We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday Me!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Pokolbin, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday Me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a fantastic hotel - the views, the staff, the ambience! Big thank you to Cedric who was extremely friendly and very professional and made our check in and check out a breezy delight! The location is perfect - easy walking distance to great shopping and restaurants and also within walking distance of Melbourne's South Bank which is home to the famous Crowne Casino! Visit the Merrywell for great steaks and cold pints! The linen in the rooms was deliciously soft and a sheer delight after a long day of sight seeing and after going to the Rhianna concert it was much appreciated to walk back in to our well laid out room with all the services one would expect from the Sofitel. Bath Robes, Slippers and all bathroom amenities are within reach and a well stocked mini bar and great variety with the Room Service Menu makes this Hotel my must go in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your birthday stay with us and hope you enjoyed the Rhianna concert? Thank you for nominating Cedric our Driveway Ambassador for outstanding service, it is truly appreciated and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to him. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,206
    750
    205
    81
    36
See reviews for
357
1894
241
515
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for one night only on 5 October 2013. The location on Collins a Street is very convenient for Central Melbourne , shopping and restaurants. We had a room on the 47th floor with a fantastic view and an unsurprisingly excellent bed. Breakfast was fine with very attentive service. The Design of the Hotel with a central 15? storey atrium is very spectacular. It does, however, limit the size of the rooms which are not generous and our bathroom was small. We stayed on Saturday night, there was a birthday party in the Atrium Bar and we could hear Happy Birthday being sung 12 floors below as we got ready for bed. We didn't mind as everyone was having fun. And the room design is clever enough that when we lay down in our excellent bed we couldn't hear the party at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us the 47th floor and had a pleasant sleep in the Sofitel Mybed. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just a one night stay, but upgraded to a refurbished room on the 50th floor. Spotlessly clean as usual, and welcome pack of chocolates well received. Bathroom had a walk in shower (no bath), and fittings that appeared new. Very grateful for the bathroom amenities including a comb as I discovered the next morning that I'd forgotten to pack one. The My Sofitel bed is comfortable, and offsets the impact of the noise floating up from the Atrium bar, which is gone by about midnight. What would make the room perfect is free wi-fi - as pervasive as pillows these days, and should be included in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us on the 50th floor and the amenities provided in your guest room. Your comments regarding the internet charges are also appreciated. I do recognise and acknowledge your suggestions for the internet service to be free of charge or included in the accommodation room rate, which is a topic of discussion within our company at the moment. Unfortunately in 2013, they will remain along with our competitor hotels, but I am sure that in the not too distant future, changes will be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

great hotel in a good location will stay there again. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from our room was great. The Regent theatre was in walking distance as was the Princess theatre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is within close walking distance to various attractions and theatres which is why our guest choose to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It can't get much better than tennis all day and The Sofitel at night. We stayed here during the Australian Open and could not have chosen a better place. I think we had a corner Luxury room somewhere above the 30th floor with lots of space and plenty of natural light. The view was almost 180 degrees and was amazing. We could see Melbourne Park and the surrounding area.(Flinders Park - Yarra River ???) The bed was comfortable and the linens were exquisite. The lighting in the room and marble bathroom added to the ambiance. The staff was more than accommodating and our room was kept spotless. It's quite possible to catch a glimpse of tennis stars there. If we are ever lucky enough to visit this wonderful country again, and make it to Melbourne, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: When you book a room, make certain you know if you're getting a king size bed or twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us during the Australian Open. The accommodation rooms at the hotel start from level 36 to level 50 and the views of Melbourne are spectacular. I appreciate your kind words about the service received by all Ambassadors, I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great stay I booked for my 24 th wedding anniversary and the lady gave me a fantastic room and we were treated excellent. With even a champagne bottle brought to our room we will defiantly be back x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read your enjoyed your stay with us and Congratulations on your 24th Wedding Anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I spent the night in a suite at this hotel and intend to make this our destination whenever we come down to Melbourne to stay in future. The staff were genuinely friendly, approachable and welcoming. The suite was superb with views to Port Phillip Bay and Melbourne suburbs. Beautifully appointed with nothing left to chance. Fantastic asset for Melbourne. Well done, Sofitel!

Room Tip: Corner suites have the best view - ask the friendly reception staff for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.