We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at Sofitel for combined business and personal.Well located to the city with easy walking distance.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
My room was spacious with a good view and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,234
    763
    207
    82
    37
See reviews for
358
1919
246
524
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I only stayed one night but was treated like I was staying for a month.
My room overlooked Port Phillip Bay and was on the 47th floor. This was probably the best view from a hotel room i have had. The room was excellent and the beed very comfortable.
The location is superb.

It is hard to fault the sifitel chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over Port Phillip Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will share with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

From arriving at the hotel you notice the 5 star service. Check in was quick and efficient and as an Accor Platinum we got some nice extras in the room. Room was clean and excellent size wise.

The only issue I had with the room is the fact that the shower is in the bath tub and I almost fell whilst getting out. I loved the motion sensors in the bathroom though so you don't have to look for the light switch at night.

Transport outside is perfect with taxis just bye and the tram just a couple of meters away.

Excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I was concerned to learn that you almost fell while getting out of the shower and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights to attend a meeting and was impressed by the room size, with clever angles and mirrors that make it seem even more spacious. The bed was almost too comfortable with the fattest pillow top I think I have ever seen. I was excited at seeing a pillow menu with 6 options, as usually these high end hotels favour down pillows that flatten as soon as you look at them. Unfortunately, despite ordering a few pillow alternatives from housekeeping I found they were either too firm or too soft. I seem to be just like Goldilocks when it comes to pillows. I have to say though that the U-pillow they provided was handy for watching tv in bed and I ended up using it to sleep on as the consistency was what I was used to from home.

The bathroom was great, although the shower is over the tub which can make it awkward to get in and out. There was a fabulous makeup mirror that lit up in the bathroom. In fact the lighting throughout the room was very cleverly done and could be controlled via a remote control panel on the bed side cabinet. I had to wear my glasses to read the screen, but once you knew what you were meant to press it was great.

Instead of curtains/block out drapes there was simply a privacy blind and then wooden shutters on the windows. I never thought I was claustrophobic until I closed the shutters to block out the skyline lights at night - I had to leave one ajar so I didn't feel completely boxed in. I can appreciate that it looks slick and I presume requires less maintenance than curtains but I thought the room lost its cosy touch. The only other issue was the TV remote control. I thought the battery was flat as it worked if I held it up to the screen but if I sat back in the bed it wouldn't change the channels. I left a note in the morning next to the remote control asking for the batteries to be changed, and I presume it didn't happen as I still couldn't change the channel from the bed, but had to be holding the remote within 1m for it to register.

I'd still recommend the hotel though as the location is excellent, the service wonderful and the rooms very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I apologise that you could not find a suitable pillow from our range pillows we offer to our guests through our pillow menu. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for business for just the one night, I would have been happy to stay for a few more. The bed is amazing! But there's more to this hotel than a comfortable bed - there's the service, the food, the views and the location. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our Ambassadors. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have just spent three nights at the Sofitel and can't fault it in any way. It is wonderful, truly 5 star. The location was perfect for me as I was attending a wedding just across the road at The Old Treasury building. The service was polite, attentive, warm and friendly without being over bearing. It is clear the staff have been trained to the highest standard. My room, on level 38, had a stunning view of the MCG, Rod Laver centre and right across Melbourne and out to sea. I was happy just staring out the window at all times of the day. One morning 4 hot air balloons passed right by my window. The room itself was probably the best I have stayed in with every possible facility and an exceptionally comfortable bed. A few weeks ago I stayed at another hotel in Melbourne which I disliked intensely and vowed never to return to. I would happily return to Melbourne simply to stay at the Sofitel. By the way it is quite charming that the staff greet you in French (it is a French chain) and I like the fact that they have a "Candle Master" who lights great displays of candles in the foyer each evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Sofitel Melbourne is a wonderful place to stay. The accomodation is new, modern and very clean. The views are spectacular in all directions especially at night time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal with public transport just outside the front door. The buffet breakfast on the 35th level is to die for. A wonderful place to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I was delighted to read your comments and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins, we constantly strive to provide a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations and I am most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.