We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Queenscliff, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

A wonderful, well appointed property, in an excellent location. The highlight however,were the exceptional staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Overall an outstanding and highly recommended experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I appreciate your comments on the service provided by our Ambassadors and i will be sure to pass on your feedback. We hope to welcome you and your guests back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,224
    755
    206
    81
    36
See reviews for
358
1908
243
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there early December 2013 for a week to attend the International Diabetes Congress so the Hotel was quite full and very busy. It had been a few years since my last stay and the friendly superb service was still a stand out with this Hotel.

The location of this Hotel is ideal to explore Melbourne, most of the major City sights are within walking distance. If shopping is your reason to visit Melbourne then you are ideally located. Walk to the theatres to see a show if that is your want. If your down for a sporting event then a number of sporting venues are within walking distance, say 20 minutes or a short taxi or tram ride.

I was there on business, you'll find this is a great hotel for your corporate needs whether it is conferences or meetings then you'll be very looked after.

Right out front on Collins Street is a tram station giving you easy access to most places in Melbourne.
Fancy a meal, well you could dine at the Hotel and you enjoy your meal or walk down the rear entrance to Flinders Lane to discover a excellent dining experience that Melbourne is famous for.

I stayed on the 41st floor & my room was excellent for the week, housekeeping standards first class and the beds are just brilliant, so comfortable. I had views across Park and towards Southbank. The bathroom is large and plenty of bench space. The only think I didn't like is a shower in the bath, I really don't like that but for most it isn't an issue. The WiFi connection through Hotel was quite good.

The breakfast dining at this Hotel is first class and it is breakfast with a view from the 35th floor, oh and make sure you visit the toilets on this floor, talk about a 'LOO WITH A VIEW'

The hotel has a great gym but only thing that is missing is a pool, so that maybe this could well be a negative for some, especially if you are a family with children on holidays, or you like to swim for exercise.

The staff here do the the expected very well and provide an extra level of attention to you as a Guest whether it is just a Good morning (with a genuine smile) or in my case I was being visited by an elderly relative who is disabled in a wheelchair. He was greeted at ground entrance escorted to the lifts then the staff ensured he knew where to go and meet me in the 1st floor Lobby/Reception area. We went for drinks
& nibbles in the bar on the 35th floor and again we had staff find us a quiet table and that my elderly cousin's needs were looked after. It made for a very enjoyable evening.

I highly recommend the Sofitel on Collins, what ever your reason for for visiting Melbourne.





Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is not often one takes the time to write with such thoughtful praise. Your kind words regarding your experience at the hotel and the subsequent service provided by our Ambassadors is truly appreciated. I have shared your caring words with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Although it took 3 times to enter my room, the front office staff, the girl who was on training was very patient to help me to fix the swipe card. The bay view on level 47 was superb. Check out was quick and done by the same girl, hope she gets better in the field!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and our Ambassadors were able to assist you. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly Ambassadors. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your guests back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Superbe 5-star hotel in the center of Melbourne! 5-star service, excellent amenities, top breakfast, calm rooms, ...I would always recommend coming back when staying in Melbourne. The location of the hotel is a great starting point as well to discover the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, i was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is within close walking distance to various attractions which is why our guest choose to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here in early December 2013 with my wife. The hotel is excellently situated and the level of service was unimpeachable.

For such a large hotel, I was impressed that restaurant staff and the concierge recognised us and remembered our room number during the course of our stay.

In addition, when we returned to our room to drop off some things while it was being cleaned, the maid wasn't afraid to ask us for our keycard to check we were who we said we were - very reassuring.

There was even a little box of chocolates and fruit selection on arrival.

Will definitely stay here the next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your kind words about our Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stylish, romantic and just simply fantastic. A great place to get away for a night and in one of Melbourne's best settings and close to everything. Lovely service and staff. We have stayed many times before and we will stay many more in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your comment on Tip Advisor. I was pleased to read you had another enjoyable stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Loved our recent one nights accom. 47th floor breathtaking outlook, try to have the view back to the ocean, worth the extra as it encaptures back to the Tennis Centre and surrounds. Recommend the buffet breakfast but have a freshly made eggs florentine etc. from the chef on call as they were perfectly cooked and hot. The dumplings prior were very tasty whilst waiting. Superb service all round, will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. The views of Melbourne are spectacular from our guests rooms (47th level) and dining areas on level 35. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our Chefs. We look forward to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.