We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night at the Sofitel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“night at the Sofitel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found this hotel to be an excellent place to stay, overnight or longer. The staff were very friendly and helpful, without exception. A special mention should go to the outside staff who greeted us warmly and took care of our car. The hotel is a great base for the theatre precincts at that end of town and for its proximity to Treasury Gardens. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It is with great pleasure that I read your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience and I am most pleased that we lived up to your expectations. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,560
    904
    255
    97
    43
See reviews for
421
2,211
266
619
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at Sofitel on Collins with a friend for a girls' getaway and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From the moment we first walked into the room on the 41st floor we were blown away by the fantastic view which only got better at night when the city lights came on. Once we closed the door it was as if we had the whole building to ourselves - we didn't hear a sound from outside the room. The door staff, reception staff and the concierge were welcoming and helpful. If I had to say something a teensy bit negative it would be about the less than enthusiastic service we received in Sofi's where we had a drink while we were waiting for our transport to the airport for our flight home. I'm prepared to overlook that minor disappointment however - maybe the waiter was having a bad day..... I will definitely return to Sofitel on Collins.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is with great pleasure that I read your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I am delighted that your enjoyed your experience and I am most pleased that we lived up to your expectations. I was however disappointed to read about our Ambassadors attitude in Sofi’s Lounge, this is an unacceptable level of service and therefore I have passed on your comments to our Director of Food and Beverage for immediate review with his team. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel for the first time in May 2013 and was pleasantly surprised. My standard room was large, functional, comfortable and with a great view over Eastern Melbourne including the MCG. The foyer was very imopressive with its large atrium and sophisticated lobby and bar/lounge area, where I was able to conduct a key meeting with morning tea and muffins. The Sofitel has ambience that makes it a pleasure to be there on business or for couples looking for a romantic getaway..highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Everything was exceptional on my recent business stay at this Sofitel, which is located perfectly in the CBD for the business traveller. The booking was made via Trivago, and it is possible to attain a purchase price via this route which is cheaper than many normal rates at much lower quality hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, and the service is friendly and efficient. This was the first time we stayed at a Sofitel Hotel, and our room was on the 49th floor with magnificent views of Melbourne! The Room decor is classy and the beds are very comfy. My one criticism is that there was no moisturising lotion supplied. The location is fantastic for shopping and we went to 2 really good restaurants all within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in April 2013. Had park view room which was generous size, clean and comfortable with great view. Quality bedding. Only comment is that bathroom on small side and toilet plumbing below par. Comments from friends also staying at the hotel suggest some common problem with toilet flushing. However, would not hesitate to stay at Sofitel again and happy to recommend. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout.

Room Tip: Get room facing park if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for writing such an honest and constructive review of the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I was disappointed to read about the issues you experienced with the plumbing in your guest room and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay. I have passed on your feedback to our Engineering team for their immediate review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our second stay at the Sofitel and again it lived up to its reputation. The staff provide excellent service and the views of Melbourne are outstanding. No 35 restaurant was a delight for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.