We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVENLY STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

3,284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,211
    751
    205
    81
    36
See reviews for
358
1896
241
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

An excellent hotel. Rooms very clean and large. Beds comfy with choice of pillows. Staff were extremely helpful and we were able to stay an extra hour before we checked out which helped with the baby at no extra charge. Lifts were a bit slow and didn't always work, but overall very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor it is appreciated by everyone here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It is impossible to fault this hotel, and everytime we have stayed there, the staff, room facilities and the BED have made our stay an absolute delight. Having stayed at many properties over the years, the Sofitel Melbourne leads the field with friendly, cheerful and extremely helpful staff. Added to this is the comfort level of the rooms which can best be described as brilliant. If thinking of staying at this hotel, do your self a favour and enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January.

The hotel is in an office building and there is a full height atrium looking up to the rooms, which was impressive, if a little dated in terms of design.

The room was decently sized and had good views of the city. There was the usual furniture of double bed, day bed, study desk etc. The bathroom was adequate too, but with a combined bath and shower. Linen and L'occitane toiletries were in good supply. We were also able to use the complimentary ironing and shoe polishing service they had on offer as well.

Breakfast was at the Sofitel Club located on the thirty-fifth floor. They had a buffet , which had a decent selection. They also had an a la carte menu, from which I tried their Eggs Benedict and Pancakes, both of which were good and very filling. Service could have been better in terms of staff numbers, which affected its efficiency.

The gym was on the thirty fifth floor and that had a good equipment range and views of the city. They also had massage chairs, which I had not seen before in a gym. They do not have a swimming pool.

The Club did not let us use their facilities to freshen up when we had a late flight after we had checked out, which was a little disappointing. There was no morning newspaper service, compared to other branches we had recently visited. There is also no wifi apart from in the Club, which requires a different password for each login, which is slightly inconvenient.

The hotel is well located in the CBD, close to shops, offices and attractions such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground and Tennis Park.

We drove to the hotel and parking is valeted only.

This is a nice hotel with a good service range and facilities. Staff are friendly but the service could have been more efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review of the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I am grateful for your assessment and for highlighting the areas where you felt further improvement is required. Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address these issues and prevent re-occurrences. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

3 night long-weekend visit to see the cricket. Great location, minutes walk from central CBD and MCG. Large room for a city centre hotel. The views are stunning as the hotel starts on floor 35 of the building. The service was excellent - we wanted to watch the Six Nations rugby but it was not available in the room as they didn't have ESPN (which they should have really considering the prices) - but the concierge found us a bar down the road open until 4am so we could watch our match. Food prices, particularly breakfast, are very high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed there after a few years of deliberately avoiding the place. I was pleasantly surprised that it (finally) lived up t a 5 star experience...I do hate the French welcome though. 'Club Sofitel' was worth the extra cost, although the elevator was excessively and frustratingly slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. In regards to our greeting of “bonjour”, this was adopted to embrace Sofitel’s French heritage. It is intended to be a warm and welcoming greeting, in which we have received positive feedback from our guests. I do apologise however if you do not like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay was great until we were overcharged and couldn't get a refund. After a lovely two-night stay in a suite with amazing service, clean rooms and complimentary champagne we checked out and paid in cash. A few days later I noticed our credit card had been charged, even though we'd already paid. It took four phone calls to management before our money was finally refunded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.