We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night in early January to celebrate my birthday, and a month later to celebrate his. For both stays we had booked a suite with club access. The rooms are very spacious and the views from the corner suites are amazing. We received complimentary sparkling wine which was a nice gesture. The service was faultless.

The club lounge had a very generous supply of food throughout the day, excellent breakfast and a wide range of drinks and canapes in the evening. The staff in the lounge were very attentive. We had a really enjoyable stay on both occasions and will certainly return.

My son and his girlfriend also stayed recently (we had strongly recommended the Sofitel to them). They also had a lovely evening, but unfortunately my son's girlfriend became quite unwell during the night. The hotel was wonderful in providing them with an extended checkout until she was able to travel. Emily, the duty manager, was especially helpful and considerate, and this was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback. We appreciate them very much and the staff will be thrilled to read them. We are grateful to have Ambassadors like Emily who provide service from the heart and hope that your son’s girlfriend has recovered well. Thank you for making mention of Emily. We look forward to seeing the family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,418
    829
    228
    88
    40
See reviews for
384
2,075
258
570
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

great hotel, friendly staff, beautiful views, terrific service all round - able to get pillows you want and had great room service - beautiful food delivered promptly. A very enjoyable experience and I would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review of our hotel. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Sofitel in Melbourne is one of our favourite hotels. The service is always excellent. We were staying there again to celebrate our birthdays and were given chocolates and a bottle of bubbly as a gift to celebrate. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your positive review on Trip Advisor. It is great to read you would recommend our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We chose the Sofitel for our 10th Wedding Anniversary as we had stayed there previously and remembered just how much of a good a time we had.......and we weren't let down!

From the Valet parking, to the easy check in to the welcome at breakfast, the staff could not be more warm and friendly. We were upgraded to a corner suite and surprised to receive a complimentary bottle of champagne and a signed card from the manager.

To top it off two Classic Cocktails on the 35th Floor as part of our package was a great way to finish the night.

The hotel itself is central to Melbourne. The rooms haven't changed much in the last few years, but they are clean, have brilliant views and everything works! It's worth the money.

Room Tip: Corner suites have views both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sofitel Melbourne. I booked a "city views" room. Upon arrival I was shocked when I looked out the window to see the suburbs not the city. The staff wouldn't help. I complained after I left and the response from the manager of the hotel was "technically they were city views". Waste of money staying there, very misleading. Also internet was terrible, definetely wouldn't consider the hotel for business use if you need the net.

Room Tip: Don't go there if you need good internet access or expect views what they qoute. Mobile phone se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the view from your room on level 36. We are certainly not misleading guests as the views this hotel are better than most hotels based on our rooms starting on level 36. The view overlooking the beautiful St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Parliament House and the Treasury Gardens are generally well received.

I apologise that the internet signal was not sufficient and am glad it was provided on a complimentary basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my husband. From the moment we arrived, we received nothing but fantastic customer service. They really make you feel welcome. Because this hotel belongs to a French chain of hotels, they have to greet all guests in french, which I found hilarious. If you can speak a bit of french, have some fun with it : )
We stayed on floor 49 in a club room. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. There is a coffee machine in the room, which we also enjoyed. The bed was comfy and soft and the pillows and covers were so fluffy, I felt like I was sleeping on a puffy cloud! Everything you need is in the room and of good quality. I really couldn't fault it.
The breakfast at the Executive lounge is also fantastic. You can help yourself or order from the menu. Staff are really friendly and attentive.
There is a lovely fire place in the middle of the executive lounge with a comfy lounge that wraps around it. It's a great way to relax with a drink, in front of the fire place, whilst also enjoying the breath taking views from the 35th floor!
My only criticism is that perhaps the executive lounge is open to too many rooms so it can get a bit busy at times but they were able to accommodate everyone beautifully so it wasn't really an issue.
I'm really struggling to find anything wrong with this hotel. The food was tasty, well presented and we didn't have to wait long for anything. On our last day, we went downstairs to the bar area next to the lobby and I had the best creme brulee! We really had a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Stay in a club room with full access to the executive lounge, worth every cent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. It was also fantastic to read you found our Ambassadors to be friendly and attentive. I will be sure to share your lovely feedback with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The location: Just around the corner from Parliament station. Tram stop right out the front. Free City Circle tram around the corner in the other direction. Or just walk down Collins St into the centre of things. Hire a bike. Melbourne is a great city to walk around as it's fairly flat. If you walk too far you can always cheat and take the free tram or bus back.
The hotel: We had lunch (Sunday buffet, Yum.) and breakfast the next morning. If you don't pay extra for a bay view room, you can always get the same view at No35. (The restaurant) Just ask for a bay view table.
The room: The hotel rooms start on the 36th floor, so you're guaranteed a view, but the best view in my opinion is the bay view. From these rooms you can see the bay, obviously, the Yarra River and from higher floors, Albert Park Lake and beyond.
The rooms are quite generous in size and always spotlessly clean. The bathrooms, however, are quite small. Ours had one of those awful bath/shower combos which I really hate. The plus is that there is lots of room on the vanity unit to store all your toiletries.
We stayed for our anniversary, which has become somewhat of a tradition. We often have weekends away and have stayed at other similar establishments in Melbourne, but always return to the Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for returning to the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.