We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view from the 49th floor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful view from the 49th floor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in Melbourne my whole life
But from the top of this hotel it looked like an entirely different city!
I slept with the window shutters open becuase I couldn't believe Melbourne could look so amazing!

Beds were soft and warm everything you could want in the hotel room

Breakfast was great!! Full buffet anything you could want!

Only one small complaint
The bathroom is quite dark and could do with an extractor fan

Otherwise a perfect hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that we were able to give you another amazing view of Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,408
    828
    228
    88
    40
See reviews for
382
2,069
256
570
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hubby and I stayed at the Sofitel again on the weekend and we were not disappointed. We were welcomed back with a cute chocolate gift and two free drinks. Our Presitige Suite was superb and the view from the 47th floor was spectacular.The staff were extremely friendly and professional. The Club Sofitel experience was again fabulous, offering a light luncheon, afternoon tea, drinks and canapes and even sweet dreams (supper). It really is the best Executive Club of Melbourne's luxury hotels. I really don't know what else to say. I just love this beautiful hotel and next time would love to try out one of the 50th floor suites.

Room Tip: Prestige Suites and Club Sofitel upgrades are worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Welcoming staff in all areas.
Attention to detail evident.
Excellent service.
Great location if attending the theatre or the MCG.
Spectacular views of Melbourne from the 35th floor restaurant.
Valet parking was a strong feature.
Defintely stay at Sofitel Melbourne again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

In Melbourne; you're quite spoilt for choice with hotels, especially high-end ones. But this hotel delivers in all aspects.
I have stayed on three occasions; each time in a club room. The rooms are quite spacious and offer truly stunning views of Melbourne. My most recent stay sported views across the Yarra River and beyond to the Port. The rooms themselves feature everything you could want from a hotel and are tastefully decorated. The bathrooms look a little tired but are very very clean and have ample amenities.
The set up of the hotel is quite impressive with the lobby on level one and the guest rooms beginning on level 36, with a huge sunlit atrium spanning all floors from 35 to 50, and the guest rooms running around the outside.
The club lounge is very nice a fireplace and ample sofas and tables to relax nicely. On my first two visits it featured an open bar, but on the last visit bar service has been installed, perhaps for RSA reasons, but find it tends to create a queue as the lounge fills up. Breakfast is special with a menu to order hot items (the pancakes are delicious) and continental items on the buffet. Definitely sufficient for most.
The only downside to the hotel is the lack of a wow factor in the lobby and on the guest room floor corridors...the lobby looks a bit tired and underwhelming, and the guest room floors are feeling a little...90s. Otherwise the service is superb, the views are amazing, the food and beverage offerings are nothing less than we've all come to expect from the Sofitel name, and the personable feel of the hotel makes it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

great food in the restaurant,(nice views again),massive beds and nice and quiet.
Relaxing bar area,well worth a visit.Very handy to all Melbourne's action,which is great with the tram passing the front door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.