Taxi company and taxi number just in case you left something in the Cab sir" you knew you would be very well looked after. Check in quick and efficient and then to the room. What a view, the hotel sits in a high rise but built on top of office blocks below so the best city view of any Melbourne in my opinion, so high up. Rooms were large enough, ceiling to floor windows for that great view, that can also be closed off to sleep during the day. Room service was one of the best yet - warm, large and served very quickly. And to top it all off, you know you hate fumbling around in the dark for lights - the room has movement sensors to turn lights on in the bathroom, cupboard and room and not blaring lights but nice soft lights for the middle of the night, just to be able to see where you are going. And to top it off I selected this hotel on price - was the best value at time of booking off all same standard hotels. I will be back. Only disappointment - no pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I was thrilled to read your in room dining experience was one of the best, and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the Executive Chef. Due to the structure of the building, we are unable to build a swimming pool for guest use. We do offer our guests complimentary access to the swimming pool at the Novotel on Collins Street, so during your next stay you are welcome to use this facility. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe Qld Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The Sofitel at the top end of Collins Street exudes luxury and quality.
From the moment we checked in and all throughout our four day stay, the staff were excellent.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and our 40th floor position allowed for expansive views over Fitzroy Gardens looking towards the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
The retail area at Collins Place (ground floor) provided plenty of food options in addition to the hotel facilities.
Another highlight was the in room breakfast menu which has one of the best ranges I have seen.
The Sofitel on Collins is very highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Thank you also fore your kind words about the service received by our Ambassadors, it is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had a great opportunity to stay at the Sofitel using one of our Accor room vouchers. In the past we have never been able to use the vouchers at the Sofitel as it was always booked up what seemed like years in advance, but perhaps their policy has changed.

We stayed in a corner luxury room which had a picturesque view of Melbourne City. This hotel is very well appointed, although it's getting somewhat old now and could do with some modernisation, particularly in the bathrooms. You couldn't complain about the luxury room size - they are pretty awesome.

We ate at the Atrium on 35, we have been here on many occasions and it's always an enjoyable (although expensive) destination. We ate a lite meal (Atrium isn't a full blown restaurant, if you want that go to No35) which was really well done. I don't mind paying more for good quality food, prepared with a little flare.

If you are going to visit the hotel, I would strongly recommend checking out Accorhotels and signing up. Members get big meal discounts which we use all year round (even when we are not staying at an Accor group hotel).

The only negative was the parking fees - $50 for valet is over the top (given many hotels in the same area are charging $30-35 tops).

Room Tip: Pay the extra and treat yourself to a luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I also appreciate your comments on the areas you believe we can improve and I thank you for sharing your concerns. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This being my first time staying at the Sofitel in Melbourne. I have to say in the beginning I thought the prices were on the higher side, but now I can understand why it has such a good reputation.

We stayed in a deluxe suite. The room was very clean and well presented. On the 39th floor the views were beautiful stretching out past the city to the bay. At night the looking at the lights from bed was just divine! The sleeping in that bed was like floating on a cloud. You also have the choice of what type of pillow you would like for your stay.

The bathroom, although a bit out dated was acceptable. A decent hair dryer was provided and the complimentary soaps smelt amazing.

The staff were most polite and willing to help with any request. The concierge was lovely and went out of his way when a couriers package we were expecting did not show up. The doormen were extremely helpful and everyone we encountered smiled.

The location was perfect. Located pretty much in the middle of the CBD with public transport at their doorstep. The Sofitel on Collins street has an array of coffee shops, low to medium priced places to eat in their food court and also a cinema. Their own lounge 'Sofi's' was a relaxed setting with beautiful furniture, but average coffee for Melbourne standards.

Overall our stay was excellent! I would definitely recommend the Sofitel. The reputation it has is well deserved! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Accor made changes from July 1st , one of them is to give access to executive lounges for platinum members from July (sofitel Gold Coast , brisbane). sofitel melbourne doesn't; if you have high status, go to hyatt next door for lounge access; that's the reason why I won't stay there. The staff wasn't able to give me a reason why the access is not allowed; the bed is not typical of "my bed": hollow ; Internet: complimentary access ...limited to data!!!
The hotel fails to provide advantages to its platinum members; won't be back.
Very good location , superb atrium , nice bar and great views from the room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your constructive review of our hotel. It is disappointing to read that we were unable to meet your expectations and I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning. It certainly pains us to read your feedback as our goal is to make you enjoy your experience and return. In regards to your comments about a complimentary access to Club Lounge, Sofitel's in Australia are not part of this program currently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins from the 24th May 2014, because of our early arrival our plan was to leave the luggage at reception and do some exploring. An upgrade room was apparantly available with a harbour view for an extra $40. After checking in early, the view from the upgraded room was really nice but if looking at Port Philip Harbour is not a priority then it's better to save the cash.
The room was clean but showed some signs of getting a little run down , the decore in the main part of the room was tasteful and while the Sofitel prides itself on having a pillow sleep system [where you can order diffenent types of pillows], it would help if the bed was not showing signs of being totally worn out . There were two defined hollows in the bed! at least there was no chance of anyone rolling on to the wrong side. The bathroom was also well appointed but showed signs of substandard repairs and the ceiling had a large gap in the corner.
The bar/dining area called No35 , level 35 had a great atmosphere with large floor to ceiling windows and great views , the restroom is also worth checking out.
The Sofitel staff are helpful and friendly and the decore of the rest of the hotel also of a high standard. Overall the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins appears to present as a top end hotel but our room was in definite need of attention.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for providing us with such detailed feedback after your stay with us. We are always pleased to read such positive comments as you mentioned, and especially the service you received from the team here.
Your constructive comments are appreciated and well taken. We apologise that these issues kept you from having a flawless visit. We do hope to have you back in the not too distant future.
gain, thank you for taking time to advise us where we can improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;