We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms with all ypu could require. I was upgraded to a junior suite which was in studio style with the living area in the same area as bedroom, but very spacious. bathroom also a nice size and well appointed eith seperate bath and shower. Very friendly service, although bags a little slow coming up to the room. Great views, including from level 35 restaurant. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the delay in receiving your bags during your stay and have passed on your comments to our Driveway Manager. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,705
    963
    275
    102
    47
See reviews for
442
2,323
279
676
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great hotel, pretty much the same standard as you would expect from any Sofitel across the world. We got the corner luxury room, great views of Melbourne. Nice little touches eg chocolate on arrival, drink cards. Buffet breakfast as same as other 5 star buffets eg good range to cater for different people.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read your enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to pass on your feedback to all Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Amazing corner room overlooking the city and bay beyond. Large and super comfy beds. Sofitel Club is great value as family can eat anytime of the day and gives you 2 restaurant choices for breakfast. Restaurants and cinema so close.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a corner room on 49th floor with expansive views of the north east and north of Melbourne. Especially good at night as the sky darkens and the lights come on. The room was large and a very comfortable bed and two comfortable chairs to take in the views from. The bath is deep and the bathroom itself is good.

Service is very important, I believe, and can often be critical to how enjoyable your stay becomes. In this case the service was first class. Cedric the young man who brought our luggage to our room was very polite, friendly and helpful. We also found the staff at Sofi's and The Atrium were also very good.

The hotel is well located and would highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: A corner room is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us on the 49th floor, the views are spectacular. Thank you for your kind words about the outstanding service received by our Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to the hotel during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The interior of the hotel is quite appealing and rooms were always well stocked and clean. Staff were quite friendly throughout the stay. Disappointed that we did not receive anything for celebrating our anniversary, despite notifying them of the special occasion and staying for a week, they only tried to get us to pay more for upgraded rooms.. However, that was the only downfall and it was a overall pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently had a trip to Melbourne to see King Kong and celebrate a family birthday. We stayed at the Sofitel on Collins and took advantage of Club Sofitel on level 35. We stayed in a Prestige Club suite on level 44 and had high tea Sofis.

The room was very spacious and had exellent views. Rod Laver arena, hot air balloons MCG etc.
The High tea was a buffet style and the range and food were excellent. Everyone who attended said it was the best high tea they have had. (Including several melbourne residents.)
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Club Sofitel was well worth it. I would recommend to others travelling for leisure or business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your guests enjoyed the High Tea and service provided by our Ambassadors, I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,422 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.