We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive up to 30% Off
Ranked #3 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a very comfortable 4 night stay in this hotel. The exec room are large and pleasant - with amazing views of the city from the 49th floor. Interior design is conventional and inoffensive as is the food in the restaurant. Hotel staff are v friendly - but the faux French theme (bonjour...?)wears thin... The breakfast is v good. Gym is well equipped. Overall the interior could be improved and would not win any awards - but for a well located, comfortable stay this is a fine destination.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us on the 49th floor. As a French brand, we are required to use the French greeting. We are currently working with designers in order to renovate all guest rooms in 2014 and 2015. We appreciate your feedback and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your guest back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,100
    716
    196
    79
    33
See reviews for
349
1808
238
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel and amenities were excellent. The breakfast was awesome. Thoroughly enjoyed stay and would stay again. Only disappointment was the staff at reception hadn't read the booking instructions clearly and gave my nephew a hard time on arrival for the accor card which it was clearly stated he was just here to use the room to change and I would be bringing the card in later. Don't do anything out of the ordinary and you will have a fab time here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the miscommunication from our Reception Ambassadors and have forward your comments to our Front Office Manager to review with the team. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was an excellent 2 days at the Sofitel, great service and excellent food. Views from the 47th floor were exceptional.

We would stay there again in the future as the experience was wonderful in all respects.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay on the 47th floor. The views from the hotel are spectacular and we look forward to welcoming you and your guest upon your return back to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Website has no set rooms or prices, that match up. Deliberate oversight so they can tap your pockets on arrival. There marketing through other websites say 5 star but call the rooms different names again, so you will never actually know what room your paying for until you arrive. Then it goes on availability. All working to there favour. We paid $500 on special through wotif, normal value $785 for a 5 star room, for 3 people. Great bargain so we thought. On arrival we were welcomed, then asked if we would like to park the car , only $55,
then a spiel about what great value it was. I parked close by for free. While i parked the car my son checked in, offered a room upgrade for $20 he again jumped at the bargain, a 5 star room upgraded how lucky are we, after parking the car 300 metres away,
i went to reception to get my key,
jumping in the elevator and insert my card it takes me to level 43 and stops, doors closed still and it stays like that for 10 minutes before returning to the ground. I call my nephew and he comes down and using his key we get to level 47. In the elevator he said to me the room wasn't much bigger than the elevator,making me laugh
walking into the room I starting looking for the rest of the place.
there was none making me laugh then get enraged. A 15 foot square box is not 5 star no matter which way you cut the sandwich. My son went back to reception and i have no idea how much extra he had to pay again to move into an actual 5 star room ,
similar to the rooms on website,
because they have a different label for everything on purpose,
the room we got in the end though
was nice, with great views, the staff were polite at all times
and the building itself was nice.
if you smoked you had to go outside the building and far away
despite being on level 47, extremely convenient, and well thought out by a non smoker.
again we differ on what 5 star customer service entails.
there is no pool or free services,
everything was an extra, ice $5.
the fridge was more like an esky
so if you want a cold drink you needed ice. Having said all that as soon as they stop calling the rooms 10 different names on 10 different websites and i know what i'm actually paying for , so there is no embarrassing. Confusion i will return, i thoroughly enjoyed the end result but still don't know how much extra the actual room was at the final upgrade. The on special is fiction at best.


















  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First stay at a Sofitel in Australia and it was excellent. Quick check-in and upgraded to a Junior Suite with fantastic views across the city. The Club lounge is one of the best we have encountered (special thanks to Jenny and Andrew). Great housekeeping and the location is perfect for a stroll through the Fitzroy Gardens or some serious shopping in the other direction. We will be returning for another visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read your first stay with Sofitel in Australia was with Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I appreciate your comments about the service received by our Ambassadors and will be sure to pass on your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

we had a v pleasant stay here for a sunday night in melbourne. caught up with local friends and enjoyed the exec lounge access and offerings. we'll be back. we've stayed at the Langham, both hiltons and now here and have to say they all have there good points.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you had an enjoyed the Club Sofitel experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Sofitel Melbourne
Melbourne Sofitel
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.