We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will keep going back, again and again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #4 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will keep going back, again and again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hubby and I stayed at the Sofitel again on the weekend and we were not disappointed. We were welcomed back with a cute chocolate gift and two free drinks. Our Presitige Suite was superb and the view from the 47th floor was spectacular.The staff were extremely friendly and professional. The Club Sofitel experience was again fabulous, offering a light luncheon, afternoon tea, drinks and canapes and even sweet dreams (supper). It really is the best Executive Club of Melbourne's luxury hotels. I really don't know what else to say. I just love this beautiful hotel and next time would love to try out one of the 50th floor suites.

Room Tip: Prestige Suites and Club Sofitel upgrades are worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,317
    793
    214
    84
    37
See reviews for
372
1987
247
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Welcoming staff in all areas.
Attention to detail evident.
Excellent service.
Great location if attending the theatre or the MCG.
Spectacular views of Melbourne from the 35th floor restaurant.
Valet parking was a strong feature.
Defintely stay at Sofitel Melbourne again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

In Melbourne; you're quite spoilt for choice with hotels, especially high-end ones. But this hotel delivers in all aspects.
I have stayed on three occasions; each time in a club room. The rooms are quite spacious and offer truly stunning views of Melbourne. My most recent stay sported views across the Yarra River and beyond to the Port. The rooms themselves feature everything you could want from a hotel and are tastefully decorated. The bathrooms look a little tired but are very very clean and have ample amenities.
The set up of the hotel is quite impressive with the lobby on level one and the guest rooms beginning on level 36, with a huge sunlit atrium spanning all floors from 35 to 50, and the guest rooms running around the outside.
The club lounge is very nice a fireplace and ample sofas and tables to relax nicely. On my first two visits it featured an open bar, but on the last visit bar service has been installed, perhaps for RSA reasons, but find it tends to create a queue as the lounge fills up. Breakfast is special with a menu to order hot items (the pancakes are delicious) and continental items on the buffet. Definitely sufficient for most.
The only downside to the hotel is the lack of a wow factor in the lobby and on the guest room floor corridors...the lobby looks a bit tired and underwhelming, and the guest room floors are feeling a little...90s. Otherwise the service is superb, the views are amazing, the food and beverage offerings are nothing less than we've all come to expect from the Sofitel name, and the personable feel of the hotel makes it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

great food in the restaurant,(nice views again),massive beds and nice and quiet.
Relaxing bar area,well worth a visit.Very handy to all Melbourne's action,which is great with the tram passing the front door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that the offerings in the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

First up, this has to be one of the best 5 stars in Melbourne, so there is little to add to all the great reviews, but I do - as usual - have a couple of small qualms, that are - as always - about detail and just going that extra distance that will always distinguish a hotel from the rest. In this case: dealing with early check in. I appreciate it is not always possible, but I arrived at 9.30 and was informed that although there were rooms available they had a better outlook and were consequently more in price, so I'd have to pay the difference. I can deal with that if a hotel is at full occupancy or if it's a suite, etc, but I think that as a courtesy, and as a way of making a new guest feel special (and consequently WANTING to make the hotel the first and only choice when travelling) it would have been absolutely the right thing to do to just give me that room.
That aside, the room I did get (right on check in time - so it was 4 hours of killing time for me) was very nice - noisy neighbours, but that is about personal consideration as it's impossible to soundproof hotel rooms I suppose.
Room service is good, and not too bad in price, but the added service charge seems inappropriate and discourages from tipping, as the charge is a hotel one and doesn't go to the staff. Why this charge?
And despite fairly reasonable prices on the food, $39 for continental breakfast is just too exorbitant.

Room Tip: If you're around the atrium go as high as possible as there is noise that drifts up to the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to hear that you rated the hotel as “One of the best”. We pride ourselves as providing all our guest with “Life is Magnifique” at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. With your early arrival the requested room was not ready as the guest was still in the midst of departure and there is time needed to clean and sanitize the room for the next guest. We like all our guests to feel the room as home away from home. With the continental breakfast at $39, we take pride in providing our guest with the finest produce from Australia and the breakfast experience is important to us as it is the most important meal for guests. The Room Service delivery charge is actually a service charge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.