We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star treatment for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Traralgon Vic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star treatment for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The 5 star service starts the minute you pull in the driveway. Or in our case after you miss the driveway a couple of times and drive around the block!! Got 2 rooms on a wotif mystery deal to bring my simple country folk parents on a trip to the big smoke! I was a bit worried when it turned out to be the Sofitel as they are easily overwhelmed and don't like getting out of their comfort zone. I needn't have worried as the staff were so friendly and patient. They didn't even bat an eyelid as they tagged up my mother's bright blue 'Devondale' esky bag full of snacks and wine. The only thing brighter was the redness of my face. Both check in and check out were swift. Rooms are jaw droppingly gorgeous with uninterupted views like no other hotel in Melborne. It was too beautiful to close the blinds while we slept. Well lit vanity for doing makeup. Needs a bit more vanity space. Once you put your toilet bag down there's not much room for anything else. TV in the bathroom was a little wasted above what was a pretty average looking bath. Bathroom and room were spotlessly clean. 10/10 for the huge cosy comfy bed and heavenly feather pillows. We weren't too facr from the lift and could unfortunately hear the bell from inside our room which woke me up. Location is perfect for proximity to theatres and our favourite theatre the MCG. This hotel would be perfect if it weren't for one aspect shared by most hotels and restaurants. OVER INFLATED drink prices. The jig is up, we're not stupid, we know that we can by a bottle of Moet & Chandon from Dan Murphys for $50. Please stop charging me $15 for a glass of sav blanc when I can buy the whole bottle for less. If your mini bar was reasonably priced my mother wouldn't have to bring her eye catching blue esky would she? Nonetheless I still loved this place and I'm going back again this Wed for my b'day. Just hope mum's not using her esky.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I am glad the friendly hotel Ambassadors were there for you to make your stay a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back on Wednesday when you celebrate your birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,679
    947
    269
    102
    47
See reviews for
440
2,294
280
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Reception & lobby areas are on the first two floors, the accommodation is all from the 35th floor up of the Telstra building on Collins. Ideally situated with one of Melbourne's marvellous tram network stops outside. We have been warned though that parking here can be expensive,so if driving seek alternative arrangements (Google parking Melbourne CBD).
This hotel has the "WOW factor in spades and the staff were all extremely helpful & friendly. The views from the rooms are to die for, beds are extremely comfortable, my wife went into "nesting mode" & refused to get out!! The bathrooms are excellent AND functional in a country where they seem to go in for style over function meaning you get soap all up the mirror and miss the hand basin completely!
Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I am glad the friendly hotel Ambassadors were there for you to make your stay a pleasant one. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent service by the conceirge and crew on arrival and departure. Front desk service also very good even though two sets of cards would not allow us access to our assigned floor from the lifts. Manager used different card and different lift and escorted us to our assigned room. Lighting in room is appalling as is the technical contraption that controls it. Service in Sophies Lounge was non- existant. Other than that it was all good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I was however disappointed to read about the lapse in service you received from the tea lounge, Sofi’s. I have passed on the comments to the relevant department to review the comments. I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited Melbourne for 1 night 2 days primarily to see the Monets Garden exhibition. My partner talked me into staying here as it was more central than another option I was looking at, and we ended up booking a club room for a bit of luxury.

I think we got an upgrade because we ended up in one of the huge corner rooms, level 37 in our case, and I think the other club rooms are quite a bit higher. But we were very happy as the room was so big and 37 floor is already plenty high up - and we were on a perfect corner where depending on which window you stood at, you could see everything from the MCG around to the northwestern suburbs into the distance.

Club Sofitel has something complementary going on almost all day - breakfast (long hours!), lunch, afternoon tea, canapes & alcoholic drinks (non alcoholic drinks any time), and at 8pm some sweet treats. Various TV screens as well but they don't dominate the room. Computers as well in a little nook. The main bar is very close by. Half the value of staying in a club room is being able to make use of all of complimentary food and drink.

The staff were all fantastic and helpful. Location is at the very east end of Collins St but very easy to get a tram for a few minutes down to the Swanston St & Elizabeth St area which puts you close to Bourke St Mall and Flinders St station. So really the location is great too.

The weather was pretty good and clear and there were such amazing views in most directions (either from our room or Club Sofitel) throughout the day and night. Even just looking out in one direction from our room you could see Fed Square, Yarra River, Arts Centre, Albert Lake/Park, the St Kilda breakwater, and of course over Port Philip Bay and various boats out there.

When we are back in Melbourne one day I think that unless we're low on money, we'll be staying here in a club room again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. I was glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The offering in Club Sofitel has been the talk of the town and I was glad that you enjoyed the experience. I will be passing your comment to the relevant department for special mention and it will be a proud moment for the Ambassadors. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The Sofitel is a spacious hotel that boasts large, high-tech rooms. The attached mall is pretty horrible but Club Sofitel somewhat made up for that - all day complimentary snacks and drinks, with a great view of Melbourne. Unfortunately we weren't given the documentation for the Club upon check-in so that was an inconvenience. The hotel is within walking distance of most things but it does lack the "wow" of Crown on Southbank. You don't really feel like you're at the heart of everything. The bed was amazingly comfortable as were the rooms as a whole. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. We have taken on board your review especially the missed documentation in Sofitel Club,upon check in. I am glad your overall stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Queensland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The good: great location, good view (from corner room), lovely room.

However: two problems we encountered which do not meet my expectations for a five star hotel. The lighting dimmer control system in our room was not functioning correctly (a light kept coming on and going off throughout the night). We reported this and it was looked at but not fixed. We were left a note telling us there was a problem with the dimmers - which we already knew! We were offered no compensation for this.
Also, I discovered a used band aid stuck to the bath towel I was using. Not acceptable, and disappointing for a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: Good views from corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was glad to see you loved the location, the view and the lovely room. I was however disappointed to read about the lapse in service you received from our Maintenance and Housekeeping Ambassadors and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here twice now for quick weekend trips. Both in Sea and land view rooms.
Service is fantastic and rooms whilst maybe a little dated compared to other 5* Hotels i.e. Westin are spacious and well appointed. The bed is very comfortable! As an Accor Le Club Platinum you are treated very well and the extra perks are great!

Location is just a short hike up from Swanston and handy to trams.
Definitely stay agian

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. Thank you for choosing us for your weekend stay. I was glad to hear that we made your stay a pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,338 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.