We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite melbourne hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, Australia
1 review
“Our favourite melbourne hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night for his birthday at the end of August, having stayed in all the 5 star hotels in Melbourne this is by far our favourite. This was our 4th stay at the hotel and the service is always fantastic and the location is perfect. The rooms are always extremely clean and the check in is fast and efficient. On this stay we were given a complimentary room upgrade and when we returned to our room after an appointment we found a complimentary bottle of champagne and card wishing my husband a happy birthday. The views are just incredible and we checked out again wishing we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skidaisy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Welcome back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Pleased to read you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us for his birthday celebration. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all Ambassadors about your experience during your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

With all the hotel room above level 35, I'd assume all rooms had the great views we had. We stayed in room 4820 and had stunning views across Melbourne. The shutters were a welcome addition as were the dual chairs both at the desk and the dual single longues. The bed was big and soft and comfy. The bathroom products were stunning. We appreciated the Nescafé in room coffee machine. Sadly the mini bar and in-room dining was expensive. The cleanliness was great expect for under the shower screen when opened for a bath. The mood lighting and attention to detail in terms of fittings and finishes we're great. We had a Wotif Mystery room deal and as such had a great room rate but no breaky included. I would definitely stay here again at this rate. A lovely location in the Paris end of Melbourne up near Exhibition Street.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments trip advisor, pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins during your next stay visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had booked 6 nights here , the room was lovely if a little dated but had no windows . We decided to move to another Accor hotel as a result . The service , offer of upgrade and willingness to refund nights was maxing . Well done to this hotel , if we had a opening window we old have stayed . That was our only fault as we have become used to that at Sofitel viaduct Auckland and had a long stay it was our fault to assume this feature would also be available here.

Room Tip: High rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Fantastic views of the city, Great service with a smile. As 90% of hotels room service is a rip off..If you are a smoker, Smoking rooms are available. and they are very clean. Very close to everything in Melbourne city tram station right outside with taxi's available at your door 24/7

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
481 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have stayed at the Sofitel for over 10 years whenever in Melbourne for business and sometimes for pleasure too. Check in/out was efficient and concierge staff went out of their way to assist. The buffet breakfast is a treat - make sure it's included in your deal.
Only quibble is the hotel's attempt to block out mobile telephone access. Not worthy of a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: High floor with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddoch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Welcome Back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins and thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for bringing to my attention the service disruptions you experienced with the mobile phone reception. Unfortunately, due to the construction of our building, some rooms do have weaker reception than other rooms, and I do sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your visit. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins for 1 night with our 5 year old daughter.
The hotel was fantastic.
We were upgraded to a junior suite because we are le club accor gold members.
Every staff interaction was friendly and efficient.
This hotel has the best service at any hotel with a buffet breakfast,,never had to look around to get a coffee refilled. We dropped the car off at valet parking a few hours before we checked in as we had travelled from the country and had a family luncheon to attend.Check in was seamless and our bags were in the room as promised.
We had some ice cream and gelati for room service and these were all house made and delicious.
As we live in the country we allways have to stay in a hotel when we visit Melbourne and the Sofitel is now our preferred option.
The location is great with Chinatown just a short walk and the view from the room over the mcg, Yarra river and government house just stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martykatlillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay us. Thrilled to read our Ambassadors were friendly and efficient with all your request during your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the Chef with regards to the ice cream and gelati from the In room dining menu. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a five star hotel and it was obvious - we loved it. We paid $284 for two of us for one night, breakfast not included. A stand out was the customer service we got - everyone was so friendly and helpful in every way. The room was great. The windows even had shutters on to keep out the light, which is better than most 5 star hotels we stayed in. We accidentally booked two single beds, which we don't recommend, and next time we will make sure it is the king bed. It was lovely and quiet, we couldn't hear anyone outside our room. We were so grateful for valet parking as driving in Melbourne in a hire car was a bit of a nightmare for us and the $50 was a great investment. There is a great feel to the hotel and the reception area is fabulous - such a big space and high ceilings and lovely lounges. Perfect placement for visiting Melbourne city - we were able to walk to everything. If you are driving a car be careful not to overshoot the entrance it is well back off Collins Street and looks like an insignificant laneway - it is before the big red postbox. Also when you turn into Collins street make sure you turn into the very left lane otherwise you are accidentally on the tramlines. Thanks to everyone who looked after us. We would go back, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: We were on the 41st floor in room 08 and had views across Melbourne to the hills. The rooms don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelGreenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us on level 41, the views of Melbourne are spectacular. I am also appreciative of your kind words about the customer service received by our Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,853 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,641 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Towers
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing