We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #4 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

3,393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,281
    781
    212
    82
    37
See reviews for
367
1955
246
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very good room with view of the botanic garden, and even better service! From the check-in staff to the super efficient and knowledgeable Concierge Pablo. Hats off to you all. Fantastic! This is now our top hotel choice whenever we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and the staff were so rude to us. Also if u want ice it costs $5!!! The room was small and smelled old and musty. I had heard from so many people how wonderful this hotel is but we definitely won't be back, worst hotel stay ever. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was very concerned to read your comments about the service received by Ambassadors at the hotel and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay. I would be interested to know some more detailed feedback in relation to your comments if you could please email me directly via h1902-am01@sofitel.com . I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We can not fault our stay at this hotel. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are treated like royalty and there is nothing to small the staff can do for you!

Room service is expensive but as you would expect from a 5* hotel!

Absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your comments about the price of our Room Service menu and I thank you for sharing your concerns. Room Service pricing is based on surveys of hotels in our competitive set and also based on the cost to run Room Service. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having stayed here before I checked the cost of staying in a club lounge room and found to my surprise it was the same as a standard room in a 4.5 star hotel, so it was a no brainer.
Was I glad
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special.
Booking in at the lounge was far nicer, than at the desk
For the next 4 days we were spoilt by the staff in the lounge
We were relaxed from the first moment, and enjoyed our shopping, then back to the lounge for a POT of English breakfast tea
ALL the staff were great and attentive, nothing was a problem
The food was top of the line and very enjoyable, with more than enough for any one and there was also beer, wine and spirits on the shelf for free
The changeable Melbourne weather caught me out a got a cold and runny nose
I used all the tissues in the bathroom and asked the floor supervisor for more, which came immediately, and when the room was made over an extra box was left in the bedroom. For the rest of our stay she checked to see if I needed anything what great service.
This was very enjoyable stay
Thank you all
We will be back in the lounge again

Room Tip: looking over the bay are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our friendly Ambassadors took great care of you. I do hope you are feeling better. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.