We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, phooey to your shortbread!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Oh, phooey to your shortbread!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A small but clean room on the 42 floor, with wonderful views over Port Phillip Bay. Watch young Jimmy next to those floor to ceiling windows. Its a loooong way down and that glass doesn't look anywhere thick enough. Disappointing behaviour from hotel in sending me a letter after my stay telling me they had billed me for goods from the mini bar. I hadn't touched their mini bar except to look for milk for the tea (which I couldn't find). OK, mistakes happen, but rather than call, the hotel just took the money out of my account without asking. Extremely poor form. I'll even go so far as to yell out 'shortbread fraud'. Jokes aside though, courtesy obviously comes a very poor second here...... once you've left the premises, that is.

Lots of really great hotels in Melbourne of which Ive stayed at a fair few. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your honest and constructive review of our hotel. I am disappointed that you were incorrectly charged for a minibar item which you did not consume and I sincerely apologise. I will be following this up with my team to ensure this situation does not occur in the future. Rest assured the glass meets all stringent building standards. I do hope we may welcome you back one day for a trouble free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,563
    905
    256
    97
    43
See reviews for
421
2,215
266
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel with my husband, son and his girlfriend booked 2 rooms club level as a treat we had the most enjoyable time, staff are excellent, room comfy clean and wonderful views, though I did expect rooms to be bigger, bathroom beautiful. Club level fantastic nibbles & non- alcoholic drinks all day, evening more food! and alcohol served - staff in club room are very accommodating, breakfast served here was plentiful. The views from the club level were amazing and our rooms were on the 48th floor so say no more! The city was in party mode with the food & wine festival, Moomba & sporting events.. Managed to get to the league on the sunday unfortunately our team lost but was very impressed with how they have their sporting complexes set out. Of course shopping in Melbourne is also great. Had not been to Melbourne for sometime and really enjoyed venturing around this city.
I would stay at the Sofitel again great place to stay especially for a special occasion also central to everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I was most pleased to read your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience. Please accept my most sincere thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

The Hotel certainly is centrally located and I am glad that this was convenient for your needs.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a suite at this Hotel in February. The Check in was quick and easy and we were delighted to arrive in our room and see the wonderful view over looking part of the city. The room was large and well fitted out, very clean and up to the minute features. We had access to the Club Lounge which shared an equally impressive view accross the city. The selection of drinks and food in the lounge was excellent and we spend many hours there just ejoying the view.The hotel is at the top end of Collins street and only a short walk to a free tram service which goes around the central CBD. A great Hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are appreciated by everyone here. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs harbour
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were very impressed with the Sofitel in Melbourne its so central to everything, very clean and well appointed. The vies were fantastic, staff warm frendly helpfull.Value for money and woild stay again .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I was delighted to read your comments and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At Sofitel Melbourne On Collins, we constantly strive to provide a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations and I am most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landlocked in the South
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I first stayed here in 2008 and remember having a good experience...

Now in 2013 some of the petals have fallen off the rose...

The staff is still nice and the lobby / entrance is still "Grand" but the interior of the hotel is worn down and the elevator lobbies and hallways look like they are due for a rip and replace.

Google shows this property as a 5 star but it is at best a 3 star... sorry..

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift bank. there are a LOT of elevators in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience.

I am most appreciative of your comments and am pleased to advise you that we are talking to our owners about updating the physical product.

Again, thank you for your constructive feedback and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our daughter booked us into this hotel as a Christmas present. We stopped at the Sofitel Melbourne from the 21st Dec 2012 for two nights. The room had views from every wall and you could see all over Melbourne. What can we say about the bed it was the best bed we have ever slept in and we are both in our late fifties! The river the tennis complex everything. The staff were so welcoming and did everything in their power to make our stay one to remember (which it was). They booked up our trips for us they walked us round to show us where we had to catch the bus they really could not have done any more. The ambience of the hotel is brilliant relaxed but very stylish. Wish we were going again and hopefully will one day and we will definitely stop here again. Thank you Sofitel.

Room Tip: Get one quite high to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the sofitel, good service, comfortable clean room, Service was excellent at reservation and check out. When we arrived we were advised the room we requested on higher floor was not ready but immediately offered a comparable room on a lower floor which we accepted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.