We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed and centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well appointed and centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Sofitel is a very good hotel and very conveniently located in the CBD in Melbourne. I styaed on the top floor in the hotel (probably 42nd floor, can't recollect exact floor number) and the view from this floor was magnificient. With the MCG on your left, SBS building and tower and Yarra river view in front of you and Victoria Market on your right, you cannot get a better view form any other place in Melbourne. The room has three sides windows. In the morning one can see the beautiful Sunrise from the window and also the hot air balloons going up on the left. One can go walking to the various parks and the MCG.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors for a good view outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your room on the 42nd floor and the views of Melbourne are spectacular. Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is within close walking distance to various attractions which is why our guest choose to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,373
    819
    224
    87
    39
See reviews for
381
2,039
255
557
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What better way to get away from it all, but to check into the Sofitel Melbourne for the weekend in the middle of winter?
We holed up, watched some movies, went out for dinner, enjoyed lovely long walks in the nearby Treasury and Carlton gardens, enjoyed some shopping, and the Hollywood costume exhibition at nearby Federation Square. Everything is so close by, a short walk to everything. Club Sofitel was gorgeous, drinks, nibbles, a lovely view, breakfast, and even a nightcap at the end of the night.
What can I say, except that the amenities make it impossible for you to not relax, rest, and rejuvenate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor. As they say, relax, rest and rejuvenate and that’s what the doctor ordered. I was glad that you found it in Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. Your overall experience was met with touching the surrounding offerings and matched with unparallel facilities of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Qld
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Hav stayed at this hotel several times - always very good - staff friendly and attentive. Upgraded to a refurbished room this time which was nicer than the standard rooms - really like the gym with great views over the MCG. Good location on Collins Street. Happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor. I thank you for your continued support and recognising our Ambassador’s passion for great service. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am sorry but my opinion of this hotel is very poor, especially compared to other hotels in the area. I cannot understand how it can seriously rate this highly (and I stay in a lot of hotels).

There was no single thing that was, in itself, terrible and there were a couple of strong positives, but it really was death by a thousand cuts:
poor shower set up (a bath tub, shower head, and swiveling glass partition), no hot water on our first night - none, poor television set up (cannot be watched from bed, though not all rooms are like this), noise all night long, terrible attitude and service at the restaurant, minimal gym facilities, limited engagement by staff, hair in the bathroom etc.

No hot water? we were offered to move rooms at 12am. No other compensation. Alternative room was smaller than the one we were already settled in, so no thanks. Noise from an alarm going off outside all night (we were on the 40th floor)? We were told it was not the fault of the hotel. That is it. When we came to check out, after one night, and 2 days earlier than intended, unable to use the complimentary "$60 food and beverage voucher" that came at the rate we were paying, I was met with the indifference of the manager (who, to be fair, was nevertheless professional and helpful in obtaining a refund through hotelclub). All this for $380 per night? You have to be joking.

I walked 200m over to the Westin with my partner and received a room that was almost twice as big, impeccably clean and bright, with a wonderful shower, unlimited movies, great views, totally noise proof, a pool (there isn't one in this sofitel), and a much better gym, all for a slightly lower rate than the sofitel.

I am at a loss regarding my experience.

My partner swears by the sofitel brand, travels weekly across Australia and Asia, and she too was dumbfounded by what we found.

Service at check-in was exceptional. Service otherwise (by hotel staff, not restaurant) was attentive and professional. These are the only positives I can think of for the stay.

Room Tip: No pool. Gym much smaller than it appears in photos. Some rooms have more light but TV is set up per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad to hear your partner swears by the Sofitel brand. I was however disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Your in depth comment has been forwarded to the relevant department for further review. The check in Ambassadors displayed the kind of service you truly feel was professional and for that I thank you. I will definitely forward that to the relevant department. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We usually stay at the Hyatt on Collins but this time couldn't get the dates,so decided to try the Sofitel on Collins instead ,another 5 star hotel. We certainly didn't expect it to be as nice as the Hyatt but at least be in the same ball-park,wrong wrong wrong! on so many counts. A very Tired room a bed that dipped badly on one side, a shower that soaked the bathroom when used,a phone that didn't work .When asking housekeeping if we could get some light milk for the room we were told of course and the cost will be 5$ thus is something we have never experienced even in much lower rated hotels .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor. Thank you for choosing Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I am however disappointed to hear that the room did not meet your satisfaction and the lapse in service by the housekeeping department. Your comment has been passed on to the relevant department for further review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.