We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #4 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in March, the view from the room was stunning (was tempted to cancel dinner and stay in the room with a glass of red hehe). Needless to say but this hotel was great in all departments and I didn't want to check out!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. It is wonderful to read you had such an enjoyable time. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,283
    781
    212
    82
    37
See reviews for
368
1956
246
535
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The shower in bath is very dangerous.Stayed for four nights for family wedding,last day fell while getting out of shower(no grab handles or such like)smacked head and cracked rib.On checkout initially tried to charge me $250 for doctor coming.Final result manager said he was sorry and next time I stayed I could request a walk in shower.
5 star joke really.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sir. The last wish we would ever want is to see a guest injured in our guest rooms, therefore every element of the room is approved by relevant building codes. I apologise that you did slip in the bathroom and also that you suffered the pain you did whilst you were here. We were concerned with your welfare and several Doctors were called by us and you. There was confusion over the Doctors billing based on several Doctors being called. I apologise this overshadowed our desire to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at the Sofitel and again it was an excellent experience. The staff are very professional, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The location of the hotel provides a wide range of eateries and entertainment at your doorstep. Some eateries we loved and a must try are Chin Chin, Ezard and for the most amazing baked eggs / breakfast is Cumulus Inc. Highly recommend the Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for returning to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. It is wonderful to read you had such an enjoyable time. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night in early January to celebrate my birthday, and a month later to celebrate his. For both stays we had booked a suite with club access. The rooms are very spacious and the views from the corner suites are amazing. We received complimentary sparkling wine which was a nice gesture. The service was faultless.

The club lounge had a very generous supply of food throughout the day, excellent breakfast and a wide range of drinks and canapes in the evening. The staff in the lounge were very attentive. We had a really enjoyable stay on both occasions and will certainly return.

My son and his girlfriend also stayed recently (we had strongly recommended the Sofitel to them). They also had a lovely evening, but unfortunately my son's girlfriend became quite unwell during the night. The hotel was wonderful in providing them with an extended checkout until she was able to travel. Emily, the duty manager, was especially helpful and considerate, and this was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback. We appreciate them very much and the staff will be thrilled to read them. We are grateful to have Ambassadors like Emily who provide service from the heart and hope that your son’s girlfriend has recovered well. Thank you for making mention of Emily. We look forward to seeing the family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

great hotel, friendly staff, beautiful views, terrific service all round - able to get pillows you want and had great room service - beautiful food delivered promptly. A very enjoyable experience and I would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review of our hotel. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Sofitel in Melbourne is one of our favourite hotels. The service is always excellent. We were staying there again to celebrate our birthdays and were given chocolates and a bottle of bubbly as a gift to celebrate. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your positive review on Trip Advisor. It is great to read you would recommend our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We chose the Sofitel for our 10th Wedding Anniversary as we had stayed there previously and remembered just how much of a good a time we had.......and we weren't let down!

From the Valet parking, to the easy check in to the welcome at breakfast, the staff could not be more warm and friendly. We were upgraded to a corner suite and surprised to receive a complimentary bottle of champagne and a signed card from the manager.

To top it off two Classic Cocktails on the 35th Floor as part of our package was a great way to finish the night.

The hotel itself is central to Melbourne. The rooms haven't changed much in the last few years, but they are clean, have brilliant views and everything works! It's worth the money.

Room Tip: Corner suites have views both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.