We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Magnificent from the moment we stepped into the lobby. The check-in process was simple and quick. The staff were fantastic and friendly. The rooms were stunning with a comfortable bed, incredible bathroom and great city views.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you had a "Magnifique" stay with us. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you and your guests back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,412
    828
    228
    88
    40
See reviews for
383
2,071
257
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Sofitel Melbourne is very well located at the top of Collins Street, the major business thoroughfare in the city. The Sofitel sits atop a tall office building offering great views of the city. The service is 5 star, as you'd expect from a Sofitel. The rooms are spacious and technologically advanced. The staff are very well trained and extremely service oriented. This is my "go to" hotel for my frequent trips to Melbourne.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. . We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a great location. Rooms are a good size. Having stayed at the Hilton on South Wharf a few times, I prefer the location of the Sofitel, but prefer the rooms at the Hilton. Staff were very friendly at check in. I would stay here again mainly for the location rather than because the rooms were amazing or service was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your guests back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Luxury room at 46th floor corner, WHAT A VIEW! Excellent!

Room itself was basic, but bed was great and from the bed you have the views. Specially liked the wooden shutters which made sure that we could sleep in. Clean and spacious room if you wish to spend time inside.

Bathroom was spacious, but did not have enough lighting for my liking. Door to the corridor is not soundproofed and doors banging (both neighbors and staff access) can be heard to the bed.

All staff members seemed friendly and efficient. We didn't try the restaurant in the hotel as there are plenty of good ones around the hotel, even for breakfast. Bar service was good but I was bit disappointed that there was no view, perhaps that was saved for clubroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your guests back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My favourite part about staying at the Sofitel was their amazing beds. It was like sleeping on a cloud!
We stayed during the Australian Open, and saw a few of the competitors during breakfast in the morning. Nice rooms, friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly had a pleasant sleep on the Sofitel Mybed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I am a platinum member of the Accor hotel group & have stayed in Sofitel & Pullman hotels this year in Asia , Europe & the USA for over 60 nights This is the worst room I stayed in for a modern property The whole room & bathroom were the same size as the bathroom in the Pullman I stayed in last week in China.
A very small 80's style room with a tiny bathroom ( shower in the tub )
More like a nice 3 star.
Bed pillows etc all good and the same as other Accor properties ( as expected )
Guys down stairs at concierge parking have no idea as to the hotel as I asked them questions when I gave them the keys and all info given was wrong ???
As a platinum member a upgrade is standard as with a whole lot of other goodies.
Room upgrade
I don't think so ( if there was a smaller room it would be a joke )
Free drink
Only when I asked for it
Free Internet
Limited to only 250 ( big deal cost the hotel nothing )
Anyway most unlikely I will return.
I will go back to my previous hotel when in Melbourne

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.