We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just a one night stay, but upgraded to a refurbished room on the 50th floor. Spotlessly clean as usual, and welcome pack of chocolates well received. Bathroom had a walk in shower (no bath), and fittings that appeared new. Very grateful for the bathroom amenities including a comb as I discovered the next morning that I'd forgotten to pack one. The My Sofitel bed is comfortable, and offsets the impact of the noise floating up from the Atrium bar, which is gone by about midnight. What would make the room perfect is free wi-fi - as pervasive as pillows these days, and should be included in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us on the 50th floor and the amenities provided in your guest room. Your comments regarding the internet charges are also appreciated. I do recognise and acknowledge your suggestions for the internet service to be free of charge or included in the accommodation room rate, which is a topic of discussion within our company at the moment. Unfortunately in 2013, they will remain along with our competitor hotels, but I am sure that in the not too distant future, changes will be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,232
    758
    206
    81
    36
See reviews for
358
1913
244
522
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

great hotel in a good location will stay there again. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from our room was great. The Regent theatre was in walking distance as was the Princess theatre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is within close walking distance to various attractions and theatres which is why our guest choose to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It can't get much better than tennis all day and The Sofitel at night. We stayed here during the Australian Open and could not have chosen a better place. I think we had a corner Luxury room somewhere above the 30th floor with lots of space and plenty of natural light. The view was almost 180 degrees and was amazing. We could see Melbourne Park and the surrounding area.(Flinders Park - Yarra River ???) The bed was comfortable and the linens were exquisite. The lighting in the room and marble bathroom added to the ambiance. The staff was more than accommodating and our room was kept spotless. It's quite possible to catch a glimpse of tennis stars there. If we are ever lucky enough to visit this wonderful country again, and make it to Melbourne, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: When you book a room, make certain you know if you're getting a king size bed or twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us during the Australian Open. The accommodation rooms at the hotel start from level 36 to level 50 and the views of Melbourne are spectacular. I appreciate your kind words about the service received by all Ambassadors, I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great stay I booked for my 24 th wedding anniversary and the lady gave me a fantastic room and we were treated excellent. With even a champagne bottle brought to our room we will defiantly be back x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read your enjoyed your stay with us and Congratulations on your 24th Wedding Anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I spent the night in a suite at this hotel and intend to make this our destination whenever we come down to Melbourne to stay in future. The staff were genuinely friendly, approachable and welcoming. The suite was superb with views to Port Phillip Bay and Melbourne suburbs. Beautifully appointed with nothing left to chance. Fantastic asset for Melbourne. Well done, Sofitel!

Room Tip: Corner suites have the best view - ask the friendly reception staff for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a 4 nights stay. Very good service, but the room is a little bit older than expected. Very good location on Collins St. They forgot the toothbrush at first night, but after i told the hotel receptionist, it replaced in 5mins.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are currently working with designers in order to renovate all guest rooms in 2014 and 2015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson Lakes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great hotel. Only thing is it's expensive but I guess that's what a 5 star hotel is all about. Thank you for your service my girlfriend and I both loved it and it was amazing you put a bottle of wind in the room for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us and the bottle of wine in your guest room upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.