We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night at the Sofitel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #4 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,313
    791
    213
    84
    37
See reviews for
371
1983
247
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The interior of the hotel is quite appealing and rooms were always well stocked and clean. Staff were quite friendly throughout the stay. Disappointed that we did not receive anything for celebrating our anniversary, despite notifying them of the special occasion and staying for a week, they only tried to get us to pay more for upgraded rooms.. However, that was the only downfall and it was a overall pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently had a trip to Melbourne to see King Kong and celebrate a family birthday. We stayed at the Sofitel on Collins and took advantage of Club Sofitel on level 35. We stayed in a Prestige Club suite on level 44 and had high tea Sofis.

The room was very spacious and had exellent views. Rod Laver arena, hot air balloons MCG etc.
The High tea was a buffet style and the range and food were excellent. Everyone who attended said it was the best high tea they have had. (Including several melbourne residents.)
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Club Sofitel was well worth it. I would recommend to others travelling for leisure or business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your guests enjoyed the High Tea and service provided by our Ambassadors, I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a wonderful two night stay - in a corner room with spectacular views. The most comfortable bed I've slept in. I'm going to buy one! Didn't have time to sample the other facilities as so much to offer close by in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bright and airy with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and a pleasant sleep in the Sofitel Mybed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the future and for you to enjoy the other facilities of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are regular guests of the Sofitel in Melbourne and may well continue to stay here as the location and Accor membership are worthwhile.
It does appear apparent that there are less staff, and less competent ones at that these days.
We booked 3 nights on the Club Level and were shown to a room that was covered in dust (everywhere) and looked directly into an office building - so no privacy at all. We asked to be moved and eventually we got moved to a room that was similar to any other time we have stayed there - nothing special, but very comfortable and a beautiful view from the 49th floor.
Being on the Club floor, you are able to have breakfast in the Club lounge each morning and two out of the three times, we had to get up to ask for a coffee and to order our breakfast as there seemed to be no staff on the floor at all! We also had to ask for items that were depleted on the buffet but not replaced (and this was half way through breakfast times).
I like the Sofitel, but there is no doubt that each and every time I stay here, it has obviously slipped a little further. What a shame.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Only stayed overnight, in between meeting engagements and flying in and out. The staff were perfect - just the right mix, attentive and helpful but not overbearing or scary. I felt special - something that doesn't happen very often in hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the service received by our Ambassadors, I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.